Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
DaveMcLain
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:48 am

Sound with Dolby Pro Logic?

Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:00 am

Obviously the audio signal produced by the Netflix box is only stereo and not 5.1 surround sound BUT in my setup I've been using the Dolby Pro Logic setting on my receiver and it seems to sound and work quite well. Question is, have these stereo signals been encoded using the Dolby Pro Logic system or does it just seem to work?
 
Bumper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:15 pm

Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:22 am

I was wondering that too. Is it just working because Pro Logic II will decode any 2-channel source into multichannel surround? Or is there a Surround track from the Roku?
 
elorimer
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Connecticut

Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:02 pm

My understanding is that both upmix stereo to surround.
 
Bumper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:15 pm

Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:19 pm

elorimer wrote:
My understanding is that both upmix stereo to surround.
Both of what?
 
DaveMcLain
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:48 am

Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:08 pm

I did a little bit of reading on the subject and it appears that Dolby Pro Logic can take a matrix encoded stereo signal and decode a four channel surround sound field with left, center, right and a mono rear channel. I THINK it requires a stereo signal that's been encoded to do this to the sound.

Pro Logic 2 can take an ordinary stereo signal and decode it into a 5.1 surround sound field and it requires NO matrix encoding to make it work. It will produce left, center, right, stereo rear channels AND a sub woofer output.

With this said it appears that Pro Logic 2 would be the way to go for the time being with the Roku box. I'm going to experiment with it some more this evening.
 
ismarketing
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:22 am

Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:51 am

Pro-Logic II in Movie mode sounds quite good with the Roku box. Not as good as discrete DD, but more than enjoyable.

Try any episode of Friday Night Lights to hear to potential.

Good luck.
 
RWatson
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:13 pm

Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:00 pm

Remember, 5.1 requires an optical connection, I don't know about the others.

I get two digital lights (as opposed to 5 with 5.1) with my optical connection and stereo works. I have tried the various amplifier settings. My experience most of the older DVDs, which these are, don't have 5.1 anyway.
 
DaveMcLain
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:48 am

Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:36 pm

I'm using the optical connection to my Yamaha home theater receiver and it shows a stereo signal from the Roku box as expected. I then use Pro Logic II to make a surround effect which seems to work well and sound good.
 
bc3tech
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:56 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:35 am

RWatson wrote:
Remember, 5.1 requires an optical connection, I don't know about the others.

I get two digital lights (as opposed to 5 with 5.1) with my optical connection and stereo works. I have tried the various amplifier settings. My experience most of the older DVDs, which these are, don't have 5.1 anyway.
5.1 requires a digital connection, not an optical one. this means either coax (orange RCA-type) OR optical.
 
-LD
Posts: 1602
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:27 am

Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:20 am

Well, technically neither optical nor digital is required, in a general sense. For the Roku, yes, because it doesn't have the connections or DA converters and decoders. But my Blu-ray player has analog 7.1 RCA connectors.

But the first question is a good one. If it's encoded as Dolby Pro Logic it's still just stereo sound, but with the matrix track to provide the center and surround channels.
 
bc3tech
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:56 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:22 am

-LD wrote:
Well, technically neither optical nor digital is required, in a general sense. For the Roku, yes, because it doesn't have the connections or DA converters and decoders. But my Blu-ray player has analog 7.1 RCA connectors...
good point :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests