Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

Pickle
Topic Author

I've tried all the Network Tricks - Stream fails and reboots

Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:18 pm

Hi,

I'm a software engineer and I've tried just about everything on two different brand routers. I get the list of movies fine, but try to play one and wham! In summary, I've tried:

- Opening up ports 53-8443 for the device (heck, I was desperate!) both for UDP and TCP (really, I didn't care at that point how much sense this made)
- Deactivating and factory reseting the device
- No QoS restrictions
- No double NAT
- Good solid FIOS high speed connection 5/2
- Good connectivity (I've used VPNs and much else with no problem)
- DNS is fine (I can tracert movie-whatever-it-is.netflix.com (I forget the name name, but it was fine)
- Four green lights and my instant queue shows up with pictures, but try to download a movie and it reboots (obnoxious). No debug codes or messages, just failure and reboot!
- Tried deactivating and reseting the device and then reactivating.
- Tried with a wired connection
Need I go on?

Please help! I am ready to scream to the world that the Roku is being totally hyped, but I don't want to believe that. This is ridiculous, however.

Thanks in advance for anybody's help!
Paul

eri3k

Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:10 am

Sorry to hear that you are having a tough time with your player, Paul. Although it's no consolation to you, my experience - and probably that of most users - is that the Netflix Player is as close to plug-and-play as it gets. If you are having this much difficulty you might want to contact customer support, get an RMA for this unit, and have them ship you a replacement.