Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Atom
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:58 am

Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:30 pm

I am not able to watch HD via the Roku box, but even though the picture quality is not as good as 460p, it's still a good deal imo.

tom
 
Darknyt
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:43 am

Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:49 am

Well, I registered after lurking for 6 months or so just to post in this thread.

Want to say that I am voting with my wallet and until 1080i support gets added to this box, I'm holding off my purchase.

I've gotten a little tired of this tendency of late of tossing legacy support aside when so many people have older tv's. I paid the price to be an early adopter and while that certainly means bigger and better things come along, there's really no excuse to blow off our market segment.

So you guys just let us know when you finally get around to it, because I won't be buying one and hoping and waiting on a fix while you have my money. You can earn it this time around beforehand.
 
nitts12
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:08 pm

Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:11 pm

I have the same problem. I'm picking up a 65 inch Mitsubishi TV Model WS-65908 that my dad is giving me. The manual says it only accepts 1080i HD signals. I guess I'm stuck with 480p for now. This would be a cool feature if the box could upconvert especially with the new channels coming.
 
davezatz
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:01 am
Contact:

Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:16 am

My previous account seems to have vanished. So I'm re-requesting 1080i support under my current one. Our bedroom television doesn't support 720p input. I'd quickly buy another Roku if we could use it there.
 
iostream
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:39 pm

Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:56 pm

Ditto on adding 1080i upconversion. That would be great.

Reasoning: although the consumer whore in me wants to pick up a 1080P LCD replacement, my fat rear projection Mitsu is still working great; so I have no real reason for such a big upgrade now.
 
brunson
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:19 pm

Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:15 am

I'm pretty sure it's been posted before on the subject, maybe even by me, but maybe not in this thread.

The Roku player does not posses the processing power to convert a 720p stream to a 1080i stream. That's a simple fact. You are asking that a $99 box with an ARM9 core to process 27.6 million pixels per second and transform that into a format of 23.3 million pixels, interpolating the image to convert each scan line from 1280 to 1440 pixels, all the while buffering half the data so it can send the fields interleaved.

You may as well bitch to Honda that your Civic can't drive 200mph, it's about as useful.

Edit: If the movie were streamed in 1080i, then the Roku could play it, that's a far, far cry from upconverting the stream.
 
iostream
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:39 pm

Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:39 pm

brunson wrote:

...

Edit: If the movie were streamed in 1080i, then the Roku could play it, that's a far, far cry from upconverting the stream.


So you're saying that if Amazon offered a 1080i stream (in addition to the 720p one), Roku would be able to push it through ?
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:15 pm

iostream wrote:
brunson wrote:

...

Edit: If the movie were streamed in 1080i, then the Roku could play it, that's a far, far cry from upconverting the stream.


So you're saying that if Amazon offered a 1080i stream (in addition to the 720p one), Roku would be able to push it through ?

Yes, the box is 1080i capable if someone wants to offer the stream.
You will find the specs. here:http://www.nxp.com/acrobat_download/literature/9397/75016106.pdf
 
iostream
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:39 pm

Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:12 pm

kc8pql wrote:
iostream wrote:
brunson wrote:

...

Edit: If the movie were streamed in 1080i, then the Roku could play it, that's a far, far cry from upconverting the stream.


So you're saying that if Amazon offered a 1080i stream (in addition to the 720p one), Roku would be able to push it through ?

Yes, the box is 1080i capable if someone wants to offer the stream.
You will find the specs. here:http://www.nxp.com/acrobat_download/literature/9397/75016106.pdf


Awesome, thanks for the tip. So it sounds like we need to add the content providers to the list of those we should be bugging. :-)
 
mega1026
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:15 pm

very early in this thread someone posted a link to this http://www.ambery.com/pcvgtohdcovi.html does anyone know if this will in fact work to fix the issue for 1080i tvs?


or what about the xbox? the xbox works fine on 1080i? if so, I could just buy a xbox for that tv, and then move the roku box to a tv for the bedroom that can handle 720 p
 
DoomsDay
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:53 am
Location: Charlotte NC

Sat Aug 29, 2009 6:56 pm

mega1026 wrote:
very early in this thread someone posted a link to this http://www.ambery.com/pcvgtohdcovi.html does anyone know if this will in fact work to fix the issue for 1080i tvs?


or what about the xbox? the xbox works fine on 1080i? if so, I could just buy a xbox for that tv, and then move the roku box to a tv for the bedroom that can handle 720 p


The xbox does in fact handle 1080i perfectly fine.
 
Atom
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:58 am

Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:29 am

If you are like me and have a non-HDCP compliant HD TV and have been wondering when you will be able to watch HD movies from any source the short answer is... forget about it. And, even if you are able to find an HDCP stripping box, there is a good chance that it will eventually stop working. Here is an explanation.http://www.practical-home-theater-guide.com/hdcp-strippers.html
 
billc124

Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:28 am

Atom wrote:
If you are like me and have a non-HDCP compliant HD TV and have been wondering when you will be able to watch HD movies from any source the short answer is... forget about it. And, even if you are able to find an HDCP stripping box, there is a good chance that it will eventually stop working. Here is an explanation.http://www.practical-home-theater-guide.com/hdcp-strippers.html


The Roku plays HD content through the component outputs just fine. HDCP only works with HDMI and DVI if I am not mistaken. So just hook up with composite and you will be just fine with HD content.
 
Alanf51
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: USA

Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:56 pm

Hi,

I have a sony AV/Rec that has upscale capability. If I switched my ruku - receiver connection from HDMI to component with optical do you think it would upscale and I would get a better picture. I watched two movies over the weekend and the picture is nowhere near the quality I would expect. I get 4 dots on the connection and have plenty of bandwidth.

I would try this but it will take me a few hors to fish the cables so I thought I would ask before I tested

New to Roku

Thanks

DVR= Uverse / Motorola 1216
TV= Sony KDL-46XBR9
A/V= Sony STG-DTN1000
internet is max 18mbs -averages about 12
 
Atom
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:58 am

Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:39 am

Alanf51 wrote:
Hi,

I have a sony AV/Rec that has upscale capability. If I switched my ruku - receiver connection from HDMI to component with optical do you think it would upscale and I would get a better picture. I watched two movies over the weekend and the picture is nowhere near the quality I would expect. I get 4 dots on the connection and have plenty of bandwidth.

I would try this but it will take me a few hors to fish the cables so I thought I would ask before I tested

New to Roku

Thanks

DVR= Uverse / Motorola 1216
TV= Sony KDL-46XBR9
A/V= Sony STG-DTN1000
internet is max 18mbs -averages about 12


Are you saying that the video quality on the Roku HDMI port is unacceptable?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests