Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
jlpio
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:58 pm

Video jitters

Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:28 pm

I got my player fro Christmas and did the 3-attempt trick to update it to 1.5. Everything works fine except that about a half hour into playing a video the video becomes jittery. I can solve it by stopping and then resuming the video, which causes it to re-buffer. I have Comcast internet and get 12Mb speed tests.
 
wideasleep1
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sausalito,Ca
Contact:

Sat Dec 27, 2008 10:13 pm

Need more info. What show? Any/every show?
Then as it was, then again it will be
An' though the course may change sometimes,
rivers always reach the sea

M1000x2,M2000,Twonky 4.3.3 RC1 beta on LinkStation HGLAN400gig,Buffalo whr-g54s on DD-WRTfirmware-luv'in it!
 
jlpio
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:58 pm

Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:12 am

Everything I've watched so far has been affected. 30 Rock, Heroes season 2, Fire down below, Fido, Star Trek season 1.
 
wideasleep1
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sausalito,Ca
Contact:

Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:46 am

What connection to TV are you using, and how is it connected (any switches/vcr's/pass-thru's)? Have you tried an alternate tv to rule it out?
Then as it was, then again it will be

An' though the course may change sometimes,

rivers always reach the sea



M1000x2,M2000,Twonky 4.3.3 RC1 beta on LinkStation HGLAN400gig,Buffalo whr-g54s on DD-WRTfirmware-luv'in it!
 
TaylorH
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 6:02 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:36 am

I know the Starz movies have a jitter due to the way the 24fps video is encoded by Starz and delivered to Netflix. But I'm not aware of any wide spread problems with any other non Starz titles.
I'd like to know more so I can figure out what's going on.
Former Roku employee
 
jlpio
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:58 pm

Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:27 pm

wideasleep1 wrote:
What connection to TV are you using, and how is it connected (any switches/vcr's/pass-thru's)? Have you tried an alternate tv to rule it out?


I am connected via HDMI through my sony receiver to my sony lcd. I haven't tried playing with the cable connections yet, but the symptom doesn't indicate a cable or connection issue. It's like frames are dropping due to packet loss (audio is not affected), but I have plenty of bandwidth and when I make it re-buffer the video plays normally again for a while. Also, I've made sure not to be downloading any files with my PC while streaming, and I've tried cycling power to the Roku.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidjazz, kc1ih and 21 guests