Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
kumasuki
Topic Author
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

With recent firmware, now getting 720p via component out !!!

Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:34 pm

Given previous comments by RokuTalyor:

"It's worth mentioning, that HD will only be supported on the HDMI output, and only for TVs that support the HDCP (almost all do.) Component (Y,Pb,Pr) will remain at 480p only. The reason is component video can not be copy protected, so we can not legally output higher than 480p. The same is true for all HD products on the market like up converting DVD players."

http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.ph ... rt&start=0

I wasn't expecting to get 720p resolution via component. Yet, since the firmware upgrade my receiver now reports a 720p signal off the box's component output. Plus, it appears SD content is being upconverted too!!

Now, if Netflix would just get 5.1 SURROUNDSOUND encoded - I'll be happier than a pig in .... well you know!
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
 
cykosis
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:11 pm

Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:59 pm

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?p=104552#104552

I think you should have referenced a post newer than 7 months ago. Then you would have known to expect it.
 
Bron
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:23 pm

Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:57 pm

Regardless, it's a truly great thing for those of us with component only sets to get this. We'd all been told only HDMI would be supported, so it did come as a pleasant surprises, even when announced that 720p component would be converted earlier. So we did know, but still welcome to see it delivered.

So I share your enthusiasm and I, too, and happier than a pig in ... ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RokuDanny-R, Scottt1174, Tivoburkee, vern1 and 29 guests