Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
RockyFord
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:31 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:50 am

JSW wrote:
Any other ideas?



I know it's sounds basic but check your network hardware, you may have a flaky cable or switch (I assume all of these boxes are not connected directly to your router if they are really check your cables).
Roksbox won't degrade gracefully like Netflix so if your bitrate is to high for your hardware you might have problems. This is possible with 100mb switches and high bitrate encodes.
I think Wild has the best idea for starters, take one known good box and move it to trouble spots.
 
RockyFord
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:31 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:02 am

Amulek wrote:
WilDD wrote:
When you enter your ip address from a web browser, what shows up on the screen first?


When I enter my IP address from my web browser, the very first screen shows:

Index of /
- Media/

I've set my document root (and Directory) in the Apache config file to be "C:/www". I have the "www" directory set up directly on the root of C on my machine. Inside that directory is the "Media" folder, and inside that directory are the following three folders: Music | Photos | Videos.


Hopefully this is something as simple as adding an exception in windows firewall for your local network you need to make sure you have an exception for http traffic on port 80 for standard traffic (I'm pretty sure apache won't install this exception the way IIS will. ) http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/542-windows-firewall-add-remove-exception.html
 
Amulek
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:14 pm

Thanks for the link. I had actually opened port 80 and added Apache to the list of allowed programs previously, but that (alone) did not remedy the issue. I got around to tinkering with the setup some more this afternoon though, and I was finally able to get things up and running.

I have an Ooma (VOIP) connected between my gateway modem/router and my PC. As near as I can tell, the Ooma was basically acting like a second router. It appears to support port forwarding, but I wasn’t able to get it to work properly, so I ended up just moving it to be connected to the router separately - so that no network traffic for the PC passes through the VOIP device anymore.

After I did that, I was able to get Roksbox to find and connect to my web server just fine. Now I just need to get around to playing with the Thumbgen templates I downloaded so I can get rid of that annoying little subtitle language flag.

Thanks for the help, and thanks for the good product.
 
hozedhead
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:25 pm

RockyFord wrote:
I think Wild has the best idea for starters, take one known good box and move it to trouble spots.

Not to toot my own horn, but my idea is the best for starters and probably the correct one!
Roku Express 3900RW software v8.10
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:21 am

hozedhead wrote:
RockyFord wrote:
I think Wild has the best idea for starters, take one known good box and move it to trouble spots.

Not to toot my own horn, but my idea is the best for starters and probably the correct one!


Yeah, you're probably right on this one. I don't know why I didn't think of that. :(

I'm glad there are people around who can figure these things out. So for now, keep tooting. :)
 
JSW
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:22 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:02 am

Hi,

Sorry I didn't post back sooner - it was a crazy weekend. Thanks for all the suggestions on my problem with the two Rokus not playing videos through Roksbox. It turned out hozedhead nailed it exactly - both Rokus were set to stereo instead of 5.1. I was encoding with both audio tracks when I set them up, but I've since switched to only 5.1.

Thanks again to everyone! I think I would have been beating my head against the wall for a long time trying to figure this one out!
 
ryguyrocks
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:33 pm

I'm not sure if it has always done it but I'm just now noticing it. When I load my videos(using grid layout), if i quickly scroll down to the lower categories roksbox closes by itself and goes back to the roku home screen. If I slowly scroll down it works fine, only when I quickly move down the categories quickly does it do it. Is this a problem with roksbox or my setup? It's not a huge issue with me since I can still play the videos just fine, but figured I would ask. I'm using a Roku XDS with a IIS webserver.
 
standypain
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:54 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:10 am

I have not had any luck getting Roksbox to connect to my MyMedia or Chaneru servers. I don't feel a need to fire up a 3rd server that surely would take all kinds of manual tweaking. If anyone has any advice here I'm sure myself and others would appreciate it.
 
sewashburn
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:22 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:47 am

When I first got my Roku XD I was unable to get Roksbox to work. I've had it for a few months now, and I've upgraded my multimedia server and configured Mongoose. Is it possible to get my trial reinstated for a short period of time so I can confirm that Roksbox will work before I shell out $15? Thanks!
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:30 pm

ryguyrocks wrote:
I'm not sure if it has always done it but I'm just now noticing it. When I load my videos(using grid layout), if i quickly scroll down to the lower categories roksbox closes by itself and goes back to the roku home screen. If I slowly scroll down it works fine, only when I quickly move down the categories quickly does it do it. Is this a problem with roksbox or my setup? It's not a huge issue with me since I can still play the videos just fine, but figured I would ask. I'm using a Roku XDS with a IIS webserver.


I've tried this with IIS and Apache, and neither of them do what you describe. What version of Roksbox do you have (select Help from the main Roksbox menu).
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:33 pm

standypain wrote:
I have not had any luck getting Roksbox to connect to my MyMedia or Chaneru servers. I don't feel a need to fire up a 3rd server that surely would take all kinds of manual tweaking. If anyone has any advice here I'm sure myself and others would appreciate it.


I was hoping someone else would respond to this since I don't know anything about MyMedia or Chaneru. But I will give it a try.

Can you access your media from a web browser by entering the ip address of your MyMedia or Chaneru servers? If so, then we should be able to get it to work with Roksbox.
 
ryguyrocks
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:01 pm

WilDD wrote:
I've tried this with IIS and Apache, and neither of them do what you describe. What version of Roksbox do you have (select Help from the main Roksbox menu).


I'm running v1.24.0 . I have not changed anything to my IIS setup since I started using rokxbox a few months back. I have about 167 movies seperated into 8 categories if that helps at all.
 
standypain
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:54 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:28 pm

WilDD wrote:
standypain wrote:
I have not had any luck getting Roksbox to connect to my MyMedia or Chaneru servers. I don't feel a need to fire up a 3rd server that surely would take all kinds of manual tweaking. If anyone has any advice here I'm sure myself and others would appreciate it.


I was hoping someone else would respond to this since I don't know anything about MyMedia or Chaneru. But I will give it a try.

Can you access your media from a web browser by entering the ip address of your MyMedia or Chaneru servers? If so, then we should be able to get it to work with Roksbox.



The MyMedia server is what I think to be a custom apache python port at http://netguy204.github.com/roku_media_server/README.html which I configure at http://192.168.89.3:8001/

The Chaneru server is a single exe and all gui found at http://www.chaneru.com/ 192.168.89.3:8000

Is there a way I can connect to these servers in a browser to figure out what they are? Like say http://192.168.89.3:8001/files/knownvideo.mp4
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:47 pm

standypain wrote:
WilDD wrote:
standypain wrote:
I have not had any luck getting Roksbox to connect to my MyMedia or Chaneru servers. I don't feel a need to fire up a 3rd server that surely would take all kinds of manual tweaking. If anyone has any advice here I'm sure myself and others would appreciate it.


I was hoping someone else would respond to this since I don't know anything about MyMedia or Chaneru. But I will give it a try.

Can you access your media from a web browser by entering the ip address of your MyMedia or Chaneru servers? If so, then we should be able to get it to work with Roksbox.



The MyMedia server is what I think to be a custom apache python port at http://netguy204.github.com/roku_media_server/README.html which I configure at http://192.168.89.3:8001/

The Chaneru server is a single exe and all gui found at http://www.chaneru.com/ 192.168.89.3:8000

Is there a way I can connect to these servers in a browser to figure out what they are? Like say http://192.168.89.3:8001/files/knownvideo.mp4


What happens if you type http://192.168.89.3:8001 in a browser? Do you get a directory listing? If not, create a text file called .htaccess (that's a dot, and the letters htaccess) in the Python root directory and put the following line in it.

Options +Indexes

Then try http://192.168.89.3:8001 from a web browser again.
 
standypain
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:54 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:28 pm

What happens if you type http://192.168.89.3:8001 in a browser? Do you get a directory listing? If not, create a text file called .htaccess (that's a dot, and the letters htaccess) in the Python root directory and put the following line in it.

Options +Indexes

Then try http://192.168.89.3:8001 from a web browser again.


I created the .htaccess but nothing different other than the server settings menu comes up in the browser.

When I look at the console while selecting and playing a video I see this:
192.168.89.7:36294 - - [19/Aug/2011 00:00:57] "HTTP/1.1 GET /feed" - 200 OK
192.168.89.7:36309 - - [19/Aug/2011 00:01:03] "HTTP/1.1 GET /media" - 200 OK
192.168.89.7:36317 - - [19/Aug/2011 00:01:07] "HTTP/1.1 GET /media" - 206 Partia
l Content

This is just an example as the console is filled with duplicates so I grabbed the last few interesring ones.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests