Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
em.lazardo
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:47 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Oct 31, 2011 5:32 pm

a) Is there a way to turn off the directory/song title overlay centered at the bottom?

Press the down arrow on the remote to get rid of the title overlay (it might not go away until the next slide appears). You can press the down arrow again to bring it back.
b) Is it possible invert to an image slideshow + music (ie- go to a Photo directory that has links to mp3s)?

This will be in a future release. Hopefully sometime soon.

Thanks, the down arrow will work for now.

Cheers,
 
grifter102
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:04 pm

I set up my web server and the various directories and roksbox was able to find all the videos, etc. When I go to the roksbox Videos menu and browse the various folders, everything works fine until I go into a directory that contains videos (dir tree is Show/Season/Episodes.avi), then roksbox seems to crash back to the Roku home screen. I'll see the folder's items for a split-second, then it crashes.

The only log file I could think to check was apache's, but it is only showing items like:

[Thu Nov 03 22:39:36 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.110] File does not exist: /var/www/roksboxmedia/Videos/TV/Episode.xml
[Thu Nov 03 22:54:08 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.110] File does not exist: /var/www/roksboxmedia/Theme.xml

Every time I open an episode directory, crash to home.

Any ideas about this? Or other error logs, etc that I could check to see what is happening?
 
krisbee
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:34 am

Why is the folder called .avi? If it is the file called .avi, that wouldn't work either because it needs to be a .mp4
 
grifter102
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 am

That's the filename, and it was just an example. Most all the files are .mp4, there may be a few .avi or .mkv, but I would expect roksbox to not be able to play them... not crash to home whenever the folder is opened.

Is the fact that some files are .avi or .mkv causing the crash to home?
 
sharpedge
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:40 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:59 am

grifter102 wrote:
That's the filename, and it was just an example. Most all the files are .mp4, there may be a few .avi or .mkv, but I would expect roksbox to not be able to play them... not crash to home whenever the folder is opened.

Is the fact that some files are .avi or .mkv causing the crash to home?


Do all your folder names have periods in them? If not, does it crash when going into a folder that has no period in the folder name?

Are you using the directory structure option or a video xml file?
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4320
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:34 am

grifter102 wrote:
That's the filename, and it was just an example. Most all the files are .mp4, there may be a few .avi or .mkv, but I would expect roksbox to not be able to play them... not crash to home whenever the folder is opened.

Is the fact that some files are .avi or .mkv causing the crash to home?


The files need to be encoded as h.264 video with mp4 file extension. Audio needs to be ac3 or aac ( I believe there may be wma support as well, but I have never used that).
 
grifter102
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:54 pm

None of my folder names have periods in them. The example I used was a full file path, /var/www/roksboxmedia/Videos/TV/Show/Season/ is the path name, Episode.avi was just placeholder name. I should have written Episode.mp4 to go along with the format that Roku requires, but i didn't think it mattered, since it's just an example to illustrate how I have my directory tree set up.

Yes, I understand which file formats are supported and which are not. I don't think that's the problem, unless Roku not only cannot play non-mp4 files, but crashes whenever it sees them. Is that the case? Does simply seeing a .avi or .mkv file cause the entire application to crash?

My problem is that whenever I traverse into a directory with episodes in it, it crashes to the Home screen. Doesn't matter if they're all .mp4 or a mix, it always crashes to Home.

I'm not using a video.xml file, I'm using a Videos directory.
 
krisbee
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:58 pm

My suggestion is start off with a file in the root VIDEO directly and see where that gets you.. Then, if that works, make one directory a subfolder lower, just one file, then another, just one folder. This way you can see if it is the file or the depth that is the issue. Make sure all files from /var/www/ and below have permission for all to at least read the file.
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4320
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:11 pm

grifter102 wrote:
Yes, I understand which file formats are supported and which are not. I don't think that's the problem, unless Roku not only cannot play non-mp4 files, but crashes whenever it sees them. Is that the case?


I just want to make sure you understand that not all mp4 files are created equal. the video portion of the mp4 file needs to be an h.264 encode right?
 
JSW
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:22 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Sat Nov 05, 2011 11:15 am

Hi,

I have a suggestion for an enhancement to Roksbox. Would it be possible to add a 'Delete' choice to the menu where you get the Play and Resume options? The reason I ask is that in addition to playing back my movies, I'm also using Roksbox as a DVR front-end. I'm recording TV shows with Windows Media Center and then using MCEBuddy to remove the commercials, convert them to .mp4 and store them in one of my Roksbox folders. That way I can watch them on any TV with a Roku.

If this were possible, it would be nice to have a verification message come up before deleting a file. Ideally, what I would like to see is someway to have a configuration file where we could list the folder(s) that we wanted the delete option on. That way it wouldn't even come up on the majority of our folders, only the ones where we had temporary videos that could be deleted.

Thanks as always for your great product!
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:26 pm

grifter102 wrote:
None of my folder names have periods in them. The example I used was a full file path, /var/www/roksboxmedia/Videos/TV/Show/Season/ is the path name, Episode.avi was just placeholder name. I should have written Episode.mp4 to go along with the format that Roku requires, but i didn't think it mattered, since it's just an example to illustrate how I have my directory tree set up.

Yes, I understand which file formats are supported and which are not. I don't think that's the problem, unless Roku not only cannot play non-mp4 files, but crashes whenever it sees them. Is that the case? Does simply seeing a .avi or .mkv file cause the entire application to crash?


Having .avi or .mkv files wouldn't cause Roksbox to crash, Roksbox would just ignore them.

My problem is that whenever I traverse into a directory with episodes in it, it crashes to the Home screen. Doesn't matter if they're all .mp4 or a mix, it always crashes to Home.

I'm not using a video.xml file, I'm using a Videos directory.


Do you have several other channels installed? If so, see if you can get rid of some. It sort of sounds like you are running out of memory.

Also, try krisbee's suggestion above if you haven't already done so.
 
WilDD
Topic Author
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:27 pm

JSW wrote:
Hi,

I have a suggestion for an enhancement to Roksbox. Would it be possible to add a 'Delete' choice to the menu where you get the Play and Resume options? The reason I ask is that in addition to playing back my movies, I'm also using Roksbox as a DVR front-end. I'm recording TV shows with Windows Media Center and then using MCEBuddy to remove the commercials, convert them to .mp4 and store them in one of my Roksbox folders. That way I can watch them on any TV with a Roku.

If this were possible, it would be nice to have a verification message come up before deleting a file. Ideally, what I would like to see is someway to have a configuration file where we could list the folder(s) that we wanted the delete option on. That way it wouldn't even come up on the majority of our folders, only the ones where we had temporary videos that could be deleted.

Thanks as always for your great product!


A delete option is on the todo list, but it probably won't happen before the end of the year.
 
ryguyrocks
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:25 pm

I have been using handbrake to rip my dvd so I can use them with Roksbox without a problem. I just got a blu ray drive and want to start to rip some of my blu-rays. Handbrake doesn't reconize the blu-rays like it does DVD's that use the BDMV structure. What other options besides handbrake that I can use to rip blu-rays.
 
wdbames
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:15 pm

If You Need to Backup Blu-Rays You own to Your server:
Try: http://www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV is available for PC, OSX and Linux. It will back up Your Blu-Ray to an MKV
file which You can then process through Handbrake into a Roku-compatible MP4.

wdbames
 
JSW
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:22 am

Re: roksbox -Streaming Local Media Channel Available for Tes

Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:20 am

ryguyrocks wrote:
I have been using handbrake to rip my dvd so I can use them with Roksbox without a problem. I just got a blu ray drive and want to start to rip some of my blu-rays. Handbrake doesn't reconize the blu-rays like it does DVD's that use the BDMV structure. What other options besides handbrake that I can use to rip blu-rays.


Hi ryguyrocks,

I use DVDFab and have had very good luck with it. It gives you the full suite of tools free for 30 days; after that you can purchase individual pieces. HOWEVER, one product, DVDFab HD Decrypter, remains free forever (you can just download this by itself, I believe, at http://www.dvdfab.com/hd-decrypter.htm ). It rips and removes copy protection from both DVDs and Blu-Rays. It claims it removes all DVD protection and some Blu-Ray, but I've yet to find a Blu-Ray disc it couldn't handle.

If you decide to use this product, you can rip DVDs straight to an ISO for HandBrake to use, but for Blu-Rays you need to rip to a folder and point Handbrake to that instead. One more item on Blu-Rays if you go this route: You don't want to point HandBrake to the root folder; you need to point it about three levels deep. If you drill down into the Blu-Ray folder, you will get to a level that is named something similar to the movie title, and it will have two directories beneath it. Sorry, I'm at work so I can't give you the exact names. If you use HandBrake on the root level folder, it will work, but it won't find the chapters on the disc - I found this out the hard way. You need to point it to the sub-folder in order to get chapters.

One last thing, there are websites out there that claim they will sell you the entire DVDFab bundle for a ridiculous price like $20. They are NOT affilited with DVDFab! Like I said, their free HD Decrypter is plenty good if you just need to rip a disc for HandBrake to encode.

I hope this helps!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests