Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Tieftrunk
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Tue May 24, 2011 8:41 pm

My mother had router problems also. I couldn't figure it out over the phone. She contacted roku tech support and they were useless. I visited recently and figured out that the roku would not connect to the Internet without manually changing the router's DNS servers to OpenDNS. Even with the roku updated to the latest firmware, it still requires manual DNS settings in the router while every other wifi device happily works.

Shouldn't that be fixed by now?
 
mommom
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:21 am

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Tue May 24, 2011 9:30 pm

I think it depends on the router.I have never had that problem .
 
Village Idiot
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 4:18 am

i did mine well over a yr ago and i too remember it as a nightmare.
i dread ever having to do it again
whatever happened to the plug and play concept ?
 
vnzjunk
Posts: 764
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:50 am

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 4:46 am

mommom wrote:
I think it depends on the router.I have never had that problem .

Out of the box, plug and play +1
 
shdware
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 6:01 am

On my model I successfully connected to my old (purchased in 2005) Belkin54g wireless router via wifi and performed the requisite update without issue.

I helped one of my friends set up his later, and nothing I did would make it connect via wifi. Ultimately I plugged it directly into the router and it updated fine. Afterward it worked well with the wireless.
4200R [Roku 3]

Formerly:
3100X [Roku 2 XS]
2050X [Roku XD]

42" VIZIO via HDMI @ 1080p
Comcast 20Mbit
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5522
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 9:54 am

Village Idiot wrote:
i did mine well over a yr ago and i too remember it as a nightmare.
i dread ever having to do it again
whatever happened to the plug and play concept ?


Plug and play works, when all components across everyone's systems are the same.. With the hundreds of different TVs and hundreds or wireless routers out there, it's IMPOSSIBLE to expect everything to work so easily.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
techn0lizard
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:07 am

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 9:58 am

+1
Very funny Scotty now beam down my pants!!!!
 
Village Idiot
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: setup was a nightmare!

Wed May 25, 2011 12:10 pm

jeffrok wrote:
Village Idiot wrote:
i did mine well over a yr ago and i too remember it as a nightmare.
i dread ever having to do it again
whatever happened to the plug and play concept ?


Plug and play works, when all components across everyone's systems are the same.. With the hundreds of different TVs and hundreds or wireless routers out there, it's IMPOSSIBLE to expect everything to work so easily.


actually i do try and keep my systems the same as much as possible
My server is ATT and my router/modem is the ATT all-in-one
my tower computer - latop - printer - external drive - monitor - digital camera- keyboard are all HP
my odd ball is my scanner its a Canon scanner ( a gift from my daughter ) its a professional grade so i can't complain
now if i could just get ATT - HP - Firefox -microsoft to all merge i'll be all set.
anyway i still think they could do more to make things better at being plug & play
truth is they don't want to be universal.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scottypie1234 and 21 guests