Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
User avatar
RokuChris
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: EyeTV

Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:59 am

cjacoby78 wrote:
It works on both my iPhone and my iPad, they find the server via Bonjour. The firewall on the server is switched off. There is no way, I guess, to enter the server's IP by hand? The Roku and the server are on the same subnet


Also make sure EyeTV is listening on the default port 2170.
 
cjacoby78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: EyeTV

Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:47 pm

Also make sure EyeTV is listening on the default port 2170.


Yes, that's also the case ... strange ...
 
User avatar
RokuChris
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: EyeTV

Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:02 pm

cjacoby78 wrote:
Also make sure EyeTV is listening on the default port 2170.


Yes, that's also the case ... strange ...


It's possible that extreme network latency could cause such a problem, but I don't know of anyone else experiencing that problem. Adding manual IP entry has been on my todo list. Maybe that will be today's project since it's 103 degrees outside and an indoor activity seems appropriate.
 
cjacoby78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: EyeTV

Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:09 pm

It's possible that extreme network latency could cause such a problem, but I don't know of anyone else experiencing that problem. Adding manual IP entry has been on my todo list. Maybe that will be today's project since it's 103 degrees outside and an indoor activity seems appropriate.


Not likely, it's a Gigabit network with both devices on the same managed 24-port switch. I will try a few other things tomorrow, like setting up EyeTV on my laptop.

Thanks for your efforts!
CJ
 
cjacoby78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: EyeTV

Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:32 am

Wow that was fast!

Works like a charm - by the way I still have to disable the EyeTV-server's passcode protection for your Roku channel to find the server (when entering the IP address by hand).

Thanks a lot!
CJ
 
detsoob
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:18 pm

Re: EyeTV

Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:24 pm

techmonkey wrote:
-LD wrote:
mauiman wrote:
This only works on Macs or Apple products?
Nothing for PC?

EyeTV is a Mac only product.



Not real familiar with EyeTV but site says they have a few MAC/PC products

http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmen ... ts.en.html



EyeTV One Free HDTV over-the-air for your Mac or PC

http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/EyeTV-One/product1.en.html
 
almazza
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:02 pm

Re: EyeTV

Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:33 am

I have this setup. Just curious, I see mention of changing the quality of Live TV. Is there a way to change the recording quality for items prepared for iphone?
 
User avatar
RokuChris
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: EyeTV

Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:45 am

almazza wrote:
I have this setup. Just curious, I see mention of changing the quality of Live TV. Is there a way to change the recording quality for items prepared for iphone?


Not that I know of.
 
almazza
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:02 pm

Re: EyeTV

Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:05 am

RokuChris wrote:
almazza wrote:
I have this setup. Just curious, I see mention of changing the quality of Live TV. Is there a way to change the recording quality for items prepared for iphone?


Not that I know of.


Thanks. BTW, I have the turbo.264 HD and haven't noticed a difference in viewing a live stream. Where it does make a difference is when a video is exported to a compatible iphone, ipad or any other supported format. The conversion is much quicker since it gets offloaded to the device.

Adam
 
standypain
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:54 am

Re: EyeTV

Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:51 pm

Does the EyeTV have to be on a mac system and if so can I run it in a virtual machine?
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: EyeTV

Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:48 pm

standypain wrote:
Does the EyeTV have to be on a mac system and if so can I run it in a virtual machine?


from amazon.com

System Requirements

Macintosh 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor or better
Mac OS X v10.5.8 or later
2 GB RAM
Built-in USB 2.0 port
Cable or satellite receiver with analog video and audio outputs (component output required for HD)
Internet connection required to download Program Guide data


don't know about using a virtual setup
 
jpw94
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: EyeTV

Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:55 pm

I have EyeTV with HD Homerun. Will the Roku private channel work with that combo?
It's telling me it cannot find the Eye TV server.
 
User avatar
RokuChris
Topic Author
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: EyeTV

Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:24 pm

jpw94 wrote:
I have EyeTV with HD Homerun. Will the Roku private channel work with that combo?
It's telling me it cannot find the Eye TV server.


I don't know whether anyone has had success with this combo.

Have you enabled iPhone access?
Have you tried entering the IP of the Mac running EyeTV directly rather than relying on the automatic scan?
 
jpw94
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: EyeTV

Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:29 pm

I have tried entering the IP address which I thought would at least get it connected.
Any other suggestions, would be appreciated. Thank you.
 
jpw94
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: EyeTV

Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:56 pm

Bump.

I tried calling EyeTV on this - no knowledge of how what or why...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: theuser86 and 33 guests