Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
unclebob
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: las vegas nv
Contact:

just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues. - resolved!

Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:09 am

I think I may have to buy a new player. I've had this one since the week the device was introduced, but since the latest update it is unusable.

Here's the one hour and ten minute support chat I just had at Roku's site:

[Note: I do tech support myself, and I've lost several jobs to offshore companies. I am never happy to see American companies sending these jobs overseas. Nevertheless, my chat agent Ramya was as helpful as could be under these circumstances. Ramya did, however, insist upon framing the issue as a Netflix problem. I do have Netflix issues -- it won't even load now -- but the program I was actually attempting to watch was Leo Laporte's This Week In Tech]

Ramya
Support Operator
Ramya9:39:29 AM
Hello Robert Martin. How may I help you?

Robert Martin9:41:43 AM
Hi, my Roku player juat updated & it's rebuffering way more than it ever did before...I've had the box since the week it was first released and my connection now is much better than it's been in the past -- consistenly testing at 9.2 mbps & 23 ms ping

Ramya9:43:30 AM
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused. Not to worry. We are here to help!

9:43:49 AM

May I know the brand name and model # of your Router.?

Robert Martin9:44:12 AM
cisco 1320 - combo modem/router

9:44:50 AM

correction: cisco ddr2200 residential gateway

Ramya9:45:58 AM
Ok. May I know the distance between the Router and the Roku.?

Robert Martin9:46:07 AM
3 feet

Ramya9:47:14 AM
Ok. Now is your TV turned ON.?

Robert Martin9:47:19 AM
yes

9:49:01 AM

roku just now brought up the "unable to connect" error window -- but then it recovered by itself and proceeded with the program I was watching

Ramya9:49:22 AM
Ok. Now try this. Let's repeat guided setup. From the Roku home screen, select settings > network, then click on repeat guided setup.

9:49:45 AM

And before that please tell me the signal strength you are getting there.

Robert Martin9:49:58 AM
ok

9:51:49 AM

signal strength excellent

Ramya9:52:31 AM
Ok. Try to do a repeat guided setup.

Robert Martin9:52:52 AM
i did it connects very quickly

9:54:08 AM

but its still taking a long time to buffer right now...and showing two dots instead of 4

Ramya9:54:09 AM
Ok. Now try playing a Movie and check.

Robert Martin9:54:20 AM
I am doing so

Ramya9:54:42 AM
Ok. May I know the cable that is connected between the Roku and the TV.?

Robert Martin9:54:57 AM
hdmi

Ramya9:55:54 AM
Ok. Can you please try to check the speed of your internet now.?

Robert Martin9:55:58 AM
just finished buffering. But it didnt resume the video - it started from the beginning and started rebuffering after 15 seconds

Ramya9:56:21 AM
You can test your broadband using this site:

http://www.speedtest.net

Robert Martin9:56:38 AM
i am there clicked begin test

Ramya9:57:00 AM
Ok. Thats fine.!!

Robert Martin9:57:04 AM
ping 24ms

9:57:41 AM

download speed 9.2 mbps

9:57:56 AM

upload .85

9:59:12 AM

it just now finished rebuffering & resumed play

9:59:32 AM

and started rebuffering again

Ramya9:59:34 AM
Ok. Now can you try to remove and activate the Netflix channel from Roku.?

Robert Martin10:00:11 AM
I was watching a non-netflix program, but I can do that

Operator has left the chat.
You have been transferred to: Krish
Robert Martin10:01:11 AM
hello krish, are you reviewing the transcript?

You have been transferred to: Ramya
Robert Martin10:01:54 AM
ramya hello again

Ramya10:02:23 AM
I am sorry Robert. There was some issue with the Chat session.

Robert Martin10:03:08 AM
I understand I used to do chat support for internet users back in 1997, when it was all dial-up


10:04:16 AM

we used to run 4 to 6 chats at once

Ramya10:05:11 AM
Thank you Robert.! And that sounds great to handle 6 chats at a Time. ! That shows your Multitasking Ability. Now can you please go to Settings> Netflix Settings and try to deactivate the player and reactivate it again.

Robert Martin10:05:33 AM
ok

Ramya10:09:39 AM
Are you with me Robert.?

Robert Martin10:10:05 AM
retrieving code fir reactivation

Ramya10:10:25 AM
Ok. Please go on.

Robert Martin10:12:55 AM
It took a while because I thought you de-activated by removing netflix, so I did that first, after I added it back i de-activated & reactivated. it's back now

Ramya10:14:03 AM
Thats Ok. Now try playing any movie and check how its playing.

Robert Martin10:14:24 AM
its still retrieving movie list

10:16:16 AM

it bounced me out of the netflix app, i went back in and again it is "retrieving..."

10:16:52 AM

exact same thing again

Ramya10:17:00 AM
Oh.!! Ok. Now please go to settings> Player info and check the software version on your Player.

Robert Martin10:17:38 AM
build 1553

10:17:43 AM

v. 2.9

Ramya10:18:28 AM
Ok. May I know whether is this the first time you are linking this player.?

10:19:13 AM

And may I know who is your Internet service provider.?

Robert Martin10:19:13 AM
no I bought this player the week they were introduced, about three or four years ago

Ramya10:19:42 AM
Ok. So is this the first time you are facing this issue.?

Robert Martin10:19:47 AM
internet service provider is Centurylink, the local telco

10:20:34 AM

I have had some buffering issues with past firmwares but never this bad

10:21:34 AM

if it's ok with you I'm going to power cycle the player

Ramya10:21:54 AM
Ok. Please go on.

10:22:17 AM

And please tell me the serial # of your Roku player.

Robert Martin10:23:34 AM
20F846010300

10:27:33 AM

after restarting, I tried loading Netflix again & it still can't load - bounces me out to the interface.

10:28:30 AM

When it was upgrading, the player rebooted when the upgrade process said "75%" I think oweehaps rgw upgrade did not complete

Ramya10:28:38 AM
Ok. Can you please try to contact your Internet service provider and assign this DNS on your Router page and check whether its connecting.

10:28:55 AM

Primary DNS:208.67.222.222

10:29:12 AM

Secondary DNS:208.67.220.220

Robert Martin10:29:49 AM
I tried changing my assigned dns just before contacting you...I can certainly do it myself, hold on

Ramya10:30:19 AM
Ok. Thats awesome.!!

10:30:34 AM

Please go on and kindly let me know what happens.

10:36:17 AM

Are you with me Robert.?

Robert Martin10:36:40 AM
yes had to look up th router login

Ramya10:37:06 AM
Oh.! Ok.

Robert Martin10:38:25 AM
set to dns you gave.

10:39:05 AM

opened netflix again - it says retreiving...

Ramya10:39:22 AM
Ok. Now try to unplug the Roku ,Replug it back and then try connecting to Netflix.

Robert Martin10:39:35 AM
ok

10:40:15 AM

starting up

10:41:29 AM

"launching home screen

Ramya10:41:37 AM
Ok.

Robert Martin10:42:20 AM
I re-opened netflix - "retrieving..."

10:43:58 AM

still "retrieving"

Ramya10:44:37 AM
I am sorry Robert. We have tried all possible trouble shooting steps. But there is some issue with Netflix and Roku. So we are working on it and we will get back to you once the issue is resolved.

Robert Martin10:46:10 AM
okay, I understand...I think the new fienweare may not be perfected - thanks for your help anywat. Can you email a transcript of our chat to xxxxxxx@gmail.com please

Ramya10:47:58 AM
I am sorry Robert. We are not authorised to send Email of this script. I am sorry Robert.

Robert Martin10:48:27 AM
thats okay I was able to copy it from this window. thanks anyway

10:48:37 AM

goodbye

Ramya10:48:59 AM
Thats fine Robert.!!! Can I help with anything else?

Robert Martin10:49:21 AM
no thank you - you've been great

Secure connectionPowered by LiveChat
]
Last edited by unclebob on Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:23 am

So, it's not working on any channel? If that's the case, you may just need a new power supply. They've been a problem with the oldest boxes.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
unclebob
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: las vegas nv
Contact:

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:41 am

kc8pql wrote:
So, it's not working on any channel? If that's the case, you may just need a new power supply. They've been a problem with the oldest boxes.


It 's not a power issue, in between rebuffers it plays the video perfectly well - except for Netflix which, as noted above, never successfully loads.

I've just done a factory reset, and I'm relinking & restoring my channels; I'll let you know if that works.

Edit: The factory reset completely cleared my buffering issue with TWIT - Leo Laporte's stuff loads and plays as it always did before.

I suspect other podcast channels are operating properly but I've not yet checked.

The bad news ... Netflix still kicks me out of the app while it is downloading my queue, which wasn't an issue before I deactivated Netflix.

I'm thinking of emptying my Netflix instant queue, but that would be a pretty radical step - that queue was years in the making.

Also -- I just received a very nice follow-up call from Ramya who wanted some specs on my router and provider.

As I mentioned above, I have every reason to dislike off-shore tech support, but Ramya is a gem.
 
lancescape
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:18 pm

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:11 pm

I've been having issues "retrieving" Netflix over the last few days, but I'm content with letting Netflix/Roku figure it out. Seems slightly better/faster today - at least it's loading. I definitely wouldn't delete my queue over it.
 
unclebob
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: las vegas nv
Contact:

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:18 pm

lancescape wrote:
I've been having issues "retrieving" Netflix over the last few days, but I'm content with letting Netflix/Roku figure it out. Seems slightly better/faster today - at least it's loading. I definitely wouldn't delete my queue over it.


I would....but I tried doing so selectively to start -- there's a lotta stuff in there I don't need anyway.

After reducing it to 333 entries, it loaded fine.

My beloved Roku player is now as great as ever!!! :P
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:20 pm

lancescape wrote:
I've been having issues "retrieving" Netflix over the last few days, but I'm content with letting Netflix/Roku figure it out. Seems slightly better/faster today - at least it's loading. I definitely wouldn't delete my queue over it.

+1 If other channels are working , I wouldn't get to hasty about dumping your queue. I doubt that would help anything anyway. I'm assuming you don't have a thousand or something movies in there. Two or 300 shouldn't be a problem.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
unclebob
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: las vegas nv
Contact:

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:25 pm

kc8pql wrote:
lancescape wrote:
I've been having issues "retrieving" Netflix over the last few days, but I'm content with letting Netflix/Roku figure it out. Seems slightly better/faster today - at least it's loading. I definitely wouldn't delete my queue over it.

+1 If other channels are working , I wouldn't get to hasty about dumping your queue. I doubt that would help anything anyway. I'm assuming you don't have a thousand or something movies in there. Two or 300 shouldn't be a problem.


Reducing the queue numbers from 500 to 333 fixed the Netflix issue. It probably shouldn't have, but that's the fact of the matter.

The other issue -- constant rebuffering -- was cleared by a factory reset.
Last edited by unclebob on Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:27 pm

unclebob wrote:
kc8pql wrote:
lancescape wrote:
I've been having issues "retrieving" Netflix over the last few days, but I'm content with letting Netflix/Roku figure it out. Seems slightly better/faster today - at least it's loading. I definitely wouldn't delete my queue over it.

+1 If other channels are working , I wouldn't get to hasty about dumping your queue. I doubt that would help anything anyway. I'm assuming you don't have a thousand or something movies in there. Two or 300 shouldn't be a problem.


Reducing the queue numbers from 500 to 333 fixed it. It probably shouldn't have, but that's the fact of the matter.

You just need to watch more movies. :lol:
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
lancescape
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:18 pm

Re: just updated to build 1553 and I've got issues.

Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:43 pm

unclebob wrote:
Reducing the queue numbers from 500 to 333 fixed the Netflix issue.


Apparently not doing anything at all also fixes the Netflix issue. :D All's good - for now (until the next build is foisted).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests