Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
dellsweig
Topic Author
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:03 am
Location: Campbell Hall NY

side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 6:54 am

Greetings

I am one of the lucky ones to get the YouTube channel while it was a private channel amd it works great (last time i looked :D )

My daughter just got a Roku - is there any way to put my Roku in debug mode and copy off the YouTube channel and then 'side load' it onto my daughters Roku?
Going where the wind don't blow so strange
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5514
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 6:58 am

I don't think Roku would allow this discussion on their forums- be careful.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4048
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 7:58 am

If you had the code, yes... but considering the code was written by someone who now works for Roku, I doubt he will hand it out.
 
dellsweig
Topic Author
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:03 am
Location: Campbell Hall NY

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 8:06 am

KennyJ wrote:
If you had the code, yes... but considering the code was written by someone who now works for Roku, I doubt he will hand it out.


I have the code and I understand the sensitivity

If a fellow roku user and one who has been here since the early days - if someone want to pm me or email me the process I would appreciate it
Going where the wind don't blow so strange
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4907
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 8:29 am

dellsweig wrote:
I have the code and I understand the sensitivity

If a fellow roku user and one who has been here since the early days - if someone want to pm me or email me the process I would appreciate it


The procedure for loading a ch is explained in great detail in the SDK and questions are answered in the developer's forum.
 
scyber
Posts: 1326
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 8:42 am

dellsweig wrote:
KennyJ wrote:
If you had the code, yes... but considering the code was written by someone who now works for Roku, I doubt he will hand it out.


I have the code and I understand the sensitivity

If a fellow roku user and one who has been here since the early days - if someone want to pm me or email me the process I would appreciate it



I'm pretty sure Kenny was refering to the source code of the channel, not the private channel code.
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 9:06 am

The creator of the channel was Nowhereman (RokuChris) and he has made it clear that he will not be distributing the source code. There is no way to "copy" off the channel from a unit is installed on. If you want her to have a channel that you do, link her Roku to your account.
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4048
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 11:01 am

Yes.. you would need to have the source code to side-load it.
 
mommom
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:21 am

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun May 29, 2011 1:15 pm

If I didnt already have YouTube I would try Blinx or RateRix
 
dividebyzer0
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Wichita Kansas

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Tue May 31, 2011 7:41 pm

Someone speculated that the upcoming Firmware 3.0 would, in the course of bringing fixes & improvements, BREAK the Youtube channel for those of us with it installed :| Anyone know about this?
HD-XR model N1101 Firmware 3.1 Bld 1182
Linksys BEFSX41 <==> AT&T ADSL
Channel Master CM-7000 HDTV Tuner
27" RCA ColorTrak circa 1992. Scissors! ---8<-----
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Tue May 31, 2011 8:05 pm

Those that are beta testing 3.0 couldn't say anything one way or another because of NDA
 
mishmash
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:08 pm

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:00 am

stratcat96 wrote:
There is no way to "copy" off the channel from a unit is installed on. If you want her to have a channel that you do, link her Roku to your account.


Ok, this is important. We just got another Roku too. I have the private Youtube channel on the original Roku and it works great. Are you saying I can link the new Roku to my original Roku account and I will have the Roku channel automatically and/or I will be able to successfully input the code for the Roku private channel???

I too have been obsessing how to get this "must-have" YouTube feature on an additional Roku. PlayON (http://www.playon.tv) works adequately to get YouTube but definitely doesn't stack up to NoWhereMan's version....
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:03 am

yes, if you link the new Roku to your already existing account, that will have all the channels that you do, including Youtube
Last edited by stratcat96 on Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: side-loading youtube channel

Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:04 am

mishmash wrote:
stratcat96 wrote:
There is no way to "copy" off the channel from a unit is installed on. If you want her to have a channel that you do, link her Roku to your account.


Ok, this is important. We just got another Roku too. I have the private Youtube channel on the original Roku and it works great. Are you saying I can link the new Roku to my original Roku account and I will have the Roku channel automatically...

Yes.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: denhow, Heyitsrick, jetberrocal, Netjera, selinofell197 and 20 guests