Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
steamer
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Remoku

Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:34 am

gonzotek wrote:
steamer wrote:
btw ... it worked even before I rebooted Firefox after installing.
after reboot ... I did have to scan again. Still works, all is well.

Weird, I wouldn't expect it to work before restarting firefox. What version are you running? Now that you've scanned again after the first post-install restart, is it keeping its settings between further restarts? It should be.

~~~
FF v9.0.1
no, it does not keep the settings ...
i have to rescan anytime after i leave Firefox.
currently have 3rd party cookies enabled, but only until i close Firefox.
could this be the problem? is there a cookie to which i can make an exception?
i did get a message at the Remoku page that the site wanted to store info on
my computer, and i allowed it to do so. still, no change, i have to rescan when
i leave/come back to Firefox.
also ... even after i've rescanned from the webpage, if i then click on the
Remoku tool bar icon, it still sees me as 'first time user' and i need to scan.
no big deal ... but i would like to know why this happens. i imagine you
would as well. ;)
i will try changing the 3rd party cookies to 'until they expire' to experiment ...

~~~
UPDATE ... yes, that did it. if i don't allow the cookie to be reset, it keeps the settings.
still, i would rather not.
if there is a way to have the Remoku cookie be an exception, that would be good.
"The Selection of Random Numbers is too Important to be Left to Chance."

Roku 1 - Model #2100X V 3.1 b1017
Roku 2 - Model #3100X V 5.5.321
both wired
VisionNet ADSL2+4 Ports Wireless
Toshiba 40G300U HDMI, 1080P
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:14 am

steamer wrote:
gonzotek wrote:
steamer wrote:
btw ... it worked even before I rebooted Firefox after installing.
after reboot ... I did have to scan again. Still works, all is well.

Weird, I wouldn't expect it to work before restarting firefox. What version are you running? Now that you've scanned again after the first post-install restart, is it keeping its settings between further restarts? It should be.

~~~
FF v9.0.1
no, it does not keep the settings ...
i have to rescan anytime after i leave Firefox.
currently have 3rd party cookies enabled, but only until i close Firefox.
could this be the problem? is there a cookie to which i can make an exception?
i did get a message at the Remoku page that the site wanted to store info on
my computer, and i allowed it to do so. still, no change, i have to rescan when
i leave/come back to Firefox.
also ... even after i've rescanned from the webpage, if i then click on the
Remoku tool bar icon, it still sees me as 'first time user' and i need to scan.
no big deal ... but i would like to know why this happens. i imagine you
would as well. ;)
i will try changing the 3rd party cookies to 'until they expire' to experiment ...

~~~
UPDATE ... yes, that did it. if i don't allow the cookie to be reset, it keeps the settings.
still, i would rather not.
if there is a way to have the Remoku cookie be an exception, that would be good.
OK, try adding an exception for remoku.tv , I think that should do it.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
steamer
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Remoku

Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:49 am

OK, try adding an exception for remoku.tv , I think that should do it.

it does indeed.
in addition, adding forums.roku.com also solved the same problem i've been having
with having to log into this forum every time. i'm happily camping now. ;)
"The Selection of Random Numbers is too Important to be Left to Chance."

Roku 1 - Model #2100X V 3.1 b1017
Roku 2 - Model #3100X V 5.5.321
both wired
VisionNet ADSL2+4 Ports Wireless
Toshiba 40G300U HDMI, 1080P
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:58 pm

Crow550 wrote:
Can you please add an option to name the Rokus that are added?
I just pushed out a beta so we can test out naming Rokus. Names can be added to both scanned and manually added Rokus. They should be remembered across sessions, just like other settings.
To use:
  • Go to Remoku's Settings and you'll see a new field at the bottom of the page called "Name active roku".
  • Give it a name and hit the Enter key or "Name" button to save.
  • Clearing the name field and hitting the Enter key or the "Name" button will also remove the name.
The beta code is at http://remoku.tv/beta. I have not tested it very much yet, it works in Chrome and is expected to work in other browsers. Please feel free to give it a try and report any successes or failures here in the thread. As long as we don't run into any major issues I hope to push this to the Stable channel ASAP.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:17 pm

steamer wrote:
OK, try adding an exception for remoku.tv , I think that should do it.

it does indeed.
in addition, adding forums.roku.com also solved the same problem i've been having
with having to log into this forum every time. i'm happily camping now. ;)
This is all just fyi, but I thought it might be worth mentioning. Looking at Firefox's settings, I think the two settings ('Accept third-party cookies' & 'Keep Until: ') are independent of one another. In other words, you can accept third party cookies (or not) and, separately, you can keep (all) cookies until they expire (or until the session ends, or ask every time). If you turn off "Accept cookies from sites", both settings are grey out, but if you turn off "Accept third-party cookies", the keep until setting remains changeable. The placement of them in Firefox's settings isn't very clear. I was initially confused by your report, because Remoku isn't setting any cookies 'third party', and so shouldn't need an exception for that. It would (and does) need an exception if all cookies are being destroyed after every session.

Also, technically, under most modern browsers, Remoku isn't using cookies for storage at all, but a more modern storage mechanism, called localStorage. Both storage mechanisms are controlled by the same 'cookie' setting in Firefox (and possibly other browsers as well, I haven't researched that yet), so for our intents and purposes in this discussion they're equivalent, but localStorage also provides a larger amount of space and some other advantages over cookies that makes it preferable for Remoku.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
steamer
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:56 pm

Yes, that part of Firefox and 3rd party cookies has always been confusing.
Anyway, Remoku works ...
testing the beta out as well. So far, so good.

Ah yes ... wanted to ask if it would be possible to add a keyboard device
which uses the mouse to select letters for the various 'search' portions
of channels?
Or somehow even use the PC keyboard.
I have no idea if such a thing would be possible but i finger you'd be
the guy to ask. ;)
"The Selection of Random Numbers is too Important to be Left to Chance."

Roku 1 - Model #2100X V 3.1 b1017
Roku 2 - Model #3100X V 5.5.321
both wired
VisionNet ADSL2+4 Ports Wireless
Toshiba 40G300U HDMI, 1080P
 
Crow550
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:14 pm

steamer wrote:
Yes, that part of Firefox and 3rd party cookies has always been confusing.
Anyway, Remoku works ...
testing the beta out as well. So far, so good.

Ah yes ... wanted to ask if it would be possible to add a keyboard device
which uses the mouse to select letters for the various 'search' portions
of channels?
Or somehow even use the PC keyboard.
I have no idea if such a thing would be possible but i finger you'd be
the guy to ask. ;)


Turning off 3rd party cookies can cause more problems than it's usually worth. A lot of sites will not function properly.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:18 pm

steamer wrote:
Yes, that part of Firefox and 3rd party cookies has always been confusing.
Anyway, Remoku works ...
testing the beta out as well. So far, so good.

Ah yes ... wanted to ask if it would be possible to add a keyboard device
which uses the mouse to select letters for the various 'search' portions
of channels?
Or somehow even use the PC keyboard.
I have no idea if such a thing would be possible but i finger you'd be
the guy to ask. ;)
Just updated the beta channel with some graphical/ui improvements(I hope they're improvements). It should update itself in a reload or two. I've found Internet Explorer is a little more agressive in holding onto its cache, if you're using it I recommend changing the Temporary Internet Files>"Check for newer files of stored pages" setting to "Every time I visit the webpage". The beta channel Build date is: February 14, 2012 07:34:55 PM (or newer if I find any issues ).
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4911
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:22 pm

Can the current Roku that is being controlled be displayed on the "Remote" screen?
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:28 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:
Can the current Roku that is being controlled be displayed on the "Remote" screen?
I've been thinking about how I want to do that, and I think I've got a workable solution.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:57 am

gonzotek wrote:
Gilgamesh wrote:
Can the current Roku that is being controlled be displayed on the "Remote" screen?
I've been thinking about how I want to do that, and I think I've got a workable solution.
Just pushed a new build into the beta channel: http://remoku.tv/beta. It includes the name of the currently active Roku on the bottom of the remote, which can also be used as a menu to change which Roku you're controlling. It also has various minor UI improvements (better scrolling on iThings, minor layout changes). I haven't tested it yet on any of the browser extensions, but I don't expect any serious issues. I'll definitely test them all before pushing this into stable, but I think this is a very good build*.

If anyone is interested in testing and reporting any issues, I'd love the feedback before sending it to stable. Thanks!!

Also, thanks for the reviews on the firefox and opera add-ons sites! I've got several hundred confirmed installs spread across all the browsers as of yesterday evening, which is just amazing! Remoku earned full-review status sometime in the last two weeks, so thanks again!

--
*Note: There are some still-inactive Goodies (custom macros and play timer). I definitely haven't forgotten about these, but the code still isn't ready for testing and I wanted to get some other things working and out there.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4911
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:10 am

gonzotek wrote:
...
If anyone is interested in testing and reporting any issues, I'd love the feedback before sending it to stable. Thanks!!
...
*Note: There are some still-inactive Goodies (custom macros and play timer). I definitely haven't forgotten about these, but the code still isn't ready for testing and I wanted to get some other things working and out there.


So far all seems quite good. I have had no unexpected behaviors or glitches that I could not attribute to my setup or network.

I would suggest that the text entry space next to the keyboard icon be a somewhat different color or shade as, on my computer with any browser or using the Firefox extension, it appears the same shade of black as the surrounding black.

Also it would be helpful if the background color could be changed in the settings.

Thanks!
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:25 am

Gilgamesh wrote:
gonzotek wrote:
...
If anyone is interested in testing and reporting any issues, I'd love the feedback before sending it to stable. Thanks!!
...
*Note: There are some still-inactive Goodies (custom macros and play timer). I definitely haven't forgotten about these, but the code still isn't ready for testing and I wanted to get some other things working and out there.


So far all seems quite good. I have had no unexpected behaviors or glitches that I could not attribute to my setup or network.

I would suggest that the text entry space next to the keyboard icon be a somewhat different color or shade as, on my computer with any browser or using the Firefox extension, it appears the same shade of black as the surrounding black.

Also it would be helpful if the background color could be changed in the settings.

Thanks!
It was my intention that it not stand out and become an eyesore...apparently I've learned the (oft-repeated) lesson that there's too much of a good thing: you're not first person to comment on it (before I added the icon several people didn't even realize it was there at all). I'll play with it and see if I can differentiate it a bit more from the background.

I can add a setting for the background color. You're referring to the page (not the text field) background, right?
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4911
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:06 pm

gonzotek wrote:
...
I can add a setting for the background color. You're referring to the page (not the text field) background, right?


That is correct.
 
Crow550
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Remoku

Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:20 pm

Gotta say it again. I freaking love this. So handy. :)

Thanks again!

Also how's the Play Timer coming along?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bvd1022, jeffrok, Streams and 11 guests