Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 17
 
WetFactory
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:15 pm

Re: Remoku

Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:43 am

gonzotek wrote:
WetFactory, can you tell if the IP is different if you're able to reset the Roku again and re-connect? Also, what is your Roku firmware version? If it keeps happening, try not using remoku and just try hitting the /query/apps page at different times(not sure how long it was up for you, but try that first). I want to establish if it's something Remoku is causing or something inherent to the box. If you're interested in troubleshooting, of course :). You could also try a different network remote, depending on what platforms are available to you.


The IP stays the same upon reset. I'm running version 3.1, build 1011 on a a XD model.

I made several refreshes of the /query/apps page and after about four minutes of near-constant refreshing, it brought up the app list. Several refreshes later still display the list. 8 minutes later and it can no longer connect.

I tried another application at roku-remote.com, and it, along with your site, functioned as long as the /apps page could be displayed.

Don't sweat it too much if it seems like an odd problem.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:22 pm

Quick update: I've released a Remoku Chrome extension. This adds an icon to your Chrome toolbar for easy access to Remoku without leaving the page you're on. I've also updated the documentation on the help site and the first post of the thread to reflect some of the different ways you can use Remoku. Let me know if you use it and if you like it or have any problems.

Cheers!
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:41 am

Last night I submitted a Firefox Remoku extension to the reviewers at addons.mozilla.org. I've been granted a preliminary review and Remoku is now available for installation from https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/remoku/.

If you try it and like it, please submit a review at the Remoku Firefox extension page, so that it can achieve full review status. By passing full review, the add-on can be more easily found and installed by new users.

Help site and first post also updated to reflect the new extension :)

Cheers!
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
mkiker2089
Posts: 2801
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:42 am

I've noticed an issue using Remoku on my network. It correctly see's that my IP starts with 192.168 however it then looks for 192.168.1.x but my network is 192.168.42.x

So, does it read the first half and assume the rest or is it just coincidence that it got it that far.

It's not a big deal however because after I fixed it once it remembers it from then on.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4911
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:28 pm

mkiker2089 wrote:
I've noticed an issue using Remoku on my network. It correctly see's that my IP starts with 192.168 however it then looks for 192.168.1.x but my network is 192.168.42.x

So, does it read the first half and assume the rest or is it just coincidence that it got it that far.

It's not a big deal however because after I fixed it once it remembers it from then on.


Probably 80-90% of the home networks begin with "192.168" at least virtually all that I have seen lately start with that.

After that it is anybodies guess. It seems that the devices I have seen that have a default all start at 192.168 and go from there. However I just set one up that listed 0.0.0.0 to start and it was a bit tedious to set up as the interface was like the Roku and moving around and deleting the 0s was necessary before entering the correct info. (Note to designers: If you cannot give a reasonable starting place LEAVE IT BLANK!)

On my network the third number is "2" and one of my neighbor's is "3" and still another is "47."

While the first two number seem fairly standard the remainder is all over the place.

I would think that the numbers have a meaning but, for internal network purposes, those meanings are pretty much irrelevant.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:46 pm

mkiker2089 wrote:
I've noticed an issue using Remoku on my network. It correctly see's that my IP starts with 192.168 however it then looks for 192.168.1.x but my network is 192.168.42.x

So, does it read the first half and assume the rest or is it just coincidence that it got it that far.

It's not a big deal however because after I fixed it once it remembers it from then on.
It doesn't 'see' the IP at all (javascript restriction, there's no cross-platform way around it), so you have to enter that part. I chose 192.168.1 as the default, because that's almost certainly the single most common network base address out there (there are others suggested in the help). I've never seen a router with a 192.168.42 base, is that something you set on your router or did it come that way? If it came that way, I'll add it to the list of common base addresses.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:49 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:
I would think that the numbers have a meaning but, for internal network purposes, those meanings are pretty much irrelevant.
They do, and you're right that the meanings are pretty much irrelevant for most home users. For those interested in arcane networking trivia however, wikipedia explains:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_ne ... ess_spaces
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4911
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:00 pm

gonzotek wrote:
They do, and you're right that the meanings are pretty much irrelevant for most home users. For those interested in arcane networking trivia however, wikipedia explains:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_ne ... ess_spaces


Well I read that article and I do have a question that you might be able to answer: Was that written in English? And is there another article that explains that one?

I read techneese fairly well in fact I can actually understand most user's manuals but that article had me saying "WTF" more than I said "Ah I understand now."

Oh well, I guess I don't really need to know as long as it works. :?
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:28 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:
gonzotek wrote:
They do, and you're right that the meanings are pretty much irrelevant for most home users. For those interested in arcane networking trivia however, wikipedia explains:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_ne ... ess_spaces


Well I read that article and I do have a question that you might be able to answer: Was that written in English? And is that another article that explains that one?

I read techneese fairly well in fact I can actually understand most user's manuals but that article had me saying "WTF" more than I said "Ah I understand now."

Oh well, I guess I don't really need to know as long as it works. :?
Don't feel bad, I took several IT-related community college classes a few years ago, where I'm pretty certain (read: absolutely sure) I had a better understanding of network technology than the professors. And I'm far from an expert :). All network addresses are actually just long binary numbers, and are calculated in binary, then translated back to an easier (for a human) notation. So the total possible theoretical max number of IPv4 addresses is a 32-bit integer, or 4294967296 (2^32) (there are many reserved ip addresses in that range, so the real maximum is lower than that). This is expressed in 'dotted decimal' notation, with four 'octets' : W.X.Y.Z. The range goes from 2^0 . 2^0 . 2^0 . 2^0 to 2^8 . 2^8 . 2^8 . 2^8 or 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255 (with all the numbering starting from zero, not one). Then we divide and subdivide that address space using binary subnet masking, for example a private 192.168.x.x address will have a network mask of 255.255.0.0, or in binary 11111111 11111111 00000000 00000000. After masking, the only part of the network address you (or your router) cares about is the parts that aren't masked (i.e. the zeroed part of the mask).

Most people never have to worry about this stuff, thankfully. And soon we'll all be using IPv6, as all public IPv4 addresses have been handed out at this point. The most obvious advantage of IPv6 is its much larger address space than in IPv4. IPv6 addresses are 128 bits long, compared to only 32 bits previously. While the IPv4 address space contains only about 4.3×10^9 (4.3 billion) addresses, IPv6 defines approximately 3.4×10^38 (340 undecillion) unique addresses. I haven't yet begun to study IPv6 addressing :-).
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
mkiker2089
Posts: 2801
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:01 pm

gonzotek wrote:
Gilgamesh wrote:
I would think that the numbers have a meaning but, for internal network purposes, those meanings are pretty much irrelevant.
They do, and you're right that the meanings are pretty much irrelevant for most home users. For those interested in arcane networking trivia however, wikipedia explains:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_ne ... ess_spaces


Doesn't that only apply to the first two however? I know on my router I can change the third part to anything from 00-99 and the last part is a table that can be restricted.

I changed to 192.168.42 simply because 42 is the meaning of life and the universe so my network reflects that.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:19 pm

mkiker2089 wrote:
gonzotek wrote:
Gilgamesh wrote:
I would think that the numbers have a meaning but, for internal network purposes, those meanings are pretty much irrelevant.
They do, and you're right that the meanings are pretty much irrelevant for most home users. For those interested in arcane networking trivia however, wikipedia explains:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_ne ... ess_spaces


Doesn't that only apply to the first two however? I know on my router I can change the third part to anything from 00-99 and the last part is a table that can be restricted.

I changed to 192.168.42 simply because 42 is the meaning of life and the universe so my network reflects that.
I had a feeling there was a Adams-esque explanation for that address :-). I'm not sure what you mean by 'only apply to the first two', but there are specific ranges set aside for private networks, we can't just pick any numbers and expect things to work. Most home routers work in the 192.168 range, but it's not the only possible private range. My work network (which I control) uses a 10.1.1.1-10.10.255.255 range. Potentially I could go all the way to 10.255.255.255, but I just don't need that many addresses :-). I use the second octet to designate different classes of devices such as: all 10.5.x.x addresses are printers. Although I've never seen it in use, apparently 172.16-172.32 is available as well. While not very common, it's very possible that a home business owner will be using a Roku with a business-class router(or other dhcp server) that hands out 10.x.x.x addresses, so it's something Remoku can't take for granted when setting up the scanning.

What would be really nice (and probably not something that will ever happen) is if Roku created an API where their Roku devices call the mothership at roku.com whenever the private address changes; then third party apps and web services can register with Roku to let authorized users share that info (think of it as similar to facebook logins for third party sites). Then I could securely request the addresses of all the rokus you own directly from roku.com and not have to mess around with all the network scanning stuff(only at your request and with your consent, of course). And once all that stuff is in place, there are other possibilities for interesting interaction between a roku device, the roku service, and third party websites(for instance: stuff like mog.com being able to tell the roku what album to start playing). Even Roku's own app has trouble detecting the ssdp announcements under certain network conditions, and this would be a more sure-fire way to enable the same end result.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
mkiker2089
Posts: 2801
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:42 pm

By first two I meant the first two sets of numbers.

Here's a question which is probably difficult. I have two wireless printers. I set them up first using windows and adding them via their ip. That worked until I rebooted my router and the laser printer jumped to the top of the dhcp list. The windows software was looking for that printer to always be at 192.168.42.13 and suddenly it was at .3 so windows said the printer at 13 was down. I then installed the driver from Brother and now no matter where my printer is the software finds it.

Short version, how do the printer drivers keep track of the ip's. Given that Java won't let you do it is it possible to have a full fledged app that could?
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:59 pm

mkiker2089 wrote:
By first two I meant the first two sets of numbers.

Here's a question which is probably difficult. I have two wireless printers. I set them up first using windows and adding them via their ip. That worked until I rebooted my router and the laser printer jumped to the top of the dhcp list. The windows software was looking for that printer to always be at 192.168.42.13 and suddenly it was at .3 so windows said the printer at 13 was down. I then installed the driver from Brother and now no matter where my printer is the software finds it.

Short version, how do the printer drivers keep track of the ip's. Given that Java won't let you do it is it possible to have a full fledged app that could?

Java would actually be capable, javascript (in a browser and in most other implementations) won't, due to the security design behind browsers. Your printers are somehow announcing themselves to the network. There are a couple of technologies to do this, two popular ones are bonjour(mdns/zeroconf/rendevous are all essentially names for the same thing) and ssdp. bonjour is the Apple-preferred announcement mechanism (Tivos and some linux apps also make use of it in my experience). SSDP is a Microsoft/HP designed protocol, and is used for upnp devices and Roku, among other things.

Unfortunately, javascript can't hear any of these announcements because they use UDP packets(vs. TCP). Browsers don't have any network address awareness, and cannot create/use UDP ports, so Remoku is essentially deaf and blind about your network until you tell it enough to let it feel it's way around.

Depending on the environment, a full app could listen for the ssdp announcements (most do), although it's clear from the other network remotes that there's no bullet-proof, fast method to reliably detecting Rokus. We do the best we can :).
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
 
hozedhead
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:05 pm

gonzotek wrote:
Last night I submitted a Firefox Remoku extension to the reviewers at addons.mozilla.org. I've been granted a preliminary review and Remoku is now available for installation from https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/remoku/.

If you try it and like it, please submit a review at the Remoku Firefox extension page, so that it can achieve full review status. By passing full review, the add-on can be more easily found and installed by new users.

Help site and first post also updated to reflect the new extension :)

Cheers!


The extension works great and I posted a positive review. Thanks Gonzotek!
Roku HD N1000 Serial #20G984014682 Software V. 3.1 Build 1167
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Topic Author
Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Remoku

Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:43 pm

Awesome, thanks!
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 17

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Circutz and 32 guests