Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

jnaeve
Topic Author

NEW ROKU3 - Network Connectivity Question

Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:43 am

I just received my new ROKU3 and was going through the setup routine. I'm no novice to network or IP protocols but I'm really struggling as to why my ROKU3 won't connect to the Internet. I'm on line with my tech support team who manage my router but at the moment, ROKU3 both (1) Recognizes its connected to an Ethernet router but cannot negotiate beyond that -and- (2) ROKU3 Signs on to my hidden SSID and is given a valid authentication but again, it won't negotiate beyond that.

My configuration is through a company corporate remote office solution where I've got VLAN-1 which supports corporate connectivity and VLAN-2 which supports ancillary connectivity not routed through the corporate network. Through VLAN-2 I have 3-AppleTV's, Vonage IP Phone, Printers, 3 Home Computers and DirecTV DVR's with IP connectivity. I know our company IT team do prevent certain protocols from connecting but with all I have connected now, I don't see how ROKU3 wouldn't be supported within the current provisions.

I have looked all through roku.com/support and all I get is basic connectivity responses and general WiFi 101, I need something deeper and really don't want to route my tech support questions through someone who doesn't speak English. My patience, if you can't tell, is worn real thin right now.

By the way, this is the 3rd ROKU I've owned. I purchased one about 3 years ago, had a lot of trouble keeping it connected and sent it back. About a year ago, I learned there was a newer ROKU that would do better so I ordered that one thinking it would be more stable. It wasn't, still had connectivity issues where it wouldn't reconnect to my WiFi network when I started it back up from sleep mode. After reading some reviews, I now have the ROKU3 but have begun to realize that network connectivity isn't one of their strong suits.