Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:47 pm

I've noticed that people are still saying to visit the channel store to get updates. My Roku3 doesn't support that feature. Is this something they removed from the software or is my box not acting properly? Anyone else seeing this behavior?
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:50 pm

mkiker2089 wrote:
I've noticed that people are still saying to visit the channel store to get updates. My Roku3 doesn't support that feature. Is this something they removed from the software or is my box not acting properly? Anyone else seeing this behavior?


Go to the Settings -> Updates screen, that will also update the apps. Both Roku 2 and 3 devices will react this way. I think because the Channel Store and Main Screen has been integrated, the old enter/exit Channel Store doesn't update the Channel List like before.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:54 pm

So it's not just me. I guess Roku support needs to get their canned responses updated. If I add a channel in the store though it might update all of them, I haven't tried that but you'd think it would have to. Otherwise you'd add a channel and not be able to use it for 24 hours without manually updating.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:19 pm

I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
david0406
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:06 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:11 pm

TheEndless wrote:
I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels


I added this channel first and put it first on my list. I also noticed something different with the whole channel updating process that seemed different. I just did not put two and two together. Thanks for the addition.
Roku N-1000
Roku HD 2000C
Roku LT
Roku 2 XD
Roku 3
Roku 3
Roku 2 4210X
Roku 2 4210X
Roku 1 2710X
Roku Express
 
User avatar
mikeyts
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:59 pm

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:09 pm

TheEndless wrote:
I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels

Could you make a "Reboot My Roku" channel? I know you can do this with HOME x 5, UP, REW, REW, FF, FF but something quicker (and not so hard to remember :mrgreen:) would be nice.
 
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4907
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:17 pm

mikeyts wrote:
TheEndless wrote:
I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels

Could you make a "Reboot My Roku" channel? I know you can do this with HOME x 5, UP, REW, REW, FF, FF but something quicker (and not so hard to remember :mrgreen:) would be nice.


A couple of years ago someone made such a channel. It performed its function by forcing a crash.

It worked just fine but it was quickly found that most of the time when a reboot was needed it was impossible to get out of what you were doing and into a different ch.

I do think there should be an easy to remember way to force a reboot but I do not think a channel for it is the way.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:10 am

mikeyts wrote:
TheEndless wrote:
I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels

Could you make a "Reboot My Roku" channel? I know you can do this with HOME x 5, UP, REW, REW, FF, FF but something quicker (and not so hard to remember :mrgreen:) would be nice.

HOME x 5, FF, PLAY, REW, PLAY, FF is easier to remember, and is a faster reboot, since it doesn't send a crash report to Roku.

Gilgamesh wrote:
A couple of years ago someone made such a channel. It performed its function by forcing a crash.

That was me. Roku has since fixed the bug that I was exploiting to cause that crash.. :P
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:12 am

I also created a channel to reboot/crash (https://owner.roku.com/add/crash). As far as I know it still works, although I don't have a Roku 3 to try it on.

-JT
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:33 am

^ I just checked. It still works on the R2's.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
User avatar
RickRansom
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:52 am

And it crashed my Roku 3 after getting the "crashing" message. Whew. Looks like that bug is still there. :mrgreen:
Retired
- Now works at Riot Games
 
User avatar
mikeyts
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:59 pm

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:22 am

TheEndless wrote:
mikeyts wrote:
TheEndless wrote:
I made a channel for that... ;)
https://owner.roku.com/add/UpdateMyChannels

Could you make a "Reboot My Roku" channel? I know you can do this with HOME x 5, UP, REW, REW, FF, FF but something quicker (and not so hard to remember :mrgreen:) would be nice.

HOME x 5, FF, PLAY, REW, PLAY, FF is easier to remember, and is a faster reboot, since it doesn't send a crash report to Roku.

Not sure how that's easier to remember :mrgreen:. I didn't realize that it was sending a crash report to Roku; that'd explain how long it takes. It's a shame that there's no code to fast reboot without having to select an option from a menu.
Last edited by mikeyts on Sun Apr 14, 2013 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2206
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel store no longer updates channels (R3)

Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:32 am

TheEndless wrote:
HOME x 5, FF, PLAY, REW, PLAY, FF is easier to remember, and is a faster reboot, since it doesn't send a crash report to Roku.

Not sure how that's easier to remember :mrgreen:
You move your thumb across FF PLAY REW PLAY FF in a sweep, starting at the right of the remote, moving across the center, to the left, back to center, to finish at the right again. Sort of like the old Konami code, it becomes a muscle memory thing :)
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests