Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:31 pm

I've used Chaneru and while it works well it's UI is not for me. I want the play button to play the movie and don't need to get bogged down with sub menus. I then tried the official Roku and it has problems connecting. All other devices do fine with it but I have to power cycle the media server anytime I start the channel or else I'll get an error on the first video.

Is there a Chaneru light or any suggestion on a way to get the Roku server working better?
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
theuser86
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:56 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:19 pm

Try Plex. Or RARflix.
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:55 pm

My server is hardware so I can't use Plex. I tried, it only accepts Plex servers.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
theuser86
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:56 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:02 pm

What is your media server?
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:06 pm

Its a belkin homebase. Plex said it refused connection.

Channeru works great but the ui is too complex for a media player. The media channel from Roku is better designed but refuses to work without a server reboot.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
theuser86
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:56 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:46 pm

My only other recommendation is Roksbox then.

If that doesn't work, you're SOL. Unfortunately the main purpose of the Roku was an Internet streaming device, not local streaming.

My other recommendation would be to setup the Plex Media Server on a PC then.
 
User avatar
RokuDale
Roku Engineering
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:59 am

Re: need help with media server

Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:57 am

Regarding RMP (Roku Media Player) are you saying it doesn't see the server? Or after seeing the server it has trouble connecting? In one message you say it works after rebooting the server. Does it work fine after rebooting the server?
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:17 pm

When I come into RMP after using another channel it will see the server, read the files, and start loading a video. It gets stuck on the loading screen and gives an error saying it's disconnected and to check my network. My PS3 and Channeru both work even after that.

If I reboot the server while RMP is running it will lose and regain the server at which point it works until I leave the channel where I will have to do it all again. Luckily I can reboot the server remotely.

For now I'm going to complete my free trial of Channeru but will just have to get used to rebooting the server often after that.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
RokuDale
Roku Engineering
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:59 am

Re: need help with media server

Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:31 pm

What kind of video files are these? mkv? mp4?
Have you tried accessing pictures or songs on this media server?
Unfortunately it looks like the Belkin home base has been discontinued, I was about to go to Fry's and pick one up for testing. What firmware version of homebase are you using?
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:59 pm

RokuDale wrote:
What kind of video files are these? mkv? mp4?
Have you tried accessing pictures or songs on this media server?
Unfortunately it looks like the Belkin home base has been discontinued, I was about to go to Fry's and pick one up for testing. What firmware version of homebase are you using?



I think I'm the only person who bought one ;) it actually works well as my twonky server in the router responds so much slower.

Software is 1.00.04 which is the only firmware available.

Music works fine for some reason only video needs a reboot.

The files are made with Free make under PS3 settings. Mk4 I think.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
RokuDale
Roku Engineering
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:59 am

Re: need help with media server

Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:57 pm

When you are able to watch a video, if you exit the video before watching the whole thing does it give you the opportunity to resume? If so then the Roku is direct playing. If not it is getting a transcoded stream. Did you mean mkv or mp4?
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:10 am

Mp4 and I'm fairly sure it's direct playing. My server doesn't transcode.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
User avatar
RokuDale
Roku Engineering
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:59 am

Re: need help with media server

Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:47 pm

I don't know if I have enough information to proceed on this. Looks to be an issue specific to that upnp server. If you send me an email address I could send a link to a box account that you could put one file that doesn't play and I could try it on other upnp servers I have for test.
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: need help with media server

Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:53 pm

Hey Marshall, when trying to use plex did you forward port 32400?
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: need help with media server

Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:37 pm

It's not that any particular video won't play. None play unless I either reboot the server or refresh it. Refreshing it rebuilds the database I think and is much faster.

I didn't get far with Plex and didn't do any forwarding. RMP and Chaneru find the server so I gave up on Plex pretty fast.

I'm thinking I may buy chaneru as rebooting the server is getting annoying ;)
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests