Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 10
 
frmky
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:36 am

TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:47 am

I have now gotten two 48" TCL Roku TV's, and I can't get either connected to my wifi network. Both initially worked, downloaded an update on initial setup, then stopped working. Sometimes it shows the list of networks, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes in the network setup screen it shows the MAC as all 0's but not in the secret menu. A Roku 3 on the same wireless network works fine. Suggestions from customer service haven't helped (case #3100421).

I just saw that the USB will support a wired ethernet adapter. I ordered one, so although not ideal I'm hoping that will work in the interim. Have there been wifi issues reported with this update? Is it possible to get the older firmware?
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9026
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:57 am

Have there been wifi issues reported with this update? Is it possible to get the older firmware?

No more than usual, and no.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
DaBronx
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3231
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 6:50 am
Location: One East 161st Street, Bronx, NY 10451
Contact:

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Sun Nov 16, 2014 4:31 pm

You might want to try rebooting your tv's and see if that helps with the wireless connection. On the TV home page go into Settings --> System ---> Power ---> System Restart and the tv will reboot.

I have my Roku TV hooked up on a wired connection using the Belkin dongle mentioned in the thread referenced above, bought it on Amazon @ http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005UUY24A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 (Yikes and holy frijole, the price has gone up from the $17.31 with Prime I paid not too long ago).

Remember Shawn's instructions, "connect the Ethernet to the dongle, and the dongle to the TV usb port, then REBOOT (Settings > System > Power > System Restart). The firmware should prefer the wired connection over the wifi connection if it's available, even though there is no wired option in the Network screen."

Hope you get the wireless going, odd that the issue appears on 2 tv's.

brett
55" Insignia-Roku 4K TV, 40" Hisense Roku TV, Roku2 XS #13A164000326, R3 #1GJ36A038993, R4 wired to Netgear WND 3700 router, 300 mb TWC broadband (Subscriber- 2019 MLB.TV Premium, 2018-19 NHL.TV, Hulu+, Netflix, Amazon Prime)
 
frmky
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:36 am

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:55 pm

DaBronx wrote:
Hope you get the wireless going, odd that the issue appears on 2 tv's.
brett

That and the fact that my Roku 3, Chromecast, and Nest all work fine on the same network made me think it was a bad firmware. Perhaps the wireless chipset in the TV and my router just don't like each other? In any case, very frustrating!
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:26 am

set a reservation for your TVs by Mac Addy see if it fixes the problem
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
Beyond Frustrated
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:07 am

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:17 am

I received the TCL 48" yesterday and am having very similar issues. I can't get a WIFI connection. I have wifi access through 4 phones in the house. My network comes up sometimes. Sometimes it doesn't. I have wifi explorer and changed channels to get best signal. 100% signal strength. My router is an airport extreme.

Last night it finally connected started downloading channels and then dropped. Talked to tech support at TCL and Roku to no avail. Now when tv starts up, it just asks for new wifi connection. I get a green light for wifi but then it bombs out on the local network. Any updates/suggestions?
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:07 pm

try this and see if it helps

from the home screen with your roku remote
Press Home 5 times
Press FF 1 time
Press Play 1 time
Press Rew 1 time
Press Play 1 time
Press FF 1 time
then disable ping

Press rapidly, evenly and without pausing.

good luck

if this does not allow a connection then set a DHCP reservation by Mac addy for the TV
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
solonas
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:47 pm

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:51 pm

I'm having the same issue. It worked yesterday initially when I unboxed it. Then I had to do a factory restore to get it working again. Then today it worked for pandora and then when my wife went to use hulu plus it would not connect. I restarted several times and tried your ping trick to no avail. I'd set a mac reservation, but the mac address it lists is invalid (00.00.00.00.00.00). I'm just going to plug in my roku 3 into this dumb thing and return it tomorrow if I don't hear back from TCL support with a solution.
 
Beyond Frustrated
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:07 am

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:15 pm

ok, please excuse my ignorance. So for the dhcp reservation, do I just go into the network setting on the airport extreme and set a static ip address?
 
jazclrint
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:45 pm

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:51 pm

I have the same TV, and I had some issues with the WiFi dropping, but that was while I was breaking in my new router.

I'm passed off that I can't cast from an internet browser, but the WiFi seems to working fine.
 
NobHillBilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:18 pm

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:26 am

I'm also having this issue, on my TV it started the day of the Nov 15th Update (although oddly before I actually downloaded the update). Initially I fixed it by factory resetting all the settings. A couple times I was able to fix by restarting the TV through the settings menu or with the restart button above the hdmi connectors. So I thought this was just software issue as it would fix after a restart, but now it's gone several days without any of these things fixing it, I really like the TV when the wifi is working but it's pretty much permanently out right now.

A few times it has had connection issues while it can see my network (and others) but most of the time it's showing no network at all, and when you try to scan for more networks it immediately dismisses the search prompt and you get no results.

My PS3 picks up Wifi just fine there. So did my Wii, etc. Every other device in the house is fine. I've set up a dedicated address based on the MAC address and it didn't help. Obviously I've reset the router a few times. I really need an update or an answer on this otherwise I'll probably return the TV just in case it's a hardware defect. Anybody at Roku out there? Do you know when next TV Software update is coming and if this is a known software issue?
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:35 am

to set a reservation on an airport extreme
http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/ ... rt_extreme


NobHillBilly asked
Do you know when next TV Software update is coming and if this is a known software issue?


Roku does not announce updates in advance but I would expect one shortly.As for a known issue, while every network setup,router and isp can't be tested before a software release Roku does test every update thoroughly before releasing them both in the Roku engineering department and in a group of beta testers in user land
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
Beyond Frustrated
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:07 am

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:48 am

Thanks, knuckle for the link. I'll give that a try, but I'm not holding out a lot of hope. I too used a WII in the same spot with no issues. Very clunky but never dropped or had issues.

I'm not tech savvy but willing to learn. I don't think this model will last long amongst the general public if network/setup issues persist. Way too time consuming for a "simple" smart tv.
 
H3D
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:41 am

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:58 am

I am having similar issues with my new 48" TCL Roku TV. It was able to connect to my wifi on setup, but a few days later it said no connection and now it does not show any available wifi networks to connect to. This is very frustrating.
 
NobHillBilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:18 pm

Re: TCL Roku TV wifi issues

Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:36 pm

As for a known issue, while every network setup,router and isp can't be tested before a software release Roku does test every update thoroughly before releasing them both in the Roku engineering department and in a group of beta testers in user land

I appreciate the reply, I'm in software QA myself so that doesn't quite ease my concern. Serious know issues don't always stop a PM from saying ship it and not everything can be caught. I know the matrix of setup, router, and isp would be impossible I know it's just 5 people in a week in the forum, but only a small percentage of people are the type to actually go sign up so they can right in a forum so multiple by 100.

Anyway, if QA wasn't already looking into it maybe we can't point them in that direction, I'd be happy to provide details on my home Network via email. Anything else suggested to try in that Contra Code debug menu? Holding on return and scathing Amazon review for a bit (something I've never had to do), but anxiously awaiting update is an understatement. It just sucks because the whole appeal of the TV is I shouldn't have to use another device to stream stuff which is the situation I'm left in right now.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests