Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Roku Ethernet Problem

Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:55 pm

I had an older Roku that worked with my Verizon Westell modem. I had to replace the modem and was sent a Dlink 2750 router. Neither the older or the newest Roku 2 will connect with it. There is a green check at "your wired network" but it just spins at "your local network". I did the secret screens and tried enable/disable the ping, and it also shows all 0's. I added pri/sec DNS numbers in the router console that I saw on a website but to no avail. Any options ? Get another modem/router brand ? Thanks and God bless.
 
User avatar
dgrace
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Montana

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:47 pm

Wifi or wired? Your thread title says ethernet so thinking wired. If so, then that would really be odd, but if wifi then its possible that the wifi needs to be reset up in the roku. Is there security on the network? Give us a bit more info.
"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:21 pm

Yes it is a wired connection from the Verizon dlink 2750 router. Neither the old Roku or the newest one won't connect to the dlink but the old one worked fine with the westell modem.
 
User avatar
dgrace
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Montana

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:28 pm

When you say it shows all 0s, is that the MAC address field in both rokus?
"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:19 am

First I would reboot everything -- unplug every thing then start with the D-link -- once it is up and running plug up a roku and check it if it works go to the next.If this does nothing I would pick a roku and connect wireless if it connects try switching back to ethernet if all this fails I would factory reset one and see if that does it
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:59 am

Thanks for response. The zeros are below the two mac addresses. The wireless signal is all but non existent as in the spare room 40ft away. I tried all the shut offs and reboots multiple times. The roku just isn't seen in the network that is in windows. Thank you.
 
mc510
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:30 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:48 am

Are you sure that you've got a decent wifi signal where your Roku is?

Try fiddling with the wireless security settings on your router ... if your router is set to allow multiple security settings (like allowing WPA1/WPA2, TKIP/AES) try picking just one, and try changing it around ... do WPA2, WPA1, no security, etc. In my case, this allowed me to connect, and then I switched security again back to what I wanted (WPA2/AES) and it was good.
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:51 am

I'm trying to get the wired ether net connection to work. Don't have a wireless signal that reaches it.
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:07 am

did you try the reset HisKid?
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:14 am

Reset, unplugged everything. Roku didn't offer much help. Appears to be that it's an issue with the d-link router. As soon as I plug our two computers into they network the connect right away. Plugging the Roku K does nothing. The two laptops appear on the router page right away, no response with the Roku. Verizon wants $40 for their premium tech help to fix it.
 
User avatar
dgrace
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Montana

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:46 am

By reset he means to do the factory reset, which puts the roku back to defaults, removing all changes made over it's life. Is that what you did?
Odd that it would be your new router. It is set to hand out IP automatically by default (as per user guide), and you say it does so for laptops. Are they connecting wifi or ethernet cable? I see in your user guide that the ethernet ports can be disabled, is why I'm asking.
If you haven't done the complete reset, do that before trying anything else.
"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:23 pm

I did the complete reset a few times. It is brand new so it didn't have anything set. I used the secret screens, disabled/enabled pings. I moved the ethernet cables around the router and switch. Wifi dosen't reach the roku when it is enabled. The laptops connect fine. Forums mentioned about a software issue on the newest roku's. My next solution is to try an older Actiontec router Verizon gave me years ago.

Thanks all.
 
User avatar
dgrace
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Montana

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:56 pm

The laptops connect fine, by wifi or ethernet cable? If by wifi then it may be that the problem is with the ethernet ports, and whether then are enabled in the router. Is there any device connecting by ethernet cable successfully?
"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ
 
HisKid1973
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:04 pm

Both laptops connect to the ethernet. Wifi unavailable in the room the laptops and roku are.
 
User avatar
dgrace
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Montana

Re: Roku Ethernet Problem

Thu Mar 31, 2016 7:15 am

Maybe some info for you in this old thread.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=27267&hilit=Zeros
A few seemed to get the all zero MAC adress resolved while many decided it was hardware issue, either roku or router.
"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests