Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
bk+bishop
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:26 am

mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:26 am

Not to be narcissistic but after multiple failed attempts of trying to cast/mirror my device to my Roku via WiFi with help from the staff at Roku, i was able to fix this problem on my own.  My first attempt of casting my device to Roku was a success, after that I could not.  From my experience I noticed that ever time I linked my Android tablet to my Roku, my tablet stored the Roku connection information in an area called Remembered Groups.  You need to clear this ever time you want to link your device after a disconnection.  Go into your Settings/WLAN/Advanced (find this by looking for the 3 dots top right of screen, Lollipop version)/WLAN Direct and under Remembered groups you'll see your history of connections, in other words you'll find your Roku device that was previously connected. Prompt that, and it will ask you do you want to forget this group, click ok.  Go back into your casting/mirroring screen in your settings and try to connect.  This worked for me.  I believe the problem lye with the stored information conflicting with my WiFi connection.  I'm sure I could go into my router settings to fix this but to lazy. Let me know if this helps anyone.
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:34 am

Would not have anything to do with your router as Miracasting uses Wi-Fi direct. Connects directly from your Phone's Wi-Fi to your Roku's Wi-Fi. Does not utilize your LAN. Could be an Android bug. I have no issues with Windows 10.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
mikebdoss
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4967
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:52 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:47 am

You don't need to post this to a bunch of old threads in addition to posting it here in a new one. 
 
bk+bishop
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:26 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:52 am

Ok understood.  But I've been through the ringer with Roku to no avail.  I'm just posting what worked on my device.  The stored information from previous connects will not allow me to reconnect.  Like I said it's probably an issue where I need to go into my router settings and add the IP address.  
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:12 am

bk+bishop wrote:
 Like I said it's probably an issue where I need to go into my router settings and add the IP address.  

Can't be anything to you with your Router. Screen mirroring is a direct connection. Know how you see Roku has a Wireless Access Point SSID? Yeah, this is what it's for.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
bk+bishop
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:26 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:17 am

So does this sound like a bug.  The fact I would have to go into my advance settings and erase remembered groups every time i want to connect??
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:50 am

bk+bishop wrote:
So does this sound like a bug.  The fact I would have to go into my advance settings and erase remembered groups every time i want to connect??

Likely Android level bug. I never have issues with Windows devices. My Android device doesn't have the capability, so I can't test it (and I have Android N). 
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
mc510
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:30 pm

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 2:12 pm

trekkeriii wrote:
I have no issues with Windows 10.

Do you mean that you're able to cast from Windows 10 to your Roku, using either the right-click context menu or the "cast to device" option in the Edge broswer?  Doesn't work for me and I haven't even been sure if it's supposed to work with Roku!
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:32 pm

mc510 wrote:
trekkeriii wrote:
I have no issues with Windows 10.

Do you mean that you're able to cast from Windows 10 to your Roku, using either the right-click context menu or the "cast to device" option in the Edge broswer?  Doesn't work for me and I haven't even been sure if it's supposed to work with Roku!

I just go to the Action Center, click "Connect", I see my Rokus (I have three that will work), pick the one I want to cast to, PC sees Roku as a second monitor. I've been Successful with two devices so far. Alienware laptop and an Asus tablet. Just connected it as I was typing this. I have the 1607 update for Win10 as well.

BTW, don't try using PS4 remote play, lol. It works, but the delay... But in a way, I can use Win10 PS4 Remote Play to cast to Roku.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
bvd1022
Posts: 1124
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 9:52 am

Re: mirror/cast issue

Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:34 am

I never thought I would say this, but since getting a mobile (Longtime holdout from the 80's.) I have enjoyed the ability to cast video from my phone to my Roku, particularly sports content from apps/services who don't have dedicated apps/channels for Roku, but they enable the ability to cast to Roku. It's made it easier for me to cover things as a writer for those apps/websites that don't offer dedicated apps. Took me a while to figure it out, but once I figured it out, it's not so bad.  Even though I would prefer these apps/services to have dedicated apps on Roku and other devices, being able to cast content is the happy medium for me for now.
 
jrtinz
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:28 pm

Re: mirror/cast issue

Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:58 am

I simply never get past "Starting video from..." on any device - Android anyway.  

I don't have a Windows device to try - I am a Linux/Unix guy.  I don't feel sorry for you using Windoze (hehehe - good natured jab, I assure you).  I've not tried to mirror my PC,  but have several Android devices new and old that see my Roku, the Roku sees them, but again, I never get past 
"Starting video from..." and a connection bar that goes about 1/3 of the screen, stops, and Roku returns to the Screen Mirroring menu.

I really have no use to cast my phone to a TV, but it does bug me when something doesn't work as expected.  I'd just like to know if it's me doing something wrong, Roku is doing something wrong, or sunspots.

G'day all... Thanks in advance if you take the time to respond.

-jrt
 
pabloandnene
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: mirror/cast issue

Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:48 pm

I have a Lenovo Tablet 4 8 running Android 8.1.0 and when I select Settings>Connected Devices>Cast, I see only 2 of my Roku devices (both 3600x streaming sticks), but not my new 3810x streaming stick+. Various apps see all of them when casting directly to them (although I didn't fully test, YouTube and the Roku app work). I just can't use the mirror function from my tablet to the stick+. I tried rebooting both devices and they are up to date. Any suggestions?
2 Roku Streaming Sticks (3600x)
1 Roku Streaming Stick+ (3810x)
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: mirror/cast issue

Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:27 pm

pabloandnene wrote:
I have a Lenovo Tablet 4 8 running Android 8.1.0 and when I select Settings>Connected Devices>Cast, I see only 2 of my Roku devices (both 3600x streaming sticks), but not my new 3810x streaming stick+. Various apps see all of them when casting directly to them (although I didn't fully test, YouTube and the Roku app work). I just can't use the mirror function from my tablet to the stick+. I tried rebooting both devices and they are up to date. Any suggestions?


Did you verify the setting is enabled on your Stick+?
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
pabloandnene
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: mirror/cast issue

Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:59 pm

jeffrok wrote:
Did you verify the setting is enabled on your Stick+?
thanks for the reply!

Yes, even disabled, re-enabled, set always allow, didn't see it on my tablet at all in the cast settings.
2 Roku Streaming Sticks (3600x)
1 Roku Streaming Stick+ (3810x)
 
pabloandnene
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: mirror/cast issue

Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:50 am

Now it's showing up after resetting my wifi router (Google WiFi 3 puck mesh). Weird.
2 Roku Streaming Sticks (3600x)
1 Roku Streaming Stick+ (3810x)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests