Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
therealdjryan
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:44 am

Roku Channel Store Unavailable 11/2016

Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:54 am

Hi,

Since Friday my Roku has been unable to connect to the channel store. the exact error is "The Roku Channel Store service is currently unavailable. Please try again later". Several people in the "Roku Outage" thread in the Announcements section of the forum have also reported issues but I have not seen a reply or announcement from Roku itself.

I get this error on both my wired and wireless networks. I do not have issues watching channels (youtube, amazon, netflix)

Roku Model: 4200X - Roku 3
Version: 7.5.0, build 4092-04
 
MacysBruce
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:33 am
Location: West Hartford, CT

Re: Roku Channel Store Unavailable 11/2016

Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:47 pm

I'm not the only one. I'm seeing this on all three of my devices.
I will bring home anyone or anything I choose...including a one eyed Episcopalian kangaroo, if that happens to be my kinky inclination!
 
pmaclean
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:49 am

Re: Roku Channel Store Unavailable 11/2016

Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:58 am

I'm having this problem also. However, I have two units, both Roku 3 4200X , both are running the same software (version 7.5.0, build 4099-04), but one unit can access the Channel Store, while the other unit cannot.

So, it appears it's not a Channel Store specific problem, or a "Roku outage" issue. Any guidance would be appreciated!  This is really annoying...
 
pmaclean
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:49 am

Re: Roku Channel Store Unavailable 11/2016

Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:32 pm

Still having this issue. No replies after a long time. Any guidance would be appreciated! Is there a way to factory reset a Roku? Maybe this would resolve this issue...?
 
User avatar
Basil
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Savannah, GA
Contact:

Re: Roku Channel Store Unavailable 11/2016

Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:21 pm

pmaclean wrote:
Still having this issue. No replies after a long time.  Any guidance would be appreciated!  Is there a way to factory reset a Roku?  Maybe this would resolve this issue...?

I haven't had version 7.x for some time, so I'm not sure if this is the same, but you should be able to find the factory reset option in the menu system:
Settings > System > Advanced system settings > Factory reset

You may want to also remove the Roku from your account via the Web interface at https://my.roku.com/ Simply unlink. That will allow you to set the Roku up as new again.

Oh, just to be sure, are you in the U.S.? Are you using a VPN?
Basil
https://www.basilsblog.com/
Roku Ultra (4660)
Apple TV (5th gen), TiVo

Previous:
Roku boxes from every generation.
Apple TV (2nd, 3rd, 4th gen)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests