Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

mjburke
Topic Author

Newbie setup questions & wishlist

Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:50 am

Hello.

I’m a newbie, who has been reading about the Roku 1001 and now have enough info to be dangerous. Found this forum and was hoping someone might be willing to take a stab at my following setup questions:

I have computer with Windows XP Pro, which has my digital music files.

I (read? assume?) the Roku could be connected to the computer wirelessly and, therefore, be located in any area of the house so long as still in wireless range of the computer – but I understand that to use the Roku to play/listen to my digital files over my stereo speakers, the Roku would have to be connected to the stereo receiver which in turn is connected (by wires) to speakers. Do I have that right?

If so, and assuming my stereo receiver is in the living room, what if I wanted to be in the kitchen and listen to my digital music on (to be purchased) speakers in the kitchen using my Roku and Roku’s remote control. Could it be done? What type of stereo receiver and/or speakers would I need? Would I need more than one stereo receiver? i.e., stereo receiver in both living room and kitchen? More than one Roku 1001? Do wireless speakers exist that would work with the Roku 1001 such that I could carry the Roku 1001 to any room of the house that had wireless speakers - and it would work in that room?

Thoughts/comments welcome. Thank you.
mjburke
Linksys wrt54gx2 Soundbridge 1001 iTunes 6.0.2.23 Windows XP Pro w/sp2

mr rusty

Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:06 pm

Hi

yes, you are fairly close in your assumptions. The whole thing starts with your music library that can be on your PC/Mac in just about any format. Watch out for any DRM'd music though as this may not play.