Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
purplesteev
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:01 am

Thanks

Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:38 am

:lol:

Thanks Guys the beta works perfectly. If only I Tunes was so well supported.
 
jelockwood
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:45 am
Location: London,UK

iTunes 7.7 fix

Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:49 am

Many thanks Roku for the iTunes 7.7 fix.

I did however spend the entire afternoon trying to work out what I had screwed up before I realised it was probably down to Apple. :x

For your information I found that even when connecting via FireFly, my M2000 SoundBridges still showed the wrong track name (compared to what was actually playing). Fortunately the beta firmware has fixed it for access via both iTunes and Firefly.
 
hm
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 12:18 pm

Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:33 pm

Works fine. Btw, your development relationship with Apple seems to be a funny one because Soundbridge software breaks ever so often with new iTunes releases..? Or else Apple has a very bad 3rd party development support for the iTunes protocol.
 
waccradio
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:23 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Live365

Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:15 pm

After installing the beta I am unable to listen to live365 stations.

What can I do?
 
jarrodprice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:01 am

Sounbridge 3.0.52 Public Beta - Itunes 7.7

Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:03 am

I upgraded to the beta to fix the Itunes 7.7 issue, but now the internet radio shows no stations
 
waccradio
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:23 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:39 am

I can't even visit the radioroku page. I have been getting an error since Thursday 7/31/08. I am starting to wonder about this company. I am a new user who purchased 3 SoundBridges with the idea of buying 12 more and now I don't know.

I cannot load any Internet radio stations.

Where is this company based?
 
pumptronics
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:08 pm

Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:58 am

Many many thanks for the Beta...this is the second time I've absent-mindedly upgraded iTunes without checking compatability with Roku. I appear to have stopped learning!

Anyway is this the right place to report on the Beta? Nothing specific to report except on my M1000s I can now play m4a podcasts (they had embedded graphics in iTunes etc) which I couldn't before. Bravo!

CORRECTED: Actually one M1000 plays the AAC (m4a) files after a few seconds delay. The other M1000 will not play the AAC tracks at all. I get "Preparing to play" then "Unable to play". Signal strength is ok (nearer if anything). Track details: (e.g.) AAC, 15.9MB, 48kbps, 44.1kHz, mono. Both units are running the latest 3.0.52 beta and connect to iTunes 7.7.0.43 wirelessly via a Netgear WGR614 v6 on b channel 13. So they should be identical...one plays after a few seconds and the other gives up!

Any ideas why this could be?
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:41 am

People might be interested to know this fixes an issue with Tonky Media server 4.4.4. With 4.4.4 the Roku M1001 was no longer able to see the media server. Since my Twonky is on a Lacie Ethernet Big disk I could not hack the config for Twonky so i tried this beta in desperation and it works.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:57 am

Hi tsparc, welcome to the forums -

Please will you advise which Firmware you were previously using - Thank-you.

Cheers, Alan
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:40 am

Hi Alan,

The Roku Firmware is the bete version discussed in this thread.

The Lacie is on v1.1.2.1 which you can get from:
http://www.lacie.com/uk/support/drivers ... m?id=10105

BUT the Twonky server in this update is still 4.4.2 I believe. I had lacie send me the update directly for Twonky 4.4.4.

I think they also sent me directly a patch to enable the Twonky server admin page (i.e. http://<your lacie ip>:9000 where you can manage the client security lists etc.

Previously my Roku was just on the latest released firmware (3.0.44?) it shipped with. It didn't pick up any updates until I registerd it when it picked up the beta.

The Lacie has been on the above firmware for several months. I upgraded to 4.4.4 to Fix PS3 streaming issues. I only got the Roku a couple of weeks ago so this is the first time I got it working with Twonky.

Hope this helps
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:09 am

Hi tsparc, many thanks for your response -

For your info, I have multiple M1001 devices which currently use either firmware 3.0.44 or 3.0.52 installed, and can confirm that historically I've never had any problems using Twonky with my QNAP NAS > M1001s with any of the following firmware: 3.0.44; Beta> 3.0.49; 3.0.51 & 3.0.52

Cheers, Alan
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:02 am

Hi Alan,
Good to know. More info on what I was experiencing on the twonky forum:
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=4939

I'm in the market for a 2nd NAS and I'm not sure if I'd get another Lacie. Woul like something more flexible.
 
fhall1
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:06 am

Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:57 am

is this firmware ever going to go out of beta and be an official release?
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:25 pm

@ fhall1

Do you have reservations about running this beta firmware, if so what are they?

Living here in the UK, I would suggest to you that 99.9% of UK listeners have installed this firmware on their SoundBridges in order to listen to the BBC radio stations 1 > 4.

Have you read adverse comments about it, for I've not seen any meaningful ones to date other than some people fail to read the comprehensive download instructions adequately, and thus fail to get it installed on their first attempt :wink:

Cheers, Alan
 
fhall1
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:06 am

Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:56 am

Not that I've heard bad reports.....I'm just lazy and don't want to go through the hassle of registering for the beta if Roku would get off their butts and send it out as a regular update when I trn on the M500

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest