Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
pookguy88
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:37 pm

n00b m1001 question

Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:40 pm

I just got a m1001 yesterday and I quite like it. This is a minor question but I'm wondering, is there an actual power switch? I wanted to turn it off because I was going to move it to another room but all I could get it to was stand by mode, is it safe to just unplug the power cord in stand by mode or is there something else I should do? I couldn't see a power switch.

thanks!
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:28 pm

Hi pookguy88, welcome to the forums -

As there is no on/off switch on the M1001, it must always be left in “standby-modeâ€
 
pookguy88
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:37 pm

Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:38 pm

So besides having to redo wifi/config setup is that the worse that can happen? Can there be any permanent damage?
 
fm.72
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:44 am
Location: Frankfurt / Main, Germany

Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:31 pm

I don't know as it's as unsafe as it sounds here. I hardly change any settings, but I always put my SB "to sleep" by cutting the power using an fm power switcher. Never had any issues so far - although I don't use wifi, my SB is connected via ethernet.

So, yes, there is no real power switch. To be on the safe side, set your SB to stand-by, wait a moment, and then pull the power.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:54 pm

@ fm.72 & pookguy88,

kindly note that the response I gave (above) is merely a paraphrased version of the official instructions which you can read for yourself on page 42 (Section 8 : When You Are Finished Using Soundbridge) of the M1001 USER GUIDE.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests