Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:58 pm

Guys and gals, I'm relatively new to this and I'm looking forward to getting my M1001 set up but I'm having an issue. When I first hooked it up it saw my network, I punched in my password for the network but it didn't connect. In fact, something happened to my WRT160N that kicked both my laptops off the network. I had to unplug my M1001 and reboot my modem and router to gain access again. I've read post after post but there are so many different issues that don't pertain to my problem and I'm getting lost in a jungle of posts.

Can someone tell me if the Linksys WRT160 works with the M1001 and if so, does it have to be unsecured or in WEP mode etc.? I can configure my router I just need to know what settings it needs to be on. It would be great if Roku had online chat support but it doesn't and digging through so many posts... it's like a needle in a haystack. Any help would truly be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time in responding,

timmer
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:45 am

I did a quick "adavanced Search" for "WRT160N and got this...
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24501
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:09 am

Thanks for responding to this and thanks for the link! Would the easiest fix be to install an old WRT54G as an access point and have the Roku connect to that. Would that cause my WRT160N any lag or interference? My wife works from home through telecons for business meetings a few days a week and that would be unacceptable.

Thanks again.

timmer
 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:16 am

Another question, how close can the new wireless access point be to the M1001 without causing problems?
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:45 pm

Yea, use the settings in the other post to hook up your old WRT54G as an access point only; which would then let the WRT60N do all the DHCP assigning...
All the WRT54G will do it jsut be a go between. Make sure you give it a different SSID then the WRT160N.
As far as too close, I don't know. Now if you don't have a WRT54G (wich I assume you do since you called it "an old WRT54G", then you might want to try an ethernet over power line adaptor then?

timmer wrote:
Thanks for responding to this and thanks for the link! Would the easiest fix be to install an old WRT54G as an access point and have the Roku connect to that. Would that cause my WRT160N any lag or interference? My wife works from home through telecons for business meetings a few days a week and that would be unacceptable.

Thanks again.

timmer
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:56 pm

Yeah, I used to have a WRT54G, upgraded to my WRT160N, and gave the other router to a family member to help them out. I doubt I will ever see it again which is fine so I'm looking on craigslist for another one. I see people on here talking about a list of routers that do or don't work with the SB. Can you point me in the direction of that list? Thanks again!
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:06 pm

timmer wrote:
Can you point me in the direction of that list? Thanks again!

Have a look here. As the page is quite old, however, it contains mostly legacy stuff.

An alternative might be a wireless bridge (aka gaming adapter) supporting 802.11n which would allow you to connect the M1001 to your WRT160N, for example the Linksys WET610N.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:16 pm

I cascaded a WRT54GS off of my WRT160N, set up sharing through WMP12, configured my M1001and I was listening to my music library through my stereo. Then, I went into Control Panel and under Media Streaming Options I changed the name of my music library. My Roku stopped playing and could no longer see my music library. I tried to change it back to what I thought it said before but it still doesn't see anything. Maybe I didn't change it back exactly and that matters? Everything as far as the sharing options still seam enabled and my Roku IS streaming radio so I don't believe it's a router issue. Any thoughts?

timmer
 
timmer
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: NC, USA

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:47 am

A Sysyem Restore corrected the problem.

Thanks again for the help getting hooked up, Roku's a great product.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:00 am

timmer wrote:
A System Restore corrected the problem.

Thanks again for the help getting hooked up, Roku's a great product.


Great news!
Glad your up and running!
Regards, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
illiac4
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:14 pm

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:21 pm

Hi!

Well i have had similar issues. I was using a lot of routers. On all of this i have had DD-WRT firmware. I have setup the hole router but immediately when the Soundbridge get the ip from DHCP the router stopped responding. After some time i have found solution and it works on all routers.
So if you have DD-WRT firmware on router then go to Wireless/Advanced Settings an disable 'Wireless Multimedia Support Settings'. Disabling this will bring everything back to stable life :)

Cheers
 
unclebens
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Soundbridge M1001 and Linksys WRT160N

Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:42 am

at first was hesitating about the device but now see that it worth buying))

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests