Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
kaos1972
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:09 pm

Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:14 pm

Here we go again. I have had three Roku Units die, two were fixed by Roku. The latest is my favorite because I can hook it up to my stereo. No Power, No Lights. Past experience tells me dead PSU. I sent Lyndon an email but he is out of office til next Monday. Anyone else that can tell me my options would be much appreciated. I noticed none of the Radios are available anymore, hopefully something can be done. This unit is definitely past the warranty but should last alot longer than it did. Please inform me of my options once again.
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:56 pm

You don't need to bother with Roku, just buy a good quality replacement external power supply unit with the following characteristics:
- 5 volts
- 2 amps minimum (higher is OK)
- regulated
- centre pin positive, 2.1mm diameter
- straight edge connector (the elbowed ones do not fit in the M1001 recess)

You may have a spare one from other equipment, just make sure it is the correct voltage etc.
R1000, M400, M1001
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:04 pm

Hi kaos1972,

welcome to the forums.

Anyone else that can tell me my options would be much appreciated.

According to their website Roku don't have any power adapters for the M1001 in stock so you will have to buy one from a different store.

Phihong manufacture some PSUs which are very suitable for the M1001:

- model number PSAA15W-050R, available from Allied Electronics or Mouser Electronics
- model number PSC30U-050, available from Allied Electronics or Mouser Electronics
- model number PSA15R-050P-R, available from Allied Electronics or Mouser Electronics

I run my M1001s with two PSC30U-050 rated at 4 amps and the PSUs don't even get lukewarm.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
kaos1972
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:08 pm

Thanks for the info, that would be easier than sending the unit back again, even though Roku has honored my broken units flawlessly. Although now they no longer carry either radio units. I will look to Radio Shack for the info you described. Thank you again.
 
DerekHelps
Posts: 683
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:10 am
Location: AR

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:19 pm

Or you could try the Roku DVP Power adapter which should work on the Soundbridge m1001 device as well:
http://shop.roku.com/Webpage2.aspx?WebpageId=2
Netgear WNR2000v2
Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT Firmware acting as Client Bridge
Soundbridge M2000/M500/R1000
Roku 2 XS 3100
-------------------------------------------------
It's all in the <sup>details</sup>
 
kaos1972
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:54 pm

Has anyone else bought a new adapter and it worked? I am shooting in the wind here as I do not have any electrical devices or knowledge to test it. So I would be just buying it in hopes it fixes my problem. I appreciate everyones ideas, I have been on this forum before although I could not find my old username and signed up a new account today with a different email, I frequent this site often, usually to find out how to fix a problem, ha. Thanks again everyone for the advice. I think I will just order one posted earlier (non-roku) and hopes it fixes my problem.
 
kaos1972
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:35 am

Thanks Dupondt,

Took your advice ordered a PSU PSAA15W-050R from Allied Electronics. Amazingly, I ordered it yesterday, chose three day select from UPS it arrived today, although the headquarters are in Ft. Worth and I am in Houston was the reason but great turn around nonetheless. Crossed my fingers as I plugged it in and sure enough the M1001 powered up. Now I am not saying this will solve the problem for all, but for those that have dead M1001's this "MIGHT" solve your problem. Keep in mind Allied only sends the actual PSU, you will need to buy the AC cord that plugs into the wall, most would have these lying around, but of course when I need one I cannot find one nowhere in the house. I used the one off the Sound Bridge Radio to test it. I will head out to Radio Shack later to pick up a couple more, as I bought two power supply units from Allied just to have a backup. This fixes the problem for the M1001 but if I ever encounter problems with the Soundbridge Radio again I will be up a creek as it looks very hard to fix the power supply in those. Thanks again for all the good advice on these forums and thanks Dupondt for the links to PSU's.
 
kcwhite
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:45 am

Re: Dead M1001 Unit

Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:00 pm

I used the power supply from my DVP, as someone suggested, and to my amazement my M1001 booted right up. I have gone to the Roku website and ordered a second adapter since I now know it will work for my situation. Can't beat the price either, only $10 + S&H.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests