Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

M1001 will not connect with new Router

Thu Jun 30, 2011 7:31 am

My soundbridge was working fine until I got a new wireless router

Router
Type Centro grande
Color White
Serial number 09001X0162532
Router IP address 192.168.1.1
MAC address 64:87:D7:1E:42:41
Firmware version 5.0.0.31

It finds the WLAN but then cannot connect to internet radio or find my music library. Message says it is connected to wireless network and that it has a link local address. Have searched for hours and tried many different solutions but still not connecting. Have opened up my network to have no encryption but cannot telnet or access via web browser.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Last edited by rachael on Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
46jimbo
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:21 am

I checked on the web, and the info I could find says that it supports the 802.11n standard. Is it also compatible with the older b and g standard? The Soundbridge doesn't support the n standard.
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:29 am

Thanks for your quick response.
In my wireless connection properties it says it is connecting using USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor. I updated the router to this instead of Auto (n/g/b).
 
46jimbo
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:45 am

As an experiment, try setting it to g only.
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 am

I have 3 options
Auto (n/g/b)
802.11n
802.11gb

it's currently set to 802.11gb
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:52 am

Please can you help explain how I set a static ip address.
Router ip addres is 192.168.1.1
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
WLAN ip address is 192.168.1.34
DHCP is enabled, range starts at 192.168.1.33 to 192.168.1.63
UPnP enabled

Roku ip address is 169.254.224.87

I tried updating the IPv4 properties to use the ip address 169.254.1.1 but I then lose internet and local network connection so cannot telnet to the Roku to set a static ip address.
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Pirelli Router

Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:50 am

Thanks for the suggestion, changing the soundbridge back to DHCP may work. Sorry, have searched the forum but cannot find how to do that. Please could someone explain how I change it to use DHCP. Thanks
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new router

Sat Jul 09, 2011 12:51 pm

I now have the roku connected to my router via ethernet, this is the network information

Connected via: Ethernet
Wired MAC address: 00:0d:4b:22:05:53
WiFi MAC address: 00:0d:4b:23:05:53
IP Address: 192.168.1.13
Address Source: DHCP
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS 1: 192.168.1.1
DNS 2: 0.0.0.0

Internet Access
Internet connection OK
DSL line mode G.DMT
DSL connection type PPPoE
DNS Server 195.186.4.162
195.186.1.162
IP address in the Internet 81.62.37.227

Router
Type Centro grande
Color White
Serial number 09001X0162532
Router IP address 192.168.1.1
MAC address 64:87:D7:1E:42:41
Firmware version 5.0.0.31

WLAN
Status On
WLAN 1 On
Wireless network name (SSID) «xxxWLAN»
SSID broadcasted Yes
Encryption Non-802.1X WEP

I have opened up every port I think might help...
«Roku» 192.168.1.13 00:0d:4b:22:05:53
Ports: 3689 Service: iTunes
Ports: 53,53,53 Service: DNS
Ports: 80 Service: HTTP
Ports: 21 Service: FTP
Ports: 443 Service: HTTPS
Ports: 1723,0 Service: PPTP
Ports: 6790-32000 Service: RealAudio
Ports: 161 Service: SNMP
Ports: 22 Service: SSH

The roku still cannot find my music library. Can anyone see something that might be causing me a problem?

Any suggestions on how to fix this would be much appreciated before I throw the machine out my window in frustration!

Thanks
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:58 am

It looks like you now have a good IP address. Can you confirm that you can now connect to internet radio stations.

Which media server are you using for your library, e.g. iTunes,Windows Media Player (WMP)?
R1000, M400, M1001
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Sun Jul 10, 2011 12:05 pm

Yes, I now have a good ip address, although it is with an ethernet cable which is not ideal as I need it to use wireless in order to connect it to my amp, but we do now have internet.

I am not sure as I think it was using iTunes but it now looks like it is using windows media player.
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:59 pm

I am not sure as I think it was using iTunes but it now looks like it is using windows media player.


I take this to mean you now seeing the name of the media library on the M1001. If this is so what happens when you select the library.
R1000, M400, M1001
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:49 pm

No, unfortunately not. I cannot see the media library on the m1001 but I can see the soundbridge as a device on my network. When I right click on the soundbridge and select open media sharing it opens windows media player. How do I change it to iTunes? Although I'm m not sure this is my problem right now as the m1001 cannot seem to configure network settings let alone work out what my media service is.
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:48 am

When I right click on the soundbridge and select open media sharing it opens windows media player. How do I change it to iTunes?


This is a feature of Windows Explorer and has nothing to do with the Soundbridge or the media servers (Windows, not surprisingly, would like you to use WMP).

Here are the facts that you are reporting:
- Your old router worked using wifi with your M1001 and iTunes;
- You have replaced only the router and not changed any of your media servers or Windows configuration (if this assumption is incorrect, please let us know the details of the changes);
- The M1001 cannot connect wirelessly to the new router.
- You are now connected wired (ethernet) to the new router, but neither iTunes or WMP are available on the M1001.

You need to aware that the M1001 has a different MAC id for each of its wired and wireless connectors. So your media server is no longer aware of the M1001 device using its wired MAC id. I'm not an iTunes user, but I do know that WMP requires you to explicitly allow connection to a particular device. As your M1001 will now be reporting a new MAC id, you would need to re-allow the M1001 to connect to WMP, and perhaps the same for iTunes.

I suggest that you should re-establish a wireless connection from the M1001 to the router, and if nothing else has changed, this should get the M1001 back to a working relationship with your media server.

Do you have any other devices now working wirelessly with your new router, e.g. your computer? This will tell us if your router is successfully running a wifi access point.

Can you also tell us whether your router wireless settings have security enabled, and if so, what type of security (which will be either WEP or WPA).
R1000, M400, M1001
 
rachael
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:55 am

Thanks for such a detailed response.

Your list of facts are all correct, except that this morning I booted up my old laptop on the same network and the Roku connected to its media server. So I had it working using an ethernet cable to the router connected to an old laptop that I do not store music on.

I have disconnected it from the router and am back to square one, it says it's on my wireless network and the ip address is now 169.254.224.87, I cannot ping it from my pc.

I'm thinking that bregent was right and I may have previously set the SoundBridge for a static IP (when connecting wirelessly), one that is not in the correct range for my new router? If so, he says I can just change the Soundbridge back to DHCP. Please could someone explain how I do that.

Cheers.
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: M1001 will not connect with new Router

Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:00 pm

I think you would be seeing your static IP address on the Soundbridge if you had assigned one, rather than a link local address. You can remove static settings by selecting the Reset to Factory Defaults option on the Configuration menu, but be aware that you will lose all of your Presets on the M1001.

You did not say if your computer was connected wired or wireless to the router. That would be useful information.
Some settings you should check on the router:
- WLAN is enabled
- SSID broadcast is enabled: the M1001 won't see your router automatically without this
- Set to b, g and n mode (b is important, it is the only one that the M1001 can use)
- UPnP option is enabled (needed for WMP)
- Security: you should try disabled first, just to see if the M1001 will connect. This can be changed later.
R1000, M400, M1001

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests