Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
BestDeveloper
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:31 pm

Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Tue May 15, 2018 11:44 am

Is it possible to create overlay apps? Like an independent app that can overlay another app. I see this being useful for like reminders, ads, ecommerce etc, so people can interact with that app directly when watching content.
 
destruk
Posts: 2584
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Tue May 15, 2018 5:28 pm

No...
 
BestDeveloper
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Wed May 16, 2018 6:44 am

Are you sure?
 
destruk
Posts: 2584
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Wed May 16, 2018 7:23 am

One roku can run one app.  So to run two apps you either need to use two rokus, or you need to get the channel code of what you want to overlay and merge it into your existing main app to display on top of it's regular screens.  So yes.  I am sure.  Nobody has NetFlix with a Twitter app running on top of it.
I suppose another option would be to use two rokus and try to use Picture-in-picture on your TV to display HDMI port2 in the corner while HDMI1 is using the rest of the screen?  But that's not your question - your question was can you run two apps at the same time on the same single Roku, and no, you can't.
 
BestDeveloper
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Wed May 16, 2018 7:35 am

Ok I see. 

"you need to get the channel code of what you want to overlay and merge it into your existing main app to display on top of it's regular screens"


If I write a standalone overlay app is there an easy way to merge this overlay app with another "main" app (like call it within that app)? For example users will install the overlay app, then other apps that integrates the overlay app (not sure how) will have the option of opening the overlay.
 
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Wed May 16, 2018 11:40 am

Short answer, no, sorry. Basically you would have to work directly with other channel authors and convince them to update their channels with a bunch of new code, and each case would be unique and a lot of work and testing and no one is going to do that. But you're free to try.
 
acreskey
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:06 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Thu May 17, 2018 3:55 am

You can create a sceensaver application.
 
BestDeveloper
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Thu May 17, 2018 12:16 pm

Komag wrote:
Short answer, no, sorry. Basically you would have to work directly with other channel authors and convince them to update their channels with a bunch of new code, and each case would be unique and a lot of work and testing and no one is going to do that. But you're free to try.

acreskey wrote:
You can create a sceensaver application.

A screensaver would stop working when the user interacts with it though.
But if a screensaver works can we assume that Roku probably has the ability to run two apps at the same time?
 
User avatar
squirreltown
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:20 pm

Re: Possible to create "overlay" apps?

Thu May 17, 2018 2:19 pm

BestDeveloper wrote:
But if a screensaver works can we assume that Roku probably has the ability to run two apps at the same time?

No. Again. 
Kinetics Screensavers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ClassicMovieVault, edwardaux and 3 guests