Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
joetesta
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:25 am

Hi Brian - any updates?  I had to go back to other applications due to inability to copy text from debugger and inability to view debugger after reboot :(
If you need a laptop to get there I'd be glad to lend you one :)
aspiring
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:37 am

I just posted 1.4.1.  Try it out and let me know how it goes.
 
joetesta
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:10 am

brianstegman wrote:
I just posted 1.4.1.  Try it out and let me know how it goes.

Thanks Brian!
Here's what I see on Windows 10 w 1.4.1:
Keyboard remote commands working again, yay!
highlight -> right click : Does nothing
Edit -> copy : Does not work
ctrl + C : works (copies highlighted text) and does not break the running sideloaded app, yay!

After device reboot due to some SG problem in our app, can no longer scroll up in the debugger nor copy visible output (Connection Problem! message overlays window)

Debugger wish List:
* If device reboots, debugger output could still be scrolled back and copied from.
* Ability to pause/ restart debugger from displaying further output, to allow analysis and text copying of a specific section while the app continues running and spewing output.
* Ability to throw a visual break (horizontal bar) at the current point (or any point?) in the debugger.

Nice work :)
hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving
aspiring
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:22 am

I just released 1.5.0 and you can get it at http://www.stegmancompany.com/#RokuDashboard
  • Added ability to open projects in file explorer
  • Added build setting to clear console or show visual marker on build/deploy
  • Added right click copy
  • Added ability to enable/disable auto scroll in debug console
  • Added ability to access console when a connection is lost
  • Added ability to manually add a maker in the debug console
  • Profiling, One click enable/disable
  • Profiling, Easy download of profiling file from your Roku
  • Profiling, Link to docs
  • Profiling, Link to Roku analysis tool
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:02 am

I just released 1.6.0 and you can get it at http://www.stegmancompany.com/#RokuDashboard
  • Added ability to validate a project (checks for things like stop commands, deprecated or missing manifest attributes etc)
  • Added build setting to remove comments

I've started working on a testing screen that will include both continuous integration and what I'm calling a test runner.

hope everyone is enjoying the app and feel free to leave feedback on this thread!
 
rymawby
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:19 pm

Hi Brian,

I've just got around to testing the app out and I just wanted to say awesome work, thanks!
---
Blogging Roku stuff at http://rymawby.com
---
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:27 pm

Thank you!  I appreciate the feedback.
 
joetesta
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:47 am

OK not to be nitpicky, because, yes this app is awesome and I keep it open all the time!

* in the debugger when press up to get to the last command, would be convenient to have the cursor at the end instead of beginning;
* after entering command in debugger, would be convenient to see the entered command on screen preceding the output, so that after several commands have been entered, can easily scroll back and see what command triggered what output;
* the output of the "mark" tool could probably be simplified to just the space and bar without the ## Mark stuff.. or maybe a way to customize what the mark outputs? (trivial stuff really, I love the "mark" tool!);
* the daily nag to download the new version is annoying!  As I have this installed on 3 or 4 PCs now, they're not all updated.  But I guess annoying is the intention of the "nag" feature...
aspiring
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:03 am

I love all feedback so thank you!  I will add these to the list.  The auto updating is something I've had on my list for a while now.  I just need to sit down and figure it out and truthfully I didn't have enough users before to warrant worrying about it.  However, the app is gaining users so I will bump this up on the list.  On the topic of users.  I've reached out to Roku several times about how to best get the word out and I haven't received a response from them at all with the exception of Joel.  So if you like what I'm doing feel free to help me get the word out :) :)

I have a lot of great things coming.  Thanks for all the feedback!
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Sun May 13, 2018 12:41 pm

I just released version 2.0.0 which includes the auto updating and the ability to send text to your device.  

You can download it at http://www.stegmancompany.com#RokuDashboard

Roku is making some ground with their tools (https://devtools.web.roku.com) so I'm not sure how much more I will continue to work on this app.

Enjoy!
 
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Mon May 14, 2018 3:53 am

Trying this out...I like the idea of stripping out comments, so I set that option and clicked "create zip", but I may be blind or something but I can't find the zip file - where does it go? (I also clicked Take Screenshot but couldn't find it either.)

Also found a bug, when validating (nice tool), it flagged two places where I had the word "stop" as part of a string in my game, part of a story text, not code. Not sure how to avoid that since there aren't quotation marks right around the word "stop", and I can just ignore those error flags, so it's no big deal.

Also, I couldn't figure out "Colorize" for the debug window.

Also, there seems to be no way to access port 8080 to do r2d2_bitmaps and fps_display. WAIT A MINUTE! I see that Debug SceneGraph is actually 8080! Okay, fine, I don't use SceneGraph, but I suppose most of the commands there are indeed for SceneGraph, so no problem after all.
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Mon May 14, 2018 4:20 am

Komag wrote:
Trying this out...I like the idea of stripping out comments, so I set that option and clicked "create zip", but I may be blind or something but I can't find the zip file - where does it go? (I also clicked Take Screenshot but couldn't find it either.)

Also found a bug, when validating (nice tool), it flagged two places where I had the word "stop" as part of a string in my game, part of a story text, not code. Not sure how to avoid that since there aren't quotation marks right around the word "stop", and I can just ignore those error flags, so it's no big deal.

Also, I couldn't figure out "Colorize" for the debug window.

Also, there seems to be no way to access port 8080 to do r2d2_bitmaps and fps_display. WAIT A MINUTE! I see that Debug SceneGraph is actually 8080! Okay, fine, I don't use SceneGraph, but I suppose most of the commands there are indeed for SceneGraph, so no problem after all.

Thanks for trying it out!
  1. Everything is stored in an out folder within the project.  When you select a project you will see a folder icon.  You can click this to open the folder.
  2. Remember when taking screenshots it has to be a side loaded channel.  These are also stored in the out folder
  3. Would you be willing to provide the line with the "stop" text?
  4. All you should need to do to colorize is enter the text.  It needs to be an exact match.
I have a quick question.  In the device section does the underline make it clear that you can rename your devices?

I love the feedback.  Thanks so much!
 
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Mon May 14, 2018 5:25 am

Here are the two (very long) stop lines:

"What no one other than the two of them knew until many years later was that Amaron had had another vision. He had patiently lived according to all the principles learned from the oracles of Elendia, but after a particularly trying week of exhaustion, he decided to supplicate his god and to not stop praying until she responded in some manner."
 "If a man were to walk the highway that day and pass by their home and garden, he might hear a far off wailing sound, a great beseeching prayer of dire need. He might stop to listen more intently, and wave to his fellows to join him in discerning this mystery, for what could lead a man to express such sorrow? The small group might make some guesses, listen a bit longer, but then continue on their way. And thus it was all that day, women and men stopped at times to hear the lamentations of this man. Most passersby did not know him, for the travelers were many and local inhabitants few. But some knew that it was Amaron, though they had no better guesses as to the cause of his poignant yearnings, and none could make out his exact words."

There is no "out" folder in the project, none is being created or filled with anything. Do I have to set one up myself? I just tried making an "out" folder, and "Create Zip" again, nothing showed up there.
The underline - no, I didn't know that meant I could rename it, just tried clicking on it to change to another device and the rename window popped up! Then I realize I of course need to go back to the top and click "Select Roku".
 
brianstegman
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Mon May 14, 2018 5:37 am

Komag wrote:
Here are the two (very long) stop lines:

"What no one other than the two of them knew until many years later was that Amaron had had another vision. He had patiently lived according to all the principles learned from the oracles of Elendia, but after a particularly trying week of exhaustion, he decided to supplicate his god and to not stop praying until she responded in some manner."
 "If a man were to walk the highway that day and pass by their home and garden, he might hear a far off wailing sound, a great beseeching prayer of dire need. He might stop to listen more intently, and wave to his fellows to join him in discerning this mystery, for what could lead a man to express such sorrow? The small group might make some guesses, listen a bit longer, but then continue on their way. And thus it was all that day, women and men stopped at times to hear the lamentations of this man. Most passersby did not know him, for the travelers were many and local inhabitants few. But some knew that it was Amaron, though they had no better guesses as to the cause of his poignant yearnings, and none could make out his exact words."

There is no "out" folder in the project, none is being created or filled with anything. Do I have to set one up myself? I just tried making an "out" folder, and "Create Zip" again, nothing showed up there.
The underline - no, I didn't know that meant I could rename it, just tried clicking on it to change to another device and the rename window popped up! Then I realize I of course need to go back to the top and click "Select Roku".

Thanks for the text.  I will look into it.  The out folder should be getting automatically created.  Are you on windows or mac?  Maybe a permissions issue?  When you click the folder icon does it open the project path?
Thanks again for the feedback!
 
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Free app for Roku dev's

Mon May 14, 2018 5:57 am

Windows. When I installed it gave an installation warning about trusted installer file or something like that, I manually selected install anyway. The project path folder opens correctly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests