Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Astfgl
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:56 am

Unit testing on Roku?

Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:12 am

Hi, we got bored from tedious unit testing on Roku, particularly on large projects. That is why we developed this tool MAMUT ( mamuttool.com ).

What do you think of it? Do you have experience with any other unit testing system for Roku?
 
tim_beynart
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:30 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:14 am

This looks cool. I'm not thrilled about running a node.js server, but I guess that's par for the course these days. We've been kicking around the idea of writing a test framework here, so I'd love to try this out and see if it meets our needs.
 
Astfgl
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:56 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:38 am

Hi Tim, thanks! Most important for us is to know what do you think of it. Now we are working on a new version which is going to include global server.
 
brianstegman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:53 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:33 am

Roku has a testing frameworking here that I'm thinking about building into my tool http://www.stegmancompany.com/#RokuDashboard
 
tim_beynart
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:30 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:49 am

has anyone actually used the roku framework? Curious about it.
 
Veeta
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 4:44 am
Location: http://www.veeta.tv
Contact:

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:06 pm

tim_beynart wrote:
has anyone actually used the roku framework? Curious about it.

Yes.  It works fairly well.  Comparable in features to the older brstest but a little better set up to manage test suites for related tests.  Also supports SG component testing though I haven't used it for that.
 
Astfgl
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:56 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:37 am

Had any one tried some testing system which supports continuous integration? We are considering it in Mamut right now.
 
tim_beynart
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:30 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:05 am

How would you do automation with Roku? There's no virtualization for Roku OS, so you have to test on a physical device. We use precommit hooks to run tests on the developer's machine before they commit to git, but that is not ideal. 
 
Astfgl
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:56 am

Re: Unit testing on Roku?

Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:05 am

tim_beynart wrote:
How would you do automation with Roku? There's no virtualization for Roku OS, so you have to test on a physical device. We use precommit hooks to run tests on the developer's machine before they commit to git, but that is not ideal. 

Roku devices are always necessary, but the server allows to distribute packages with tests, run it and collect the results from those devices. Tim, you are probably not using Unit tests in this way right?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests