Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
coldrain
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:52 pm

Video Ads not using RAF

Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:59 pm

Do anyone know how to enable video ads from any provider other than Roku? I have tried to enable RAF for my channels and my channel can display Roku ads but it takes forever to display live ads; my channel only can display a test ads which is about Roku products (such as Roku Express or Roku Ultra, etc). I tried to contact partnersuccess@roku.com multiple times over the last 3 months but the problem cannot be solved (any every question need to wait for 2 to 3 weeks to get answered) so I give up and want another way to enable ads.
 
necrotek
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:05 pm

I am considering looking into this as well.  My last 2 published channels have not been put on live ad servers and I have been writing Roku for months about this with no resolution. One channel keeps showing Roku Co. ads and the other keeps showing match.com ads. and neither are generating ad impressions.  I have 4 other channels  that are working fine with advertising revenue and I am not doing anything different.  Has anyone else encountered this and have a solution? Roku says that they are not seeing ad requests come through on their end for the channels in question. The ads that are played must be coming from somewhere and it should be possible to track that it is coming from a published channel with a developer ID. 
 
User avatar
RokuNB
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:47 pm

Neither of this should be happening. Can you please send me your support ticket numbers?
 
coldrain
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:18 pm

The request number in my conversation with Roku Partner Success is #8631
 
Ectave
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 3:35 am

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Thu May 17, 2018 4:08 am

Hey, so is there any way to integrate ads without RAF?
 
barons-com
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:25 pm

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Tue May 22, 2018 12:56 pm

Not only can you have ROKU provide ads but you can certainly use other 3rd party advertisers like BaronsMedia. If you have any question or concerns please contact me directly at jim@baronsmedia.com or at 818-290-7978. I'll help you place additional ads on your channel. 

Thank you,

Jim Larkin
 
User avatar
RokuNB
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: Video Ads not using RAF

Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:27 pm

Ectave wrote:
Hey, so is there any way to integrate ads without RAF?

The use of RAF is required, use of RAN is not. Check the different ways we publish AVOD channels.

There may be some confusion about which is what:
RAF (Roku Ads Framework) is a BrightScript library that helps with proper fetching, parsing, displaying of ads and ad measurements. It can use different ad "feeds", not only the default (Roku's own) - see raf.setAdURL().

RAN (Roku Ads Network) is ran by the Roku's ads department, manages different ads campaigns/supply/demand/etc. Its server is pre-configured as default in RAF, that helps with onboarding - but some channels use different ads servers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests