Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
casolorz
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:32 am

Arabic subtitle just shows squares on TV

Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:48 am

I'm using an Arabic VTT UTF-8 subtitle file and on the tv I just see square characters. I tried the same subtitle in UTF-8 and had the same issue. I also tried a few other encodings on SRT like windows-1256 and it still had issues, didn't show squares but showed the wrong characters. On Chromecast the same VTT worked fine. 

Is there something I need to do on Roku to tell how to display that subtitle? I don't think I can attach the subtitle file here, can I?

Thanks. 
 
User avatar
speechles
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:15 pm

Re: Arabic subtitle just shows squares on TV

Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:07 am

Roku doesn't support anything but Latin character sets. They do support loading your own fonts and rendering subtitles with those but that is very involved writing your own mechanism to send/receive and parse/dispaly those. The internal Roku subtitle function only supports Latin character sets. Roku has no plans on ever changing that now or in the future.
 
casolorz
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:32 am

Re: Arabic subtitle just shows squares on TV

Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:42 am

Thank you for the help. Is there by any chance a way to know when a font is not present? Thanks. 
 
User avatar
speechles
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:15 pm

Re: Arabic subtitle just shows squares on TV

Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:13 am

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_Latin_character_sets_(computing)

Roku is limited to those character sets.

To work outside the box you have to use Google Noto. Also keep in mind Roku wants to go left->right. You want right->left so you will need to reverse your string to render correctly in Arabic. Roku is not the device for Arabic users. It is painful and complex to code for.
 
casolorz
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:32 am

Re: Arabic subtitle just shows squares on TV

Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:16 am

Oh you are right, hadn't even thought about it. But might still be worth implementing, there are probably other non RTL languages that the characters are missing for. Thanks for all the help. 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests