Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
User avatar
SolveLLC
Topic Author
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:38 pm

RAF errors. Not displaying ads as of midnight 8/8/2019

Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:27 am

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 14.0px Menlo; color: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 14.0px Menlo; color: #000000; min-height: 16.0px} span.s1 {font-variant-ligatures: no-common-ligatures}
[RAF] Roku_Ads Framework version 2.0922

[RAF.err] roUrlTransfer.setURL("<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<VAST xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="vast.xsd" version="3.0"/>
") rejected argument - invalid chars? (allowed #:?;@&=+$,/-._!~*'()%[])

[RAF.err] getStringFromUrl("<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"UTF-8\"?>\n<VAST xmlns:xsi=\"http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance\" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation=\"vast.xsd\" version=\"3.0\"/>\n"): No URL set!

[RAF.err] getAds(); response error: No URL set!
 
User avatar
SolveLLC
Topic Author
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:38 pm

Re: RAF errors. Not displaying ads as of midnight 8/8/2019

Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:52 am

As of yesterday it appears that RAF was updated to not allow {} to be used in the vast URL. Springserve’s macros require these characters.
 
cocotower
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:26 pm

Re: RAF errors. Not displaying ads as of midnight 8/8/2019

Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:05 pm

Roku needs a completely new programming team.
 
User avatar
RokuNB
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: RAF errors. Not displaying ads as of midnight 8/8/2019

Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:36 am

SolveLLC, example posted indicates that you've tried to do raf.setAdUrl() with xml data instead of URL string. That never worked and couldn't possibly work.

what is new is that better diagnostics were added in recent versions of RAF
(see https://developer.roku.com/docs/develop ... e-notes.md for details)
roURLTranfer does not accept the following chars unecoded in URL: space and "<>\^`{|}
now RAF prints error messages when detecting failure to set url for roURLTransfer (which it uses under the hood)

regarding curly brackets needed by an ad server - if you url-encode them, it will work. i.e. instead of {someMacro} use %7BsomeMacro%7D - that will fire fine from Roku hardware and ad server will understand it just the same

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests