Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
greubel
Topic Author
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:21 pm

local network address

Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:13 pm

Is there anyway to get the local network address without having the user type it in ? Maybe in the new SDK ?
 
DeftOne
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: local network address

Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:35 pm

Are you talking about the local network address of the Roku, or some other device connected to the network (PC, NAS, etc.)?
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Netgear WNDR3400 (all Rokus wireless)
25 Mbps
 
greubel
Topic Author
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: local network address

Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:20 pm

Need the address of the connection between the Roku and a user's router. It's normally something like 192.168.0.1
 
DerekHelps
Posts: 683
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:10 am
Location: AR

Re: local network address

Mon Jun 14, 2010 7:57 pm

If what you are wanting is a way to rename local IP Address and access their web interfaces by typing words into your browser you could try altering the hosts file to include a line like:

192.168.0.10 rokuplayer.dvp

path on Windows is:
c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

I very well may be misundertstanding the question, sorry if irrelevant.
Netgear WNR2000v2
Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT Firmware acting as Client Bridge
Soundbridge M2000/M500/R1000
Roku 2 XS 3100
-------------------------------------------------
It's all in the <sup>details</sup>
 
User avatar
RokuMarkn
Roku Engineering
Posts: 1581
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:20 am

Re: local network address

Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:48 am

Can you explain why you want the address of the router? I can't think of anything you could do with that address that all routers will respond to, except maybe an ICMP ping.

--Mark
 
greubel
Topic Author
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: local network address

Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:21 am

I need the base address of the local network to scan for a server running on a user's computer. I have a IP scanner set up to do this but the user has to know the local internet base address . The only way to find it out, is for the user to open the settings/device window on the Roku box. I'm trying to eliminate this scanning step for the user.
 
RokuPatrick

Re: local network address

Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:27 am

The info you need is not the router IP address but rather the local address and netmask. I don't think we have any sort of ifconfig type of utility at this time, though I've logged the request to add it to the SDK in a future release (no guarantees, though).

Patrick

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests