Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
scyber
Topic Author
Posts: 1326
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am

Can't get HLS to work

Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:53 pm

So I'm trying to build a channel for a transcoding server. server supports HLS and is outputting this content for the iphone/ipod/ipad, so I was hoping I could hook up the roku to it. I can browse the content fine. However, whenever I try and play the m3u8 file I get the following error:

play failed: The format is not supported or the media is corrupt.
Closing video screen

I'm not sure if the issue is with the m3u8 file or with the actually TS files.

This is the content of the m3u8 file (while its still transcoding):

#EXTM3U
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=2000000
2000000/main_2000000.m3u8


#EXTM3U
#EXT-X-MEDIA-SEQUENCE:0
#EXT-X-TARGETDURATION:5
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_0.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_1.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_2.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_3.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_4.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_5.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_6.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_7.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_8.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_9.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_10.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_11.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_12.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_13.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_14.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_15.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_16.ts
#EXTINF:5,
main_2000000_17.ts



Running mediainfo on the generated TS file produces this:

Format                           : MPEG-TS
File size                        : 1.25 MiB
Duration                         : 4s 933ms
Overal bit rate                  : 2118 Kbps

Video
ID                               : 256 (0x100)
Menu ID                          : 1 (0x1)
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : Baseline@L3.0
Format settings, CABAC           : No
Format settings, ReFrames        : 1 frame
Duration                         : 4s 933ms
Bit rate                         : 2000 Kbps
Nominal bit rate                 : 2000 Kbps
Width                            : 480 pixels
Height                           : 270 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 16/9
Frame rate                       : 29.970 fps
Colorimetry                      : 4:2:0
Scan type                        : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.515
Writing library                  : x264 core 88
Encoding settings                : cabac=0 / ref=1 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x1
:0x111 / me=dia / subme=4 / psy=1 / psy_rd=0.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=0 / me_range=16
 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=0 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 /
chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=1 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0
/ constrained_intra=0 / bframes=0 / wpredp=0 / keyint=30 / keyint_min=16 / scene
cut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=30 / rc=cbr / mbtree=1 / bitrate=2000 /
ratetol=0.1 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / vbv_maxrate=2000 / v
bv_bufsize=256 / ip_ratio=1.41 / aq=1:1.00

Audio
ID                               : 257 (0x101)
Menu ID                          : 1 (0x1)
Format                           : MPEG Audio
Format version                   : Version 1
Format profile                   : Layer 3
Bit rate mode                    : Constant
Bit rate                         : 128 Kbps
Channel(s)                       : 2 channels
Sampling rate                    : 44.1 KHz
Resolution                       : 16 bits
 
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Can't get HLS to work

Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:34 pm

One problem is that the Roku only supports aac audio in HLS. I've seen transcoders that claim to produce iPhone compatible streams that won't play on the Roku (actually, I couldn't get them to play properly on anything and I don't own an Apple anything to test on).

-JT
 
scyber
Topic Author
Posts: 1326
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am

Re: Can't get HLS to work

Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:38 am

Ahh...I guess the devil is in the details. i'll see if there are any settings I can manipulate to output aac audio. Thanks for the info.
 
User avatar
RokuMarkn
Roku Engineering
Posts: 1581
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:20 am

Re: Can't get HLS to work

Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:43 am

Yes, the audio must be AAC, not MP3. It must also be LC profile, not Main, and the ADTS headers must correctly indicate LC profile.

--Mark

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests