Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 11
 
bollywood
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed May 11, 2011 8:40 am

something good came out of contacting http://webcast.gov.in/,
they are considering the request and if the owner agrees, they will create channel for roku.



is there some sort of preformatted email that i can take and modify it and send it out to other channels that are already streaming live through their websites?
Hawk Cam
Live footage from the nest on top of Bobst Library at N.Y.U.
copy and paste the link in your browser or use keyword: hawkcam

https://owner.roku.com/add/hawkcam
 
bollywood
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun May 15, 2011 5:25 am

is it possible to include an xml file within the channel instead of pointing to the xml feeds on the server?

i've been trying to understand the videoplayer sample channel. can i create an xml file pointing to multiple feeds and have this main xml file included in the channel source so that the channel is not looking for a file on a server?


thanks
Hawk Cam
Live footage from the nest on top of Bobst Library at N.Y.U.
copy and paste the link in your browser or use keyword: hawkcam

https://owner.roku.com/add/hawkcam
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun May 15, 2011 1:10 pm

bollywood wrote:
is it possible to include an xml file within the channel instead of pointing to the xml feeds on the server?

i've been trying to understand the videoplayer sample channel. can i create an xml file pointing to multiple feeds and have this main xml file included in the channel source so that the channel is not looking for a file on a server?


thanks



Yes that is how the videoplayer example is set up. I haven't looked at it in a while but one of the files in the package is the xml file. The problem that you can encounter with that is that the only way you can update the contents displayed in the channel is by updating the xml that is within your channel package. That means publishing an update to the channel on Roku's servers
 
bollywood
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun May 15, 2011 4:17 pm

is there any other documentation besides what's in the sdk?

i wonder how chris finds it so easy to do.
Hawk Cam
Live footage from the nest on top of Bobst Library at N.Y.U.
copy and paste the link in your browser or use keyword: hawkcam

https://owner.roku.com/add/hawkcam
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun May 15, 2011 4:30 pm

Since Brightscript, among other things, is similar to Javascript, there are web tutorials on Javascript, XML, and even Ajax uses that will help give you an overall understanding of what's going on, although not *specifically* Brightscript. You can look at http://www.w3schools.com for some very nice primers/tutorials on subject relevant to what you want to do with Roku. The best way to figure it out is to read and keep experimenting with a judicious application of patience.
 
bollywood
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Mon May 16, 2011 8:09 am

correct me if i am reading the code incorrectly.

this is what i understood so far:

the channel reads the main xml file, which lists all the categories with each one pointing to its own xml file. when channel loads, main xml is loaded, then when user clicks on a category, only then the xml file for that category is loaded.

the bs code for the channel itself is what is so confusing to me. i keep getting lost while trying to track everything to see who is doing what.
Hawk Cam
Live footage from the nest on top of Bobst Library at N.Y.U.
copy and paste the link in your browser or use keyword: hawkcam

https://owner.roku.com/add/hawkcam
 
creator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:14 pm

I can't get into my roku using the sequence given to input on the remote. It does nothing. Home 3x, Up 2x, Right, Left, Right, Left, Right does not work for me. Is there a special trick or something? I want to get into the development mode on the roku.
Help please. I just starting and it really strange that the first thing I do doesn't work.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:20 pm

creator wrote:
I can't get into my roku using the sequence given to input on the remote. It does nothing. Home 3x, Up 2x, Right, Left, Right, Left, Right does not work for me. Is there a special trick or something? I want to get into the development mode on the roku.
Help please. I just starting and it really strange that the first thing I do doesn't work.

Make sure you're on the home screen and that you're not entering the sequence too slow or too fast. You also need to use a physical remote, as the codes don't work when using a network based remote (at least not in my experience).
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
creator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:43 am

Thanks to the endless for the answer about getting into the development program. It worked. I have another question. I was able to load the streaming player example for the audio app and it worked fine. I tried to modify the ip address in the npr streaming to point to an mp3 file I have on the web using the text editor in windows. I saved it as a brs text file. I then tried to zip the original player application with my small modification using win zip. I was able to see that an error occurred that said could not find source file. I zipped it from the directory that contained the source folder and pictures folder. I then loaded it but it never showed up on the roku screen. What am I doing wrong? Is it the way I am zipping the example application. Also I could not telnet into the program but I could use hyperterminal to see the lunix file on the roku. Thanks for your help.
 
User avatar
RokuChris
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:45 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:03 pm

creator wrote:
Thanks to the endless for the answer about getting into the development program. It worked. I have another question. I was able to load the streaming player example for the audio app and it worked fine. I tried to modify the ip address in the npr streaming to point to an mp3 file I have on the web using the text editor in windows. I saved it as a brs text file. I then tried to zip the original player application with my small modification using win zip. I was able to see that an error occurred that said could not find source file. I zipped it from the directory that contained the source folder and pictures folder. I then loaded it but it never showed up on the roku screen. What am I doing wrong? Is it the way I am zipping the example application. Also I could not telnet into the program but I could use hyperterminal to see the lunix file on the roku. Thanks for your help.


Sounds like your zip file may not be structured properly. See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=40458
 
destruk
Posts: 2720
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:36 pm

If roku had a recursive search in it's own unzip routine to load code on the box then these issues would be a thing of the past.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:05 pm

destruk wrote:
If roku had a recursive search in it's own unzip routine to load code on the box then these issues would be a thing of the past.

The "source" folder can have any number of subfolders, so it's recursive below that folder. You just have to have a top level "source" folder for it to look in.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
destruk
Posts: 2720
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:14 pm

I'm not saying it's bad the way it works now, just if it requires a folder to be called source, and the manifest is in the level directly above source, then you could zip a folder and it'd work, rather than having to zip from within the folder like we've always done.
 
creator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:48 pm

I just sent up my first pkg and now its displaying on my roku. Its a simple streaming channel but it works. Streaming Radio 7. Check it out. My first try. I think it takes about 24hrs to show up in the channel store as a private channel. I bought another roku just to get another developer password because I could not get the first permanent password to work. It was worth the effort. The only problem I have is my router needs to be rebooted sometimes for some reason. Is it because I leave the box in development mode maybe?
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:01 pm

creator wrote:
I just sent up my first pkg and now its displaying on my roku. Its a simple streaming channel but it works. Streaming Radio 7. Check it out. My first try. I think it takes about 24hrs to show up in the channel store as a private channel. I bought another roku just to get another developer password because I could not get the first permanent password to work. It was worth the effort. The only problem I have is my router needs to be rebooted sometimes for some reason. Is it because I leave the box in development mode maybe?



if it's a private channel it will not be in the channel store, that is reserved for public channels in which there is a review process by Roku. For anyone to be able to add it they need the code for the channel.
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 11

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests