Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
bmn
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:35 am

customize grid loading image

Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:18 pm

Hi, is there a way to set the grid loading image?

I found this: GridScreenRetrievingColor but just for the color
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: customize grid loading image

Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:49 pm

Grid_Retrieving_Landscape_HD.jpg
Grid_Retrieving_Landscape_SD43.jpg

open these two files in your favorite graphic editor and make them into whatever you want.

- Joel
 
bmn
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:35 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:17 pm

Joel, already tried that... no effect...

Where should these images be?

thanks!
 
bmn
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:35 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:36 pm

Isnt there a porperty that can be changed in runtime to define these loading images?
Thanks
 
ljunkie
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 12:11 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Thu Oct 17, 2013 5:51 pm

RokuJoel wrote:
Grid_Retrieving_Landscape_HD.jpg
Grid_Retrieving_Landscape_SD43.jpg

open these two files in your favorite graphic editor and make them into whatever you want.

- Joel


I have tried this too with no effect. Is there another way? I have black background, but the loading image is a flash of gray..

Thanks,
Rob
 
ljunkie
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 12:11 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:22 am

I take the lack of response this is broken and no one is willing to confirm it. These images are included in the sample grid SDK, but do nothing.
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: customize grid loading image

Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:09 pm

Had to do some research and testing first:

ifGridScreen.SetLoadingPoster("pkg:/images/myHDPoster.jpg","pkg:/images/mySDPoster.jpg")


This does not work on Legacy (firmware 3.x) devices so:

di=createobject("rodeviceinfo")
   if mid(di.getversion(),3,1).toint() > 3 then
      screen.setloadingposter("pkg:/images/loadingposterHD.jpg","pkg:/images/loadingposterSD.jpg")
   end if


- Joel
 
ljunkie
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 12:11 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:44 pm

Thank you Joel! Tested and it works perfectly so far. I appreciate you including the 3.x check in there. This really improves the look while loading rows.

btw. What even uses the legacy 3.x firmware?

Again, I really appreciate the update! I even see the SDK docs are updated :)

RokuJoel wrote:
Had to do some research and testing first:

ifGridScreen.SetLoadingPoster("pkg:/images/myHDPoster.jpg","pkg:/images/mySDPoster.jpg")


This does not work on Legacy (firmware 3.x) devices so:

di=createobject("rodeviceinfo")
   if mid(di.getversion(),3,1).toint() > 3 then
      screen.setloadingposter("pkg:/images/loadingposterHD.jpg","pkg:/images/loadingposterSD.jpg")
   end if


- Joel
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: customize grid loading image

Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:37 pm

3.1 firmware is used for these
 
malloys
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:26 pm

Re: customize grid loading image

Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:35 pm

RokuJoel wrote:
3.1 firmware is used for these


Just curious...
I'm assuming you listed that ebay page as an example and not the definitive list.
I've got an N1000 and an N1101 that are both running 3.1 (and the ebay page seems to only show the 2100).

Just guessing, but would it be safe to say 3.1 runs on all the first generation boxes (i.e. the models using the NXP chips and not the models using the Broadcom chips)?
i.e. Models: N1000, N1050, N1100, N1101, 2000, 2050, 2100

Or is there a different criteria and/or a definitive list somewhere?
 
jbrave
Posts: 716
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:00 pm
Location: Ben Lomond, CA
Contact:

Re: customize grid loading image

Sat Oct 26, 2013 4:36 pm

That is pretty accurate, there is a Wikipedia page that covers our models in depth, some inaccuracies but mostly correct.

Joel
Screenshades: The first Screensaver for Roku2!
Musiclouds: The best free internet music, on your Roku!
Ouroborialis: Psychedelic Screensaver for Roku!
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: customize grid loading image

Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:58 pm

malloys wrote:
I've got an N1000 and an N1101 that are both running 3.1 (and the ebay page seems to only show the 2100).
Just guessing, but would it be safe to say 3.1 runs on all the first generation boxes (i.e. the models using the NXP chips and not the models using the Broadcom chips)?
i.e. Models: N1000, N1050, N1100, N1101, 2000, 2050, 2100
Or is there a different criteria and/or a definitive list somewhere?

I would put it this way: "Everything that has model number < 2222 is the legacy platform of Roku" and is stuck at 3.x firmware. The models > 2222 are the new platform and currently on 5.x firmware. (Picked the number 2222 as arbitrary cut-off between 2100 and 2400)

There is a big hardware difference actually, the NXP is MIPS-based CPU where the new ones are ARM. It is kind of like Apple jumping from PowerPC onto Intel CPUs, big deal in lower-level coding. Luckily B/S mostly abstracts that. The legacy platform is in maintenance mode, getting some bugfixes and with delay - but no new features. I have no insider info on that, they may or may not release future update (last one i think was around june 2013)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests