Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
cheungj
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:48 am

Wowza HLS Timeout

Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:20 pm

Hi I have a videoplayer app requesting HLS streams from a wowza server. the issue i'm encountering is that the videoplayer buffers a certain amount of chunks during the stream and stops requesting for any more additional chunks for a prolong period of time. This is bad because it needs to keep requesting from wowza in order to keep the streaming session active.

So what happens is after the stream closes roku videoplayer plays the remaining chunks it has then kills the player. Has anyone encountered an issue like this before ?
 
cheungj
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:48 am

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:38 pm

Is there a way to tell roku roVideoPlayer to only play one chunk at a time instead of buffer and play?
 
bandal
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:04 am

Happens to me a lot from the Wowza Servers. I am testing live servers. I wish there was Roku settings that can keep it from closing the program 90% of the time and 10% Reloading and no traffic on server with HLS streams. I can't get my friends to change anything on the wowza side.
 
destruk
Posts: 2720
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:25 am

You could enable multiple bitrates, using Stream Name Groups and the wowza transcoder addon - http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php ... ups-module
Other than that, your bitrate is probably set too high, the input stream is problematic, or the encoder is causing problems. Ensure your server has enough bandwidth to support what your expected live viewing audience is - and set up automatic load balancing if you are being flooded with requests to keep the stream stable. http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?108
 
cheungj
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:48 am

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:07 pm

I'm not sure we need to do the load balancing since i'm using only one wowza server to provide the HLS stream. Also how do I reduce the bitrate for the stream?
 
destruk
Posts: 2720
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:25 pm

If you have the transcoder addon you can disable any streams you don't want to use in transcode.xml.
 
stefancaunter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: Wowza HLS Timeout

Mon May 26, 2014 9:59 am

Hi

None of this is addressing the actual issue, which is that wowza needs to be set up with additional chunking, according to the Roku encoding guide. Wowza will stop an app after a certain amount of time (default is 60000 milliseconds), so if you are not getting a request to Wowza within that time, the wowza app will stop, and so will the stream.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests