Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
1ms
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:15 pm

How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:41 pm

Is there a way to turn off the column count in the roGridScreen? We've checked the SDK docs but do not see any information about it.

We tried to hide it using theme.CounterTextLeft, etc, but it doesn't work.
 
malort
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:49 am

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:17 pm

There is no way to hide it (that I know of). You can however, set it to the background color of your theme, which is probably the best you can do. You'll see some ghosting when you scroll vertically.

app = CreateObject("roAppManager")
app.SetThemeAttribute("CounterTextRight", bkgColor)
app.SetThemeAttribute("CounterTextLeft", bkgColor)
app.SetThemeAttribute("CounterSeparator", bkgColor)


http://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc/roAppManager
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:38 pm

Try roGridScreen.SetCounterVisible(False).
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
1ms
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:48 pm

Thanks TheEndless.

SetCounterVisible(False) works like a charm!
 
malort
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:49 am

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:15 pm

Another undocumented feature :) How did you come across this one?

TheEndless wrote:
Try roGridScreen.SetCounterVisible(False).
 
MatroxRT
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:03 pm

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:50 am

Is this method officially supported with the current firmwares? Since it's not documented in the ifGridScreen interface it makes me wonder if there are possibly issues with it?

@Roku Can we get confirmation it is fine to use this method? Also, when was it introduced firmware wise?

@TheEndless if you happen to know any of these details that would be helpful too.

Thanks
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:25 pm

MatroxRT wrote:
Is this method officially supported with the current firmwares? Since it's not documented in the ifGridScreen interface it makes me wonder if there are possibly issues with it?

@Roku Can we get confirmation it is fine to use this method? Also, when was it introduced firmware wise?

@TheEndless if you happen to know any of these details that would be helpful too.

Thanks

I was informed of it at least two years ago while working on a channel that required it. That channel and at least one other that I know of uses it, so I don't think it would just go away. As for it not being documented, I suspect that's just an oversight. I wouldn't be surprised if RokuKC popped in shortly to tell us that it has been added.. :P
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
MatroxRT
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:03 pm

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:03 pm

Awesome, Thanks TheEndless.
 
User avatar
RokuKC
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:44 am
Location: Roku HQ

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:34 pm

TheEndless wrote:
...
As for it not being documented, I suspect that's just an oversight.
...


Ask and ye shall receive. :) In this case anyway. :)
 
MatroxRT
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:03 pm

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:55 pm

Thanks RokuKC.
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: How to disable the roGridScreen column count

Sat Apr 25, 2015 5:09 pm

RokuKC wrote:
Ask and ye shall receive. :) In this case anyway. :)

Lots of updates on that page on 4/24, good stuff! http://sdkdocs.roku.com/pages/diffpages ... ersions=10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests