Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
User avatar
Komag
Topic Author
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Sun May 31, 2015 5:46 am

I'm just testing with a couple of the sound files at this point.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Sun May 31, 2015 1:00 pm

Komag wrote:
What Roku 1 is it talking about? Talking about a 2mb limit there?

The Roku 1, in this case, are the legacy Rokus running 3.x firmware.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Sun May 31, 2015 6:10 pm

BradC wrote:
RokuMarkn wrote:
it's impossible to run out of channel storage space.

I do understand what you are saying about the available load-at-runtime functionality making storage take on a different meaning.

...And I know this is apples and other kind of apples, but I did have to delete a bunch of channels to stop getting this message when trying to compile on my Roku 3.

I wonder what happened in your case?

One theory is that the dev.installer does not flush anything from the LRU cache to make space.
 
User avatar
BradC
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:50 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Sun May 31, 2015 7:05 pm

I dunno but it's crazy annoying.

The only way I know of to free up space so I can compile is to uninstall stuff, which of course takes the channels off all the rokus on my account.
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:14 am

BradC wrote:
I dunno but it's crazy annoying.
The only way I know of to free up space so I can compile is to uninstall stuff, which of course takes the channels off all the rokus on my account.

Idea: pick ONE big channel you know. How do you know is big - i don't know*, maybe by observing which ones have % progress shown on install. Install that channel - or if installed, launch it - to make sure is in the cache. Then delete it and you should have space for dev.installer, perhaps?

(*) hey, Roku* - how about showing the bundle sizes in the "hidden screen" list of channels?
 
User avatar
Komag
Topic Author
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:27 pm

Or maybe it would work to make a shell private channel that is 49mb, launch that to get it in cache, delete it, and voila, guaranteed 49mb free space!
 
User avatar
BradC
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:50 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:13 am

Really, I should just stop using my roku3 for development, that's not a good idea anyway, since it's easy to get carried away and overdo things to the higher limit, then go back to slower models and have to adjust things down. I had been using my favorite, the Roku1 HD, but it was emitting bad RF signals that hosed my TV reception so I had to mothball it after cutting the cord.


and if you want to see my channel it's here https://owner.roku.com/add/SZZY3 I think the music sounds fine, but you may think it sounds bad and not want to compress it like that for your channel. Ear of the beholder or whatever, I certainly don't claim to be an audiophile and they may have a lot of issues with my sound compression choices.
♦MiniGolf♦HangMan♦Brain Puck♦Retro Tennis♦BORK♦FLIP♦Pathogen♦Pathogen 2♦Shut the Box♦Birdie♦Logic♦Dots♦Pool♦küglo♦Bubble Wrap♦Trivia Channel♦Mancala♦Air Hockey♦Weather♦CAMERA♦Your Photos Screensaver♦Desert Beauty Screensaver♦Wild Lakes Screensaver♦
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:05 pm

BradC wrote:
Really, I should just stop using my roku3 for development, that's not a good idea anyway, since it's easy to get carried away and overdo things to the higher limit, then go back to slower models and have to adjust things down. I had been using my favorite, the Roku1 HD, but it was emitting bad RF signals that hosed my TV reception so I had to mothball it after cutting the cord.

By "Roku1 HD" you mean one of the "legacy" players at firmware 3? I was using one as the least common denominator for a long time but last year B/S language differences started stretching away more and more, with some in fw5 being tempting (like `.count()` for dictionaries etc). My "standard" target player has been (and still is) a 2XS #3100 though - as middle-of-the-road (it was, performance-wise), having GLES, 3xxx platform being very common and forward-compatible with 4xxx models. I agree, not good idea developing for the top model = get spoiled; lowers specs bring up inventiveness

and if you want to see my channel it's here https://owner.roku.com/add/SZZY3 I think the music sounds fine, but you may think it sounds bad and not want to compress it like that for your channel. Ear of the beholder or whatever, I certainly don't claim to be an audiophile and they may have a lot of issues with my sound compression choices.

Nice work!
I tried it and am much impressed by the demo play that happens if game is left alone in menu for long time (it shows a pre-recorded play of different levels), as well the tutorial hidden in Help.

I also learned that "% progress" indicator is shown on install of big B/S channels too, as exemplified by yours (before i was thinking only non-BRS apps - which statistically are biggest - get it and B/S don't). About how big is that bundle by the way?
 
User avatar
BradC
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:50 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:45 pm

EnTerr wrote:
By "Roku1 HD" you mean one of the "legacy" players at firmware 3?


2500X Not considered legacy. It's actually more like 1.5, but the model numbers on roku players are... confusing.


EnTerr wrote:
Nice work! ... About how big is that bundle by the way?


Thanks. The pkg is up to 4.5 megs now, this thread made me slack off on optimizing a bit.
♦MiniGolf♦HangMan♦Brain Puck♦Retro Tennis♦BORK♦FLIP♦Pathogen♦Pathogen 2♦Shut the Box♦Birdie♦Logic♦Dots♦Pool♦küglo♦Bubble Wrap♦Trivia Channel♦Mancala♦Air Hockey♦Weather♦CAMERA♦Your Photos Screensaver♦Desert Beauty Screensaver♦Wild Lakes Screensaver♦
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:32 pm

BradC wrote:
EnTerr wrote:
Nice work! ... About how big is that bundle by the way?

Thanks. The pkg is up to 4.5 megs now, this thread made me slack off on optimizing a bit.

I was just asking for idea when %progress-bar is shown. Size does not seem unreasonable for a game, non-B/S games are granted something like 20MB, i think. I won't be surprised if reviewers have leeway on this, given the LRU app cache (installer issues notwithstanding).
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:47 pm

For games the limit is about 50mb (compressed), the device won't store any larger channels. Please keep the package file as small as you possibly can. For most non-game channels we try to keep them under 760k preferably 650k or less. Obviously some screensavers are larger, usually 2 - 4mb, a few are larger.

Ideal would be if everyone stored their graphics somewhere other than in the channel itself, so that users aren't forced to sit around waiting for the channel to load (because the device unloads less used channels until they are called up again).

- Joel
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Max channel size in mb? 750k? 2mb? 50mb?

Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:30 pm

Thanks, Joel! - for the useful info and explaining the logic to it.

Btw i digged where i saw that 20mb number and i think it came from Marmalade's RTFM
Roku platform guide wrote:
Note - Apps can have a maximum distribution package size of 50MB for Roku 3 devices and 20MB for Roku 2 devices.
That's to be taken with seasoning (might be outdated etc). But i am so far, far under 20mb it's purely academic to me.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests