Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
lumpenprole
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:37 am

How do I provide information to the global search box?

Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:43 am

I read the deep linking part, but I'm working for a client that wants their content searchable the same way if you search for a movie it comes up on netflix and hulu. Is that possible, or is that a special deal the major players get?
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: How do I provide information to the global search box?

Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:27 pm

Its in the docs. I'm personally against using the global search history as anything you search for in a channel is public to all channels that use the same method. That being said: http://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc/roSearchHistory is the component you can use to get and set the global search history.

- Joel
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: How do I provide information to the global search box?

Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:40 pm

Joel -
i think what @lumpenprole is asking for is inclusion in Roku's "unified search", not a way to keep the history of search terms
 
lumpenprole
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:37 am

Re: How do I provide information to the global search box?

Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:23 am

EnTerr wrote:
Joel -
i think what @lumpenprole is asking for is inclusion in Roku's "unified search", not a way to keep the history of search terms


Yes, that.
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: How do I provide information to the global search box?

Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:51 pm

Send an email to developer@roku.com and include a description of your channel, types of content available and any other information that would be helpful in determining if your channel would be a good candidate for inclusion in search. In most cases search inclusion requires having Tribune Media Services IDs for your content, a pretty hefty (~$2000/month) monthly subscription cost. We can onboard partners who don't have that, but it requires you provide a properly formatted metadata feed, and onboarding partners who don't have TMS IDs is likely to take longer as it is a more complex process and each non-TMS partner has to be scheduled to go live based on available time for the team to do the integration.

- Joel
 
Jerry Waldorf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:08 am

Re: How do I provide information to the global search box?

Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:14 am

Is it possible to register content to the global search box for a channel that is not installed on the device?

I am thinking of a use case where my channel has movies for viewing but the user has not chosen to install the channel. When they search for content on the global search box, they would see that the content is available on a channel that has yet to be installed, they then install the channel and can watch the content.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests