Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:31 am

What Happened to EPGGrid documentation? We use it in our project and really need this doc. Why is it removed?
 
Skrzypu
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:24 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 1:36 am

In newest Roku OS I found one important defect.
The Nodes created from brighscript and replaced using node function "replaceChild" can't be find using "m.top.findNode"

Yesterday it have worked, after upgrade OS it stopped.
I found it as I'm using function "replaceChild" in few places in my channel. That prevents using it.
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:47 am

Skrzypu, do you give them IDs when you create them from brs? Because I had different problem with nodes created dynamically and it has been solved by giving them id.
node = CreateObject("roSGNode", "MYNODE")
node.id = "myId"
REM then you replace or append or anything.
 
Skrzypu
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:24 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:14 am

sudo97 wrote:
Skrzypu, do you give them IDs when you create them from brs? Because I had different problem with nodes created dynamically and it has been solved by giving them id.
node = CreateObject("roSGNode", "MYNODE")
node.id = "myId"
REM then you replace or append or anything.



Yes, I'm providing the id. It has stopped working after today OS upgrade.
Is this working for you in newest Roku OS?
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:40 am

Skrzypu, Yes, everything works
 
b_live883
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:44 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 10:08 am

sudo97 actually brought up an issue that's quite worrisome.. I've been working on this app for 4 months now and it relies heavily on epggrid.. has it been removed from the docs because u intend to remove it??? also after the update to 7.1 last nite..

channelinfo logos are centered which is good..

but epgdata loading is not being updated .. on the focused item or next items as well as before... u have to scroll off the item by one page either direction and then you can view the epg entries.. so there definitely has been a change in the way the epg data loads.. also my icons are not showing up on the epg entries.. i had setup tasks to sequentially load the data or on itemfocused if data was not loaded it would load ... i personally thought prior to 7.1 the epggrid was working perfectly.. except for some minor graphical issues..

please let us know the changes which were made.. and please dont remove epggrid... its a great addition to the scenegraph api..
 
b_live883
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:44 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:08 pm

after playing around with 7.1 ... all the properties of builtin functions or objects are now viewable in the console port 8089..

which means the docs are not needed to view the fields available for objects.. which is good to know .. good addition.. so to answer ur question sudo97 just print the epggrid object youve created to view all possible fields.
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:01 pm

b_live883 wrote:
after playing around with 7.1 ... all the properties of builtin functions or objects are now viewable in the console port 8089..

which means the docs are not needed to view the fields available for objects.. which is good to know .. good addition.. so to answer ur question sudo97 just print the epggrid object youve created to view all possible fields.

I took documentation from google cash, but anyway, it's seems strange, I don't know what to think, what if EPGGrid is to be removed from Scene Graph ever?
 
belltown
Posts: 1465
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:59 pm

Strange that EPGGrid was removed then the next day roProgramGuide and roTuner were added. Looks like 57 documentation changes so far in the last 3 days - may have something to do with the impending 7.1 release.
https://github.com/belltown/
 
piratek01
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:10 am

b_live883 wrote:
after playing around with 7.1 ... all the properties of builtin functions or objects are now viewable in the console port 8089..

which means the docs are not needed to view the fields available for objects.. which is good to know .. good addition.. so to answer ur question sudo97 just print the epggrid object youve created to view all possible fields.


Hi live883, and How can you view all the functions and objects from a node like EPGGrid???

Thank you :)
 
dacian_roman23
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:24 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:13 am

Is there any performance data table ? How many components can be added to a scene until the stack overflows ? Adding 10 or 20 different components to a main scene component affects the application performance ?

I want for example to start from screen A and go to screen G.. Each time i'll change the screen/content ,i'll make a request to the api and populate the current screen with what i need, but when I am going to navigate back from screen G to screen A i don't want to make the requests again. What is the best approach for this problem ? Should i create 7 different components ( A to G) and change the visibility accordingly . Is this going to be fine for 20-50 components ?
 
Tyler Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:51 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:35 am

I am also having this issue. Have you found a resolution?

sudo97 wrote:
On system v7.0 I could Observe few fields, Load data from memory, server, etc. and then unobserve it and modify without any callbacks. Then I updated to 7.1 and after calling obj.unobserveField("field") -- I got nothing, It doesn't work. Tested on Roku 3 and Roku Stick.
Tyler Smith
Senior Developer, REDspace
redspace.com
 
edskitter
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:15 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:31 am

Any official word from Roku on the EPGGrid? I am curious to know why the documentation was taken down as we use this extensively in our app.
 
jkvarsh
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:12 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:24 pm

Hi,
I have build an app with Roku Scene Graph for HLS streams and works fine but it does not seem to work for MS Smooth Streaming streams. Any idea?

Jeet
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:36 pm

Found problem with epg-grid: when set timeLabelFont to custom font, timeLabel is not visible, so it only can be seen when use default font.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests