Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 16
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Sat Aug 22, 2015 11:40 am

Couple of questions:
  1. For which players will the scenic graph API/firmware be made publicly available? All model# > 2200 or ...
  2. Can you point some notable examples of channels that already use scenical graphing, so we can see its goodness? (e.g. if you ask Marmalade for examples of games made with their SDK, they'd tell you Plants v Zombies, Cut the Rope, some of the Angry Birdses and Tetrises...)
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Aug 24, 2015 12:25 pm

EnTerr wrote:
  • For which players will the scenic graph API/firmware be made publicly available? All model# > 2200 or ...
  • Can you point some notable examples of channels that already use scenical graphing, so we can see its goodness? (e.g. if you ask Marmalade for examples of games made with their SDK, they'd tell you Plants v Zombies, Cut the Rope, some of the Angry Birdses and Tetrises...)


* Should be all players other than 3.1 legacy devices.
* Not really, but you can get a good idea from the Roku Home Screen and mGo channels.

We just released the beta, for trailblazers to get started blazing trails.

- Joel
 
svanderw
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:18 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:27 pm

When is the planned general availability of the Scene Graph firmware?
I'd like to use it, but don't want to have to wait too long for releasing our channel due to lack of GA support.

Scott V
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Aug 26, 2015 10:49 am

We are not disclosing the launch date at this time. This Beta is to get feedback on technical issues and improvements that could make the scene graph a better experience for developers when it is launched.

- Joel
 
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:00 pm

Is this where we should reports bugs in the v7.0 firmware or is there somewhere else to do that?

-JT
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:04 am

Yes, please post issues you encounter to this thread.

- Joel
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:58 pm

RokuJoel wrote:
* Should be all players other than 3.1 legacy devices.
* Not really, but you can get a good idea from the Roku Home Screen and mGo channels.

We just released the beta, for trailblazers to get started blazing trails.

Thanks for the info.
Yeah, umm... i think i'll wait for the "blaze of gory" :mrgreen: to subside a little.
Esp. i got myself something else really exciting to dig on
 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:04 am

I'm not sure if this is a 'bug' or a 'feature' but I'm seeing a sensitivity to the order in which XML elements are defined. The XML file below defines:
(a) an upper and lower <Rectangle>
(b) 3 <Poster> elements that appear in the middle of the screen, and
(c) 3 <Label> elements

The issue is the behavior of the 3rd Label with id="bottomLabelLeft". The other two Labels are child nodes of a Rectangle but this one is not. If a <Poster> element is defined prior to this label, the label will not be visible. To see what I mean, comment out the Posters with ids "avatarMiddle" and "avatarRt".

Here's the XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>  
<component name="testScene01" extends="Scene" >
   <script type="text/brightscript" >
   <![CDATA[
      function init()
         m.top.setFocus(true)
      end function
   ]]>
   </script>
   <children>
      <Poster
        id="avatarMiddle"
        uri="pkg:/images/Oak-Beard.jpg"
        width="200"
        height="200"
        translation="[500,300]"
      />
       <Rectangle
          id="upperRectangle"
          color="0xcc00ccFF"
          width="640"
          height="60"
          translation="[300,120]">
         <Label
           id="upperLabel"
           height="60"
           width="0"
           text = "Hello World!"
           horizAlign = "left"
           vertAlign = "center"
           translation="[160,10]" />
      </Rectangle>
      <Poster
        id="avatarRt"
        uri="pkg:/images/Oak-Beard.jpg"
        translation="[900,300]"
      />
       <Rectangle
          id="bottomRectangle"
          color="0x0000FFFF"
          width="1280"
          height="60"
          translation="[0,620]">
         <Label
           id="bottomLabelRight"
           height="60"
           width="0"
           text = "Can you see me?"
           horizAlign = "left"
           vertAlign = "center"
           translation="[500,0]"
         />
       </Rectangle>
      <Label
        id="bottomLabelLeft"
        height="60"
        width="0"
        text = "Goodbye World!"
        horizAlign = "left"
        vertAlign = "center"
        translation="[160,620]"
      />
      <Poster
        id="avatarLeft"
        uri="pkg:/images/Oak-Beard.jpg"
        width="145"
        height="145"
        translation="[100,300]"
      />
   </children>

</component>

 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:08 am

I'm having difficulty with the debugger. I've created two telnet sessions: one to the 8085 port and one to the 8089 port. While the 8089 session displays the output of any Brightscript defined in the XML components, there is no response to any BrightScript debugger commands entered via this console. The 8085 session responds normally but apparently provides no way to interact with or examine the XML component scripts. Any suggestions?

Update: results are actually inconsistent as clarified in follow-up posting
Last edited by Oak-Beard on Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:45 am

The video.mute field seems to have no effect. Whether true or false, I'm always getting sound during playback.
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:49 pm

Oak-Beard wrote:
... the 8089 session displays the output of any Brightscript defined in the XML components, there is no response to any BrightScript debugger commands entered via this console. ... Any suggestions?

Sounds pretty... censored. How does it act if you include STOP statement inside the B/S XML?
 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Sep 03, 2015 1:22 pm

EnTerr wrote:
Oak-Beard wrote:
... the 8089 session displays the output of any Brightscript defined in the XML components, there is no response to any BrightScript debugger commands entered via this console. ... Any suggestions?

Sounds pretty... censored. How does it act if you include STOP statement inside the B/S XML?


An excellent question.. STOP seems to work OK but a Ctrl-C has inconsistent results. Could be linked to threading? Sometimes the telnet session will respond but only after several seconds. Other times I get nothing until I press a key on the control. It's not the end of the world but it would be nice to know what's going on.
 
crawfishmedia
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:39 am
Location: Calgary, AB

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:39 pm

I would like to be part of this beta. I want to test rotation of text, which doesn't work properly in current Roku firmware.
AC
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:48 pm

crawfishmedia wrote:
I would like to be part of this beta. I want to test rotation of text, which doesn't work properly in current Roku firmware.
The first message in the thread describes the procedure to request it by PM.
 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Sep 08, 2015 7:41 am

I've hit a snag when adding a component interface that uses the 'alias' attribute. Everything works correctly except when I attempt to alias the 'state' or 'control' attributes of a Video node. The documentation for a Video node defines the type of the control property as 'option string' and type(video.control) will indicate it is 'roString'. However if I define the alias as
        <field
            id="control"
            type="string"
            value="none"
            onChange="ctrlVideo"
            alias="vidScreen.control"
            />

I get the message:

Interface field alias failed: Type "string" does not match type of the field named "control"

I should point out that aliasing works OK for all other Video properties including 'errorMsg' which is defined as type=string. The issue seems to be the 'option string' and 'value string' types which apparently have no direct corollary in the types available when defining a Component Interface.

Am I missing something I should be doing or is this an actual bug/feature?
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 16

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests