Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
dspangle
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:23 pm

Scene Graph RowList questions

Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:59 pm

i have been playing with the Scene Graph RowList component and I have some questions about how its rendered. i have a really big list of genres and i would rather not hit our api for each rows content before i draw the scene. i would like to hit the api only as needed as the user scrolls along. i have figured out a way to do this, but when i receive the results and append new children to a row the RowList does not automatically re-render itself. the only way i can get it to re-render is by re-setting the RowList.content field explicitly. that's fine, but when i do this and the re-render happens it automatically jumps the focus back the coord 0, 0. if i try to "save" the focused item coords before i set the content and then set RowList.jumpToRowItem to that saved coord the system freezes every time. in fact, i haven't been able to use jumpToRowItem anywhere without a crash. and i dont mean the channel crashes. it crashes the whole device, and ive tried it on a 1 and a 3. in short, i would like to know if theres a way to not have it jump back to 0, 0 automatically when the content is set or figure out how to use jumpToRowItem peacefully.
 
User avatar
RokuRobB
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:07 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:49 pm

This issue will be fixed in the next release.
 
User avatar
BCVatOVG
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:03 pm

Running into this SAME problem. Not sure what to do. When will the fix be released?
 
User avatar
BCVatOVG
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:47 pm

This looks to be fixed in Version 7.10 b4062 which began limited roll out on 4/5/2016
 
dspangle
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:42 pm

i have not seen it fixed. myRowList.jumpToRowItem = [x, y] still crashes the whole system. resetting myRowList.content still jumps to [0, 0] automatically. im wondering how you have your stuff set up and what exactly was changed. if i knew what changed, maybe i could rework how my rowList is being populated to how its supposed to be done.
 
User avatar
BCVatOVG
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:59 pm

Have you confirmed you are on the latest firmware? I had to put in a firmware check to make sure the firmware was >= 7.10b4062 so I didn't crash the app on boxes running older versions. I basically didn't handle it on older firmware as I just wouldn't jump, I just reset the content and let it jump to [0,0] on older firmware (since I knew this was a bug and would be fixed)

I am using it as RowList.jumpToRowItem = RowList.rowItemFocused

so I am not specifying the coordinates, I am letting it read from the focused item. (actually my code is more complex as I cache the RowList.rowItemFocused). If you can provide me with a simple code example I can try and test it for you.

Thanks
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:01 pm

In 7.1, the RowList should update automatically when you add children to the parent ContentNode. In 7.0, you had to jump through hoops to get it to refresh dynamically. In other words, in 7.1, you shouldn't need to ever reset myRowList.content, unless you're replacing the contents entirely. If you're just adding new rows, that should happen automatically when you append the child to the rowlist's content. I'm doing this without issue. Can you provide some sample code that isn't working for you?
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
dspangle
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:41 pm

thanks for the quick responses. i was having problems with jumpToRowItem on my 3500X because it crashed so hard once it reverted to 7.0, which i thought was weird. i swore i had updated it. anyhow, i fixed it by observing the content field and doing rowList.jumpToRowItem = rowList.rowItemSelected every time the content changes. worked for me.
 
psatish
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:16 am

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:51 am

I am trying to implement a simple Grid  using rowlist with a poster image and an item title below each image.  When item is selected , only the image should be focused and not the text. Exactly like what was possible in the old roGridscreen. It just does not seem possible.  I am  placing a label setting the translation so that it appears below the image. The text appears fine as long as there is no focus. As soon as a row is focused, the text line gets erased. The only option seems to increase the height of the rowitem so that it includes the text label as well. But on focus the selection box covers the text as well and looks bad. We are migrating a template app to scenegraph and I am having a hard time explaining why such a simple option which was already there in template is no longer possible. Is there any solution?
 
parag
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:07 am

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:15 am

Was this resolved? I am able to translate the label, but it only shows briefly when I change focus from one row to another and then disappears. Any ideas?
 
matrixebiz
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:47 pm

Re: Scene Graph RowList questions

Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:40 am

Where can I download the latest Scene Graph SDK?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests