Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Mike Knapp
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:13 am

Photobridge wont re-boot

Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:56 pm

My photobridge went through a brown out yesterday and now will not operate at all. If I cannot reset this, it will be the 3rd time it will have had issues in the past 1.5 years.

Below is a list of its behaviors now.

* The LED stays lit solid green
* The ROKU will not allow the video pass-through to function
* The screen says "Loading ROKU software" and will not move from that. I left it on all night thinking it would load something...nope.
* When I hold the standbybutton down, the video pass-through works...until I release the button
and the perpetual "loading ROKU software" screen appears again.
* I have tried leaving it unplugged for 10 minutes or more. Upon plugging it back in...you guessed it, the "Loading ROKU software" screen appears.
* I have done the push exit button 5 times routine....nada. That did absolutely nothing.

So guys, is there a magic chant? Must I stand on one foot and dance the light fandango? Is the unit toast again?

If its toast, I will just live without it. I am not inclined to send it in for repairs again. Perhaps this machine and I were simply not meant to be.

Never had a problem with my 2 soundbridges.

Mike
 
na9d
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 pm

Can you telnet into it and do anything? Sounds like the firmware got scrambled. There should be a way to bootstrap it and force a new firmware update. Wait, I think you can do that from the compact flash port. Isn't that how you do the upgrade to Rev 2? Put the upgrade file on the flash card and reboot?
Roku Soundbridge M2000
Roku Soundbridge M1000
Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB
Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA
3 ReplayTVs
4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)
Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro
2 Vudu VOD Players
 
Mike Knapp
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:13 am

Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:03 am

So, I should be able to download the proper software, place the flash card in the slot, reboot and force it into loading?

That makes sense, now where can I find the software?

I will look around, but if anyone has a link that would be appreciated.

Mike
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Photobridge wont re-boot

Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:27 am

Mike Knapp wrote:
My photobridge went through a brown out yesterday and now will not operate at all. If I cannot reset this, it will be the 3rd time it will have had issues in the past 1.5 years.

Below is a list of its behaviors now.

* The LED stays lit solid green
* The ROKU will not allow the video pass-through to function
* The screen says "Loading ROKU software" and will not move from that. I left it on all night thinking it would load something...nope.
* When I hold the standbybutton down, the video pass-through works...until I release the button
and the perpetual "loading ROKU software" screen appears again.
* I have tried leaving it unplugged for 10 minutes or more. Upon plugging it back in...you guessed it, the "Loading ROKU software" screen appears.
* I have done the push exit button 5 times routine....nada. That did absolutely nothing.

So guys, is there a magic chant? Must I stand on one foot and dance the light fandango? Is the unit toast again?

If its toast, I will just live without it. I am not inclined to send it in for repairs again. Perhaps this machine and I were simply not meant to be.

Never had a problem with my 2 soundbridges.

Mike


It may be a power supply issue from the Brown Out. Or the HD1000 had brain-fart from the Brown Out and reflashing may work...
Last edited by Burkhardi on Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Mike Knapp
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:13 am

Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:38 am

Ok, here is what it does now....

It will play any flash card i put in it OK

It WILL not pass through my video and the main screen says

Built in contains no recognized media files

I believe all the stored data was lost. Where can i download a boot file that has the basic OS files on it?

Mike
 
Mike Knapp
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:13 am

Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:56 am

Well, now I have everything back to normal, including the video pass through BUT there is no demo material on the units hard drive and the software version is 1. something.

Where is the newest software and the demo material that used to be on the internal drive?

Mike
 
na9d
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:10 am

From the Roku web page:

http://www.rokulabs.com/support_pb_dwnld_software.php

There you will find the link to 2.0.36. If you want 2.0.35 or 2.0.34 or another version just edit the link to the version you want.

For the factory demo content:

http://www.rokulabs.com/support_pb_dwnld_demo.php

Have fun!
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:45 pm

Mike Knapp wrote:
on the units hard drive

Um, there IS no hard drive in it!
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Sun Apr 22, 2007 2:28 pm

dgburns wrote:
Mike Knapp wrote:
on the units hard drive

Um, there IS no hard drive in it!

I think he means the RAM that the ARM uses.
Heck, have you seen the HDD with RAM in them and no disk? :shock:
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:26 am

Burkhardi wrote:
Heck, have you seen the HDD with RAM in them and no disk? :shock:

Yeah...we use them in some military devices we build. Solid State Disk. Insane fast reload time if there's a hiccup. AND, since we can easily write protect it, no worry about data. AND, a spare is smaller than a credit card, no stacks of disc's to store, we just send them a spare with every unit and they lock it in a safe in case ever needed.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
Donald
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Phh O EE Nix

Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm

dgburns wrote:
Yeah...we use them in some military devices we build.


Does this mean you have to kill us now?

:(
 
na9d
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:18 pm

Donald wrote:
dgburns wrote:
Yeah...we use them in some military devices we build.


Does this mean you have to kill us now?

:(


Nah. Take a look at all the IDE based flash modules here:

http://www.logicsupply.com/index.php/cPath/44
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:14 am

Donald wrote:
dgburns wrote:
Yeah...we use them in some military devices we build.


Does this mean you have to kill us now?

:(

HAHA! Of course not...
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests