Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Bad Download Link: Software update help

Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:15 pm

I am configuring my HD1000 after it being on the shelf for 3 years and updating my HD1000 from the original 1.5.18 software. I'm assuming that I need to go through every update, ---not being able to just jump to the most current.

In trying to download update 2.0.36, the webpage link corrupts the download into pages of code with no download.
This is the same in Mac or WinXp in ANY browser. I haven't received any answer back from tech support or the webmaster yet.

Can anyone tell me if I can skip over that download and just jump to the latest, 3.0?


Thanks very much.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Bad Download Link: Software update help

Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:52 pm

Yochanan wrote:
I am configuring my HD1000 after it being on the shelf for 3 years and updating my HD1000 from the original 1.5.18 software. I'm assuming that I need to go through every update, ---not being able to just jump to the most current.

In trying to download update 2.0.36, the webpage link corrupts the download into pages of code with no download.
This is the same in Mac or WinXp in ANY browser. I haven't received any answer back from tech support or the webmaster yet.

Can anyone tell me if I can skip over that download and just jump to the latest, 3.0?


Thanks very much.

WELCOME!
No, you can go right to the current one. I would suggest 2.0.35, also there is no 3.0 that I know of.

try this
http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=4590

2.0.35 is 2.0.34 with the music options enabled. 2.0.36 has a SMB or somba update (or something like that) and causes issues for some people.
I have been using 2.0.35 on about 20 different HD1000's and have had no issues. I use the CF card method of upgrading BTW.

Hope this is helpful, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

bad download link

Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:05 pm

Thanks for the info but a 2.0.35 is not offered. The download page only has the 1.5.18 or the 2.0.36 and it's the "36" link that is unusable.

Thanks again.
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Bad download link.

Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:10 pm

Thank you for the link for 2.0.35 but that link is also bad. The webmaster needs to know about this stuff.

It just produces pages of code Jibberish without the download.....

I hope they get it fixed,. or else the HD1000 goes back on the shelf. I don't have time for this ..... :D
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Bad download link.

Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:21 pm

Yochanan wrote:
Thank you for the link for 2.0.35 but that link is also bad. The webmaster needs to know about this stuff.

It just produces pages of code Jibberish without the download.....

I hope they get it fixed,. or else the HD1000 goes back on the shelf. I don't have time for this ..... :D


I just downloaded 2.0.35 and it works for me via IE7 on Windows XP SP2

http://www.rokulabs.com/developers/2.0.35/formatup.rok

It downloaded "formatup.rok" to my PC, then I can take that file, stick it on a CF card and put that CF Card in the HD1000 and do a hard reset. Then you wait about 3-5 min for it to do its thing.

When you get the pop-up (if you are) you are clicking on 'save' and not'open' right?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Amazing.

Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:29 pm

I've tried Mac OS 11 and XP sp2 with cable and dialup both Internet Explorer, firefox and Safari.

All produce the same coded jibberish... Must be my locale or something.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Amazing.

Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:53 pm

Yochanan wrote:
I've tried Mac OS 11 and XP sp2 with cable and dialup both Internet Explorer, firefox and Safari.

All produce the same coded jibberish... Must be my locale or something.

Are you at least getting the pop-up with the three options (Open, Save, cancel)?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:08 pm

No, no pop-up.... Just loading of pages of digitzed junk with browser locked up until full time period that the download would normally use to finish.
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:10 pm

Any other download (not 2.0) from the website works perfectly.
 
RokuLyndon

Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:00 pm

What happens if you right-click on the link and choose save as. That way, it's saved without the browser trying to open the file directly.
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:13 pm

Beautiful!!! Worked. Thank you....
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:29 am

RokuLyndon wrote:
What happens if you right-click on the link and choose save as. That way, it's saved without the browser trying to open the file directly.


OMG...someone from Roku actually still READS these Photobridge forums!! :shock:
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:18 pm

dgburns wrote:
OMG...someone from Roku actually still READS these Photobridge forums!! :shock:

Yeah... and it takes us PhotoBridge owners four weeks to notice... :lol: Not sure whether that says more about us or them!
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:17 am

S80_UK wrote:
dgburns wrote:
OMG...someone from Roku actually still READS these Photobridge forums!! :shock:

Yeah... and it takes us PhotoBridge owners four weeks to notice... :lol: Not sure whether that says more about us or them!

Touche! :oops:
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
johanmavis
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:37 am

Thanks Rokulyndon that worked for me but what is the latest version because when I save the file to my computer and try to update it just keeps installing the same one but I've had this vesion for a while now and I'm sure there's another one to download.

This page is pretty helpful with the fat burning furnace http://weightwoo.com/fat-burning-furnace
Last edited by johanmavis on Mon May 21, 2012 8:22 am, edited 8 times in total.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest