Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
guest

Configuring CinemaSix to play from VLC

Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:36 pm

Does anyone know of any step-by-step instructions (or a HOWTO) on configuring CinemaSix (and VLC) such that VLC can stream the content to the HD1000 for display by CinemaSix? I have CinemaSix installed just fine, but can't find much, if any, documentation on how to use it to do anything useful.

In particular, I'd like to be able to play:
(1) VOBs that have been ripped from a DVD; and
(2) Windows .AVI files (recorded using my digital camera).

Any help/input would be much appreciated.
 
vs
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:17 pm

Re: Configuring CinemaSix to play from VLC

Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:18 am

CinemaSix has no problem playing VOBs from ripped DVDs. Works rather well except for some sync issues.

Unfortunately, can't help with the VLC question.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:20 am

I ran across this post to the old Roku mailing lists the other day. It might help you out.

http://lists.rokulabs.com/pipermail/rok ... 01356.html

Note: As I understand it, MpegPSPlay is the old name for CinemaSix.

In the step by step, rather than running it from the linux command line, you should be able to enter the stream address in the CinemaSix UI.

Hope this helps...

TheEndless
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:25 am

You might also want to take a look at this post on avsforum:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthre ... ost3812226

TheEndless
 
Guest

Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:34 pm

Thanks. So far I have an MPEG2 file playing - looks great.

As for the AVI file, both links contained some information of use. In fact, the best I've found so far. However, they merely comfirm that I was doing the right thing to begin with. However, when I transcode the AVI files using VLC I can view them just fine with another PC, but the Roku doesn't display anything (and actually hung when I tried it through the CinemaSix UI). :-(
 
Guest

Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:37 pm

Oh...and I'm still working on playing the VOBs from a DVD.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests