Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
jinzora
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:52 am

What a newbie should know...

Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:44 pm

Everyone,

As I just got my PhotoBridge HD a few days ago I thought I'd share what I learned and what I feel like a newbie to this device should know. I'm by no means an expert, but I learn fast and thought I'd help others with what I've learned so far.

Ok, so things to know:

- First update the firmware to the latest beta version. DO NOT skip this step. Just trust me on this, you want the latest and the greatest. You can get the latest firmware and details on how to upgrade here:
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3227

- Wireless. If you plan on using wireless there are a few things to know:
- Don't try video. Just don't bother. Even at G speeds DVD video is just not gonna work. If you're doing video run an Ethernet cable.
- USE WEP. I'm not sure why but it's basically required. From all the reading I've done, and from my personal experience it will NOT work without WEP. Also using a 64bit key seems to work better than a 128 bit key. I was using the DLink DWL-122 and it worked great with 64bit WEP (but not without)

- Apps. If you haven't figured out there are a several apps for the HD1000. The first one you're gonna want is MPlay. The big thing about MPlay is it's the app that will let you play your ripped DVD's. You can get MPlay from this thread:
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1796

- Roku's app page. This doesn't have all of them, there are a few below that I recommend that aren't there. The page is:
http://www.rokulabs.com/developers/thirdparty.php

- Playing DVD's - see the above thread. But first you'll need to rip those DVD's to your hard drive somewhere. The best app for this (in my opinion) is either DVDDecrypter or DVDShrink (Shrink is my personal choice). Shrink is a bit harder for newbies as there is much more to it, DVDDecrypter will just rip the whole DVD. The good thing about Shrink is not only can you copy movies with it (if you have a DVD burner) but you can resize them down to smaller sizes. I've *shrunk* a movie to 40% of it's original quality and streamed it via my HD1000 to my HD Plasma TV - it still looks great!

- Internet Radio: Yup, it can do that, but you'll need HexRadio. It lets you tune into all the different shoutcast (and other) streams out there. And there are a TON of them. You can get it in this thread:
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1335

- WeatherSix: Very cool little app to let you get local weather and forecast from weather.com. Very nice graphics, cool little app.
http://home.earthlink.net/%7Eweathersix/

- SlimRoku: SlimRoku let's you use a SlimServer (from http://www.slimdevices.com/) to control your HD1000. The real key here is you can use their web based interface to control the HD1000. There are also third party tools that can control the SlimServer in turn controlling your HD1000 (we are creating a module for Jinzora - my app - for this - thread on that soon...)

- Telnet: Yup, this baby runs embedded Linux. So you can telnet to it and control many things from the command line. THIS IS NOT FOR LINUX NEWBIES! Use at your own risk. All you need to do is telnet to the IP address of the unit (you can see this at the top of the screen on the setup pages). On windows go to a command prompt and type
"telnet x.x.x.x" (where the x's are the IP address - no quotes either)

- Video connections/etc. One bummer thing is the HD1000 can NOT drive both the component video and S-Video connections at the same time. Bummer, I know, but that's how it is. If your set has component USE THEM, that's what you bought this for. Also use these over the VGA connection, as it is 1024x768 which is 4:3 not 16:9 (so that nice widescreen set won't work right). Also use 720p or 1080i even if you have a ED plasma, if you use 480p (which is native) the Roku thinks you're not running HD widescreen so your pictures/video will come out stretched. So always use 720p or 1080i (your ED set will downscale it for you)

- Web interface: Yes, there is a small webserver, no you can't use it to control the HD1000. You can enable the fnord webserver and that can run CGI scripts that could then control the HD1000 but it is VERY limited from what I've found. Here's a good starting point for the fnord webserver:
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopi ... ight=fnord

Well that's about it that I've learned in the past 24 hours with my HD1000. I LOVE IT and I'm guessing you will too. If you've read this far and are trying things without upgrading the firmware STOP NOW AND UPGRADE. I made this mistake and beat my head against the wall for 30 minutes before I finally upgraded. DO THIS FIRST!!!

Good luck and enjoy. And it goes without say that I hope others will post back with the things they've learned that I've left out. Let's try to keep this a really great thread for newbies to learn from!!!

Ross
Project Leader - Jinzora
Jinzora :: Free Your Media
http://www.jinzora.com
 
PRMan
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: YorbaLinda, CA, USA

Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:21 pm

Actually, if you search on here long enough, you will find that some people ARE controlling their Roku with a web interface.
PRMan
 
jabetcha
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:44 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:40 am

I would like to disagree on the DVD-Video over wireless.

I am running a D-Link DI-624 Rev C and a D-Link DWL-G810 wireless ethernet bridge and can run an entire DVD over an SMB share with only 1-2 minor lag issues during playback (including Dolby Digital 5.1 Audio). Source machine is a wired AMD AthlonXP 2400+ with WinXP Pro

As for other settings, I am running 128-bit WEP and the DI-624 is configured for "Super G without Turbo"

The ethernet bridge also has a direct line-of-sight (about 50 feet) to the access point (if the door to my office is open). I am not running any signal boosters or high-gain antennas.

The location may be optimal for best reception, but I would be interested to find out if other people have similar results with the same equipment.
 
jinzora
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:52 am

Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:48 am

jabetcha,

Thanks for the input, if you've got it working that's great, it was just from my experince from reading the forums here. I guess I should have said that wired is just much more reliable...

Thanks for the input...

Ross
Project Leader - Jinzora

Jinzora :: Free Your Media

http://www.jinzora.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest