Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:56 am

jcowles3 wrote:
I did have other stuff on the card so now only firmware flash is it... we'll see.


Got my fingers crossed...

Also, some (not many) CF card brands done't play well with the HD1000, is this a CF card that you have used before in the past and you know the HD1000 can use/read it?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

cf card

Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:58 am

good though cuz it's doing nothing... I'll use a differnt card and see if that helps...
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

fashed did not work

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:14 pm

Ok new CF card flashed the memory to 2.0.35 and system up and running so I went to network shares and it sees all the shares. I then select one and get the error bad username or password. So I create account on ‘fileserver’ and I use administrator login and still bad username and password…
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: cf card

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:16 pm

jcowles3 wrote:
good though cuz it's doing nothing... I'll use a differnt card and see if that helps...


So you have the Formatup.rok file on a cf card, you then stick it on the HD1000's CF slot and then reboot the unit by unplugging power from the back of unit (wait about 10 seconds) and then plugging it back in?

Do you ever see the green "busy" LED flash or light up? How about the green power LED, is it on?

Sorry this is becoming a hassle...
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

firmware updated

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:18 pm

Yes, i did hold power button in for 10 sec's and it went through what you previously described...
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: fashed did not work

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:19 pm

jcowles3 wrote:
Ok new CF card flashed the memory to 2.0.35 and system up and running so I went to network shares and it sees all the shares. I then select one and get the error bad username or password. So I create account on ‘fileserver’ and I use administrator login and still bad username and password…


OK, great, we are making some headway now!

What version of WMP (Windows Media Player) do you have on your XP box, is it WMP11? If so, do you know how to enable WMC (windows media connect) aka Media Sharing? If so, enable that and see if the HD1000 can see it. Do you have the firewalls turned off on your XP box? I want to start with the XP box since I don't know Server 2003 very well.

Do you have simple file sharing enabled on the XP box?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

xp box share

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:28 pm

OK, I created a roku folder on the xp box and then made a share with the same name... then I gave that share under permissions that everyone has full control... Then added a few tunes... back to the roku and cleared and re-scanned showed me the roku share on my local box... then "user/pass OK but read permission failed"
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: xp box share

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:32 pm

jcowles3 wrote:
OK, I created a roku folder on the xp box and then made a share with the same name... then I gave that share under permissions that everyone has full control... Then added a few tunes... back to the roku and cleared and re-scanned showed me the roku share on my local box... then "user/pass OK but read permission failed"

This is too strange...I assume you tried this with the firewall on the XP box turned off, right? I don't think that is it, you normally get a different error for that; but you never know. On one of the newer version of Norton, I had an issue very simular and I have to allow some strange setting on the firewall (of course I can't recall that now, but I am 90% sure the error was a different error).

It might have to do with simple file sharing verse normal?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:36 pm

go to "control panel"-"folder options" and then click the "view" tab and under "Advanced setting" you should see "Use simple file sharing"; is that enabled?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

file sharing

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:39 pm

simple file sharing is enabled...
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: file sharing

Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:43 pm

jcowles3 wrote:
simple file sharing is enabled...


Crikey!
Let me think about this on the way home...
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

authentication problem?

Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:51 pm

Thanks and I’m back home now and was also thinking that the Roku shows up in the DHCP Server as (no name) while every other devise on my network has a real name, could that have something to do with its authentication problem?
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:26 pm

Let me ping Soiaf and she if he might know what is up, He is one of the last of the guru's from the good ole PhotoBridge.

Also, seeing "(none)" on the DHCP table on your router is normal for the HD1000. I can show you how to make a HostName for the HD1000 once we fix this current issue.

Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jcowles3
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: az

testing

Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:29 pm

Thanks... I did get working shares on an XP home computer as well as a NAS Lacie external Drive. But still nothing on either server or XP Pro box... Odd
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: testing

Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:37 pm

jcowles3 wrote:
Thanks... I did get working shares on an XP home computer as well as a NAS Lacie external Drive. But still nothing on either server or XP Pro box... Odd


OK, so we're making progress then? Sound likes it... :D

What did you find on the XP Home box that made it work?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests