Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Need to reboot

Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:07 pm

I routinely turn off my computer network at night. When I use my Roku the next day I always have to reboot it before I see my shares. Should this happen?
As an aside, I originally used a Motorola cable modem with a Linksys wired router, then the Motorola with a Netgear router, then a Linksys cable modem with the Netgear. I had lots of problems with the network connection, which would drop out many times a day. Finally I switched to the Linksys modem and Linksys router and the problem disappeared. Are different products that imcompatible with each other?
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Re: Need to reboot

Tue Nov 22, 2005 7:57 am

davechainey wrote:
I routinely turn off my computer network at night. When I use my Roku the next day I always have to reboot it before I see my shares. Should this happen?


Many people report the same or a similar problem. I run my Roku as static IP instead of the default DHCP, and don't have this problem. YMMV.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
SimonO
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Need to reboot

Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:08 pm

dgburns wrote:
davechainey wrote:
I routinely turn off my computer network at night. When I use my Roku the next day I always have to reboot it before I see my shares. Should this happen?


Many people report the same or a similar problem. I run my Roku as static IP instead of the default DHCP, and don't have this problem. YMMV.

I also run static IP's and don't have this problem...
Toshiba 36ZP48, Pace Sky+ v1 (120GB), Sonos ZP80, Denon DVD-2900, Denon AVR-3805, Blue Sky SAT 6.5/B&W DM600 S3/ASW675 w/Behringer DSP1124P, Philips Pronto NG RU950/RU951
 
sjm992
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: Newark, CA

Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:13 am

Same problem here but it only started after a firmware update. My HD1500 arrived with the 1.5.18 firmware and it set itself up perfectly with no network problems. After a few days I updated to 2.0.36 and since then I have to reboot the HD each morning in order to get it to locate the files on the shared PC which gets shut down each night. This suggests a firmware problem unless I somehow setup the new firmware differently.

I read the ROKU notes on setting up a static IP address but so far that appears to be beyond my capability - hey I'm a Mechanical Engineer not a Computer Engineer! I need to find the 'idiots guide to static IP setup'
Stuart
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:42 am

sjm992 wrote:
I read the ROKU notes on setting up a static IP address but so far that appears to be beyond my capability - hey I'm a Mechanical Engineer not a Computer Engineer! I need to find the 'idiots guide to static IP setup'


Have a look in this thread, an easier approach to setting up a static IP address

http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4960

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests