Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
jbarney
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:11 am

Need help with new HD 1000

Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:48 am

Yesterday I set up my new HD 1000. Connected to standard def TV for set up purposes. Everything went well including connection to my wireless network with a USB adapter. Based on everthing I've seen upgrading to 2.0.36 seemed like a good idea. Upgrade went well but the slide show, picture viewer and listen functions disappeared. The only thing that worked was the art pack applications which are essentially slide shows. Also, I was unable to reconnect to the network - I did reenter the network name password, etc. Ok, let's go back to 1.5.18. Again, the software load went but the applications are still missing. I haven't tried to get back into the network yet because I can't get the basics to work. Help.
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:02 pm

The applications that you're talking about ('Listen' etc.) appear when a particular share/drive has the type of files appropriate to the application. So, if a share didn't have any music files, you wouldn't see the Listen application for example.
If you have a compact flash card and put a MP3 file on it, and then put the compact flash card in the HD1000, an icon for the compact flash card should be on the left hand side of the main screen. Selecting this compact flash icon should show a 'Listen' application listed in the main window.

So I wouldn't necessarily worry about not seeing applications (just yet anyway), I think you should try getting the network running first. I think the networking support is (much) better in the beta firmwares, so if you have no luck with 1.5.18 it would be a good idea to upgrade (again).

What type of system are you trying to connect to? i.e. Windows XP, a NAS system etc. I forget how networking works in 1.5.18, but when using 2.0.36 did it show you a list of your shares after you did a scan?
 
jbarney
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:11 am

Still can't get connected with 2.0.36

Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:41 pm

I was able to get 1.5.18 running again although I can swear that it is not quite the same as it was out of the box.

I tried to reload 2.0.36 but still cannot get it to connect to the network. It fails to get a DCHP address and stops. Any tricks to doing the 2.0.36 upgrade?
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Re: Still can't get connected with 2.0.36

Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:24 pm

jbarney wrote:
I was able to get 1.5.18 running again although I can swear that it is not quite the same as it was out of the box.

I tried to reload 2.0.36 but still cannot get it to connect to the network. It fails to get a DCHP address and stops. Any tricks to doing the 2.0.36 upgrade?


What network adaptor are you using?
What level encryption are you using (e.g. 64bit) and what authentication method?
 
jbarney
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:11 am

Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:37 pm

The network adapter is a Linksys WUSB11 ver. 2.6. The encryption is set for 64 bit WEP. I was aable to connect form 1.5.18 and could see the shared folders. Can't get it to connect from 2.0.36.
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:51 pm

Those encryption settings sound fine.

So, you can get an IP address etc. with 1.5.18, you can see the shares, but can't connect?
And with 2.0.36 you can't get an IP address?
Ah, the joys of networking :roll:

Ok, back with 1.5.18, some standard things to check.
- does the share name have any spaces in it
- is the share name less than 12 characters long

There are some command line tools you can use, but that really depends on your comfort level with telnet/unix etc.
See this thread for more details
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=370
 
jbarney
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:11 am

Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:33 pm

I can connect with 1.5.18 and do everthing that the standard HD 1000 can do as I understand it. I cannot connect or do anything on the network when I have 2.0.36 up. Definitly a joy.

Thanks for the help.
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:24 pm

jbarney wrote:
I can connect with 1.5.18 and do everthing that the standard HD 1000 can do as I understand it. I cannot connect or do anything on the network when I have 2.0.36 up. Definitly a joy.

Thanks for the help.


These sort of weird "no DHCP" problems I've only seen solved on the forum here by configuring for static IP. :(
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest